We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice spacious hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 13 more sites!
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hendrikje Stoffelsstraat 1, Amsterdam 1058 GC, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice spacious hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

A modern beautiful hotel located outside the heart of Amsterdam. The trams conveniently took us to the centre each day and we had a good time utilizing the transit system. We were extremely impressed with public transit by the way. The hotel itself was spacious, clean and comfortable. We had very restful sleep each night. Staff was polite and effective. Did not opt for breakfast option as it was pretty pricy. Went to local convenient stores and bought breakfast for 2 for a much reasonable $$.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPEvers, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear SlowTravelShw,
Thank you for staying with us! I'm very happy to read your positive feedback on Tripadvisor.
I will share your feedback with my entire team. We are looking forward to welcome you again as our guest in the near future.
Kindest regards,
WestCord Fashion Hotel
Nico Evers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,289 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    627
    532
    93
    21
    16
See reviews for
76
608
52
156
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

On arrival we were checked in by a lady who didn't seem too enthusituastic with her job, but we didn't let that bother us too much. We stayed in room 242 a long walk down the hall but is well worth it as we got a lovely room. The bathroom was beautiful the concept of it is more of a couples room as you can see everything through the doors so be aware! We ordered room service which was nice and big in portions so no problem with that! Breakfast was nice offering different varieties of foods such as English breakfast dry fruits and different breads or pastries. The tram is abit 3-4min walk but it's good for excercise and there are two trams you can take to get into the centre (tram1&17). Overall the hotel was lovely and to me reached 4stars as stated. Very good in security too as you needed your room key to get everywhere! Definitely will be back when in Amsterdam. Thank you!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPEvers, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear jenny h,
I have just read your review of your stay in our hotel and would like to thank you for your kind words. Your compliments about our breakfast is highly appreciated! With regards to the glass door in the bathroom I can inform you that we also have rooms with frosted glass available!
It was a pleasure having you as our guest, and we look forward to welcome you again in the near future!
Kindest Regards,
WestCord Fashion Hotel
Nico Evers
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

great rooms, great price, great location out of the city and a lovely pool. You're close enough to the city and the tram is easy to navigate. You must try the Skyy bar for cocktails - they're unreal. We didn't have breakfast as it was a bit pricey and it was easy enough to get to the centre and the many cafes there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPEvers, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear kirstylou1,
Thank you very much for your kind and enthusiastic words in your review! It was a delight to read you enjoyed your stay so much! I will share your comments with our team, who I am sure will read them with pride!
It has been a pleasure welcoming you to our hotel, and it would be a pleasure to welcome you back next time!
Kindest regards,
WestCord Fashion Hotel
Nico Evers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was my first stay in the wonderful country of Amsterdam and I decided to stay at the fashion hotel. It was a bit hard to find but that was down to me not doing research but that beside the point, the minute we walked in I could tell this was a classy establishment with the reception area having very nice decor. The check in was very swift and fast and there was a space for us to leave our bags before check in. The pool facilities are very good with towels provided and a nice area to relax and socialize. Now i come to the room which again did not disappoint with a large tv and bed a companies by a mini bar to purchase some snacks and drink. The bathroom had a big bath with a separate walk in shower which was very convenient,warm and fast. The skyy bar must also be looked at as this has a,axing views of the opposite park and a wide view of the city can be seen while having a drink which was fairly priced. Overall this is one of the best hotels I have stayed it and would recommend for anyone and only being 20 from the center of dam it's not that far to go

Room Tip: Second floor double room had no problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPEvers, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear JAMES K,
What a pleasure to read your review of your recent stay with us. Thank you for sharing this review and for all the kind words.
I was delighted to read that the hotel and the staff have met your expectations. Thank you for choosing our hotel and for recommending it to others. We do hope to get the chance to welcome you again as our guest in the near future!
Kindest Regards,
WestCord Fashion Hotel
Nico Evers
Genaral Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Just back from 2 day stay with my husband for valentines day... i'm from scotland and now living in netherlands so was nice to stay in amsterdam for a change...First impressions on hotel were first you get charged a fortune for parking having stayed all over the world i mean 25 euros a day to park in their carpark absolute nonsense its a con.

Second the rooms were nice similar decor to malmaison hotels in uk which are nice and modern.
The bed was very hard however and pillows were not very fluffy and comfy i found.

Thirdly the staff are not over friendly girl on reception with long dark curly hair is just plain RUDE she came into lift looked me up and down didnt even greet and then when my husband and i had to ask her a question at reception she was rude with a bad attitude. It's just a completely different experience with some of the dutch people they don't go out of their way for you.

Fourthly we were hoping to get a long lie as we were up till 4 in the morning but got woken up at 8.30 by the cleaner shouting down the corridor and banging the doors. When mentioned at reception about this as it really isn't a great start to your day the guy at reception did apologise and said he would speak to the cleaner but at as i say again they do not go out of their way.

Another criticism would be that there is some english channels but after like 10 they go into porn which is typical dutch tv but its just a pain for us british who actually want to watch tv after 10 lol i mean the dutch have this free sex culture but they seem very stern which baffles me...

oh another thing in the uk you get to use the sauna but you have to pay 10 euros to use it per day i just think its nice if you get to use all the hotels facilities and it should be included in the price of the hotel just a bit of a pain.

I would stay again as the room was nice and wasnt too far from amsterdam centre.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPEvers, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear jts_1989,
I have just read your review of your stay in our hotel and would like to thank you for your kind words, and also for pointing out in which areas we could make improvements! Your comments are therefore highly appreciated and of great value!
It was a pleasure having you as our guest, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kindest regards,
WestCord Fashion Hotel
Nico Evers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in february ,checked in promptly by cheerful helpful staff .When we got to our room,we were delighted .It was big and very modern in decour as is the rest of the hotel.The breakfast was very varied and plentiful and helped to set us up for the day ahead.The hotel also boasts a wonderful swimming pool and various other specialist treatments if you want to pamper yourself.It is about 20 minutes from the centre of town ,but DONT let that put you off this wonderful hotel,we found the tram ride into town relaxing and fun ,and trams were punctual and plentiful ,every 5 minutes.We loved our stay at the Fashion Hotel and would have no hesitation in recommending this fantastic hotel to our family and friends.Thanks to all the staff ,a great team effort.

Room Tip: our room was at the main road side of the hotel,we had no problems with that,but if your a very ligh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPEvers, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Simmo47,
Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor! I'm delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay so much! I will pass your compliments to my entire team! Thank you for staying with us and for recommending it to others. I do hope top get the chance to welcome you again as our guests!
Kindest regards,
WestCord fashion Hotel
Nico Evers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Absolutely cannot fault this hotel.
The room is gorgeous, modern, comfortable & very clean.
The service was excellent, so polite & helpful.
The breakfast was lovely, something for everyone, actually looked forward to it :)
The location.. Not central but there is a tram every 6 or 2 minutes until midnight! Always on time! The tram takes about 20mins to the centre but there is a lot of places before the centre to explore.
Amsterdam itself.. It was lovely but I wish I had researched it a bit more and gone on a few tours/day trips. Take a lot of spending money, if you are going for more than smoking you will spend alot, it is a very expensive city!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPEvers, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear kerry4444,
What a pleasure to read your review of your recent stay with us. Thank you for sharing this review and for all the kind words. Your recommendations about our breakfast are very welcome!
Thank you for choosing our hotel and I hope we can welcome you again to WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam in the near future!
Kindest regards,
WestCord Fashion Hotel
Nico Evers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam

Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Amsterdam
Address: Hendrikje Stoffelsstraat 1, Amsterdam 1058 GC, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#20 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#41 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Venere, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline and Otel so you can book your WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list