We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel outside center” 4 of 5 stars
Review of WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hendrikje Stoffelsstraat 1 | GPS address: Nachtwachtlaan 11, 1058 GC Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Melle , Belgium
Level Contributor
144 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Very good hotel outside center”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This design hotel has a very good standard for the rooms and reception is very friendly and professional. Breakfast is on the correct level. Like most of those hotels price can differ a lot for staying (50 Euro/night less for standard room with breakfast is not an exception.
The hotel is out of the center but if you are in good condition it is feasible to walk to the center (about 4km). On the other hand there is after a walk of 300m a tram stop (number 1 & 17) who brings you to the most interesting area's. If you buy a 24/48/76 hours card in the hotel it is not that expensive.
If you come by car be aware of 25 Euro/night for covered parking which you can not reserve. Option is to take one of 8 parking's on the edge of Amsterdam in combination with bus or tram (look for "parking Amsterdam" on Internet).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPEvers, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Ive-Melle,
What a pleasure to read your review of your recent stay with us. Thank you for sharing this review and for all the kind words.
I‘m delighted to read that the hotel and the staff have met your expectationsThank you for choosing our hotel!
Kindest regards,
WestCord Fashion Hotel
Nico Evers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,236
    832
    137
    33
    21
See reviews for
177
1,194
85
255
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
finland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

The hotel itself is very average and the rooms are quite clean and nice.
Service was not so nice, the reseptionist spoke english with a bad accent and when I didn't first understand she was frustrated, they also will block an extra 100 euros from your credit card so it's not for quarantee only.
They say that the tram goes just next to the hotel but the nearest stop is far away, I think it is over 500 meters away and your have to walk in the windy bridge in the middle of nowhere.

Room Tip: Dont stay near the SKYY bar in the 10th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPEvers, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear HotelguyFinland,
Thank you for posting this review on Tripadvisor.
Your comments are of great importance and will help us in our efforts to continuously improve the standards you may expect from us.
Therefore your remarks are very much appreciated.
It has been a pleasure to welcome you and we look forward to welcoming you again to WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam.
Kindest Regards,
WestCord fashion Hotel
Nico Evers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for two nights last August, and it was a great experience.

Very easy to get to by the tram, and not too far away from central station and other tourist spots. We checked in early and had no hassel doing so, and our room was faultless, apart from the stripe of frosted glass on the bathroom door (rest clear), which was unexpected.

The spa and steam room which was included in the price was a peacful experience, and the swimming pool was good also, however it was small.

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPEvers, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Lewis H,
Thank you for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor and for your compliments. I will share your feedback with my entire team. It has been a pleasure to welcome you to WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam. We are looking forward welcoming you again as our guest in the near future!
Kind regards,
WestCord Fashion Hotel

Nico Evers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Ferry, New Jersey
Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights at this hotel. Rooms are great, staff and service is fab. The location seems a bit far out of the city but being closer the airport with great transport links and the nearby tram stops are all benefits to this location. Of recommend taking tram 1 from the hotel as it passes through some good streets for shopping and eating.
If I was being picky I'd say the mattress was very firm.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPEvers, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear GerardPC,
Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor! I'm delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay! I will pass your compliments to my entire team! Thank you for staying with us I do hope top get the chance to welcome you again as our guests!
Kindest regards,
WestCord fashion Hotel
Nico Evers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
73 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed one night in the WC and enjoyed it from the first to the last minute. The hotel is some 5-6 km away from the first "Gracht" but there's the tram that brings you there in less than 10' (line nr 1) or, even better, being in the NLs, just rent a bike. The sunny May-days made our cycling in Amsterdam a real delight (it's a kinda flat ... and the bike lanes are fantastic, but beware, the locals generally put in some more speed).You can rent bikes at the hotel or, if lots of people have the same idea, in a nr of other places throughout the city. We hired two funny but good orange bikes in the road leading into the city center (Overtoom) after having strolled through the amazing Vondelpark. As to the hotel. Reception was very friendly and with the "primacy effect" that set the tone. The room is very well equiped, spacey, fashionable. Beds are really good. There's an automated minibar (never seen such before in a room) and you can get ice from a machine in the hallway, quite funny. The breakfast was of the best I had in any hotel. We didn't eat lunch nor dinner in the hotel (no bitterballen) nor took a swim or went in the sauna, but we for sure will do that a next time as we will come back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPEvers, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear RichardBelgium,
Thank you for staying with us! I’m delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay so much! I will share your compliments with my entire team! Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor! I do agree that a bike is the best transport to discover Amsterdam! I do hope to get the change to welcome you again as our guests in the near future!
Kindest regards,
WestCord Fashion Hotel
Nico Evers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Why would you want to pay the extra money to stay in central Amsterdam? This hotel is great. The prices are reasonable and you are away from the hellish crowds in the centre. Tram is dead easy (you can buy day tickets at the hotel). Amsterdam is best seen on bike anyway, and the bikes rented by the hotel are good quality. The immediate area is nice, vondelpark very close, and it is easier to arrive via lelylaan station than Amsterdam central. Brilliant.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPEvers, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Akclubb
Thank you for staying with us! It's great to read that you enjoyed your stay so much! Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor! I do agree that a bike is the best transport to discover Amsterdam! Hope to see you again in the near future!
Kindest regards,
WestCord Fashion Hotel
Nico Evers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This hotel will not disappoint in any way.

The decor is contemporary, rooms are immaculate and this may sound strange but the bathroom is amazing.

It isn't centrally located but you see so much on the tram ride in that you have to get off and explore (get a 24 hr ticket for 7.50)

The cocktails in the skyybar are great, definitely worth getting one of those special blue ones that they do.

The staff are lovely, cannot fault them in anyway and one guy even ordered us a pizza in the early hours after room service had stopped.

We had bed and breakfast and the food was fresh and tasty, far nicer than anything that you can get in the UK.

When in Dam Square make sure you stop for Argentinian food (we went to Cau and would recommend to anyone). Take money for shopping, the retail opportunity is far better than you would expect, we spent a fortune!

Most places also have Wifi, including the hotel.

If you're getting the train to the hotel from Schiphol make sure you get your ticket to Lelylaan instead of Centraal. It's just a short walk away and your ticket will be cheaper. Then the nearest tram stop is Surinameplein (trams 1 and 17)

You'll definitely get more for your money by staying in the Westcord fashion than you would in one of the hotels in town and you are guaranteed a clean and friendly hotel with no sleaze!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPEvers, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Betnh17,
Thank you very much for your kind and enthusiastic words in your review! It was a delight to read you enjoyed your stay so much! I will share your comments with my entire team, who I am sure will read them with pride!
Thank you for choosing our hotel. It has been a pleasure welcoming you to our hotel, and it would be a pleasure to welcome you back next time!
Kindest regards,
WestCord Fashion Hotel
Nico Evers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
citizenM Amsterdam
#38 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
#18 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 684 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Hendrikje Stoffelsstraat 1 | GPS address: Nachtwachtlaan 11, 1058 GC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#23 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fashion Hotel Amsterdam (4-stars) is situated opposite the World Fashion Centre, within ring road A10 of Amsterdam. It has a fantastic location; Leidseplein is within a 10 minute tram ride, Schiphol Airport and Amsterdam RAI are also 10 minutes from the hotel by car and the Vondelpark is only a 5 minute walk away. This makes the hotel suitable for a business stay, but also weekend break to Amsterdam. Fashion Hotel in Amsterdam has 260 spacious modern design rooms with free WIFI internet. After a visit to Fashion’s Restaurant and Bar, with adjacent terrace, you can drink cocktails in the stylish SKYY Bar on the 10th floor. It has a great view over the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Otel, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.