We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No complaints here, hotel is only not in the center of Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hendrikje Stoffelsstraat 1, 1058 GC Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Willemstad, Curacao
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“No complaints here, hotel is only not in the center of Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This hotel is indeed not in the centre of Amsterdam! (if you want a hotel in the heart of Amsterdam dont go here) It is located to the Ring of Amsterdam (which makes it easy access for taxi drivers as you do not have to get into crowded center, Handy if you have a night over from your flight). 5 minute walk you will be at a tram station and in 5-10 minutes you will be in the center of Amsterdam. It is accross the Rembrand Parc and 5 minutes away from Vondel Parc. It is a trendy hotel. Very stylish. Rooms are spacious (can easily fit an extra bed in it). Room is very clean and modern! The drapes will take away any sunlight if you close them. Shower/Bathroom area is indeed of glass so you might not want to share a room with someone who is not close to you. roomserice was great. The bar has nice snacks and drinks. One night I arrived at the middle of the night and there is a night watch so no problems with entering the hotel. I had a very pleasant stay here. Price is reasonable for Amsterdam.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPEvers, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear Curtraveller,
I have just read your review of your stay in our hotel and would like to thank you for your kind and enthusiastic words! With regards to the glass door in the bathroom I can inform you that we also have rooms with frosted glass available! It was a pleasure having you as our guest, and we look forward to welcome you again in the near future!
Kindest Regards,
WestCord Fashion Hotel
Nico Evers
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,440 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    705
    592
    101
    25
    17
See reviews for
94
684
58
170
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This place is over rated. I saw it advertised on Splendia and well the photos were far too complimentary. Yes it looks cool in photos with quirky fashion/art features but it just doesnt look as cool as youd hope. I think they are just trying too hard to be somethign they are not.

Saying this if they didnt advertise themselves to look to be so cool it would have been fine, they just built up my expectations.

Location was a little annoying, not having been to Amsterdam before it is not in the centre on the cute canals and whilst you can take the tram its just easier and quicker to get a cab which at 15euros a journey can add up.

Which leads to the next point getting a taxi.... this is not easy. You cant just hail a cab even though you are on a busy road because well its too busy. And well you could ask reception but dont expect it to turn up in the 10 minutes they say its going to take. Painful!

The room was fine, once the faux leather throw was removed from the bed it looked much more appealing and was very comfortable. The room was a good size for two people. The bathroom was the best part of the room, with an excellent shower and nice shower products.

I did not have breakfast or any meal here as was keen to spend my time in Amsterdam, i did however go for a drink at the Skky bar which again is not as cool as youd think but its not bad. I enjoyed a great glass of rose and martini here before we went out and was easier to order a taxi from there and wait and drink whilst it arrived.

I know that this sounds like a negative review, it just didnt meet my expectations, they promised too much. As a hotel its fine, clean rooms, good size, accomodating when booking and changing dates etc. Its just not Amsterdams answer to the W Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPEvers, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear bethan r,
Thank you for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor. I'm sorry to read that our hotel did not meet your expectations. We always try to meet the needs of all our guests, unfortunately we failed in your case. I do hope to get the chance to welcome you again as our guest in the future!
Kindest regards,
WestCord Fashion Hotel
Nico Evers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton-le-Willows
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Really enjoyed staying in this hotel. The reception area was very different, the mannequins all dressed up looked good.

The hotel was very clean, bedrooms were very spacious, with the toilet separate from the shower/bathroom. The shower was nice and big too.

The hotel is only a short walk from the tram stop, and only 5-10 minutes into Amsterdam on the tram. It was perfect for us, and the trams are very regular.

Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPEvers, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear Samantha H,
Thank you for nice review on Tripadvisor. I'm delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for recommending our hotel to others! I'm looking forward to welcome you again!
Kindest regards,
WestCord Fashion Hotel
Nico Evers
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I stayed here with my sister on a short break in Amsterdam early November 2012. We booked it last minute on booking.com and got a fairly good deal for the school holiday season. To get here we got the taxi as we had lots of baggage, but you can catch the line 1 or 17 tram direct from Amsterdam centraal station and alight at Surinameplein which takes around 20 min. Then you have to walk about 5-10 minutes to the hotel straight ahead. If you are travelling light, this journey is easy, so don't be put off by being in a new city. In my opinion, once you learn how to use trams in any city, the same logic applies, and its not all that complicated for Amsterdam. I wish in hindsight a detailed map of the tram lines was provided so we could swap and change in our 72 hr pass. This is a major pitfall of the tourist brochures. See here for a good one, believe me, you'll use it in Amsterdam regardless of how long you're here for: http://www.urbanrail.net/eu/nl/ams/tram/amsterdam-tram.htm

Location of hotel is not city centre, but it was what we wanted, less noisy, chaotic but trendy and contemporary for a relaxing break. The hotel itself is very funky and modern, with mannequins galore and even a fashion tv channel in your room. I really loved the buffet breakfast, great variety and selection of hot food, pastries and fruits, cereals etc. it kept us going for most of the day. The Sky bar was amazing to visit with the view and the fashion bar had great food. Note there is a fancy restaurant and bar restaurant, along with sky bar. Rooms were clean generally, although twice our towels were stained and we had a problem with our kettle twice, first time someone had boiled milk in it, and the second time it was leaking! But the hotel staff were helpful and willing to help without question. We had a beautiful courtyard view too.

If you are in Amsterdam 3 days or more and staying at this hotel, you should get the I Amsterdam card. You won't regret it! To get value out of the card with museum opening hours, best to get the card which you can buy direct at hotel reception.

Highly recommend. Would return. Feel free to ask me any questions direct, more than happy to help as I noticed several things to recommend for travellers, both at this hotel and in Amsterdam itself. P.s. Anne Frank house is a must!

Room Tip: Courtyard view, high up as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPEvers, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear girl_abroad99,
What a pleasure to read your review of your recent stay with us. Thank you for sharing this review and for all the kind words.
I was delighted to read that the hotel and the staff have met your expectations! Your compliments about our Skyybar and breakfast are very appreciated. I'm sorry to read about the issue with the towels. I will share your feedback with my entire team.
Thank you for choosing our hotel and I hope we can welcome you again to WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam in the near future!
Kindest regards,
WestCord Fashion Hotel
Nico Evers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We recently spent four nights at the hotel and would recommend it to anyone. The hotel staff were always warm and friendly and keen to help with directions and the small issues that always seem to crop up when travelling. On a number of nights we ate in and couldn't complain about the quality of the food, the price or the service. The room was clean and comfortable and had an interesting all glass bathroom. While the location of the hotel is nowhere near central, you quickly master the tram system and it becomes a daily adventure to the city centre that takes only 20 minutes. The breakfast which was included in our tariff was excellent and catered for broad tastes. Would highly recommend if the daily commute isn't a hassle.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPEvers, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear CJPMJP,
Thank you very much for your kind and enthusiastic words in your review! It was a delight to read you enjoyed your stay so much! I will share your comments with our team, who I am sure will read them with pride!
It has been a pleasure welcoming you to our hotel, and it would be a pleasure to welcome you back next time!
Kindest regards
WestCord Fashion Hotel
Nico Evers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Best for: Those happy to travel a little to get better value in a larger sized room. If you want a room in the middle of the city, this isn’t it.

This was our 81st hotel stay, on an extended around-the-world trip. We stayed five nights nights at an average of US/AUD$105/night (approx EUR83/night) booked via the hotels’ website a week before our stay. We also purchased the ‘wellness’ package (an additional EUR118), which included one set-menu 3 course meal for two people, breakfast for two people two mornings, and a drink in the Skybar.

What’s good: It’s a new hotel with bright colours and trendy furniture although the 'fashion' concept didn't influence us to stay. Our room was medium size with plenty of storage, chair and small table, flatscreen with reasonable selection of chanels, kettle and tea/coffee supplies. Good lighting and lots of bench space. Bathroom had both a shower and a bathtub (separate), and as others have noted, there’s a clear glass door to the shower so leave your modesty at home. The toilet has its own room, (with a timber door),. Breakfast was a good range and reasonable quality. Dinner included in our package was nice with a variety of 3 menu options to choose from, with okay service. Window in the room opened slightly for fresh air. Free wifi worked okay.

Security was good with lift access only your floor, swipe card access to rooms on the floor, and to the room itself. Laptop size in-room safe with default passwords changed. There’s an outdoor patio area on the ground floor which is a nice space for a drink.

Minor Annoyances: After 12 hours of travel including several cancelled trains (with some portions by bus), we arrived to find our mini-bar dispenser out of order. Reception gave us hot cans, with instructions to take them to the bar ourselves to get ice. Clearly we’d had a long trip and a little more hospitality would have been nicer. The apartments are near a day care centre, and if your room faces the rear, you’ll likely hear some noise from that, but only during the day. As others have mentioned, it’s not in a terribly convenient location to the city, but it’s an easy tram ride.

We asked for a quiet room and got 206, right next to the entry door for the floor, so we heard a bit of door noise and reverberation from that. The spare pillow in our room had a dirty pillow case, and it took three calls to reception to get it changed over. It also took several calls to try and get coffee supplies topped up when forgotten by housemaids, but our request both times was either forgotten or ignored.

Shower temperature pulsed between scalding and cold, and the shower recess fills and floods easily. The hotel is popular with asian tour groups so expect some stay up late and get up early, noisy room neighbours. Whilst the furniture is funky, our room was starting to look a little worn with a cigarette burn in the chair and chips in the bench laminex. None of these are major issues, but they do take the gloss off what otherwise could have been a nice stay.

Transport: There are two tram stops nearby (Surinameplein which is before the hotel, and Derkindersenstraat after the hotel. Trams 1, 15 and 17 stop at Surinameplein. Tram 1 takes a shorter (and faster route) than tram 17, and is much easier to access the hotel from if you get off at Surinam. Travelling towards the hotel from Central, turn right on exiting at Surinameplein – it’s around a ten minute walk along Cornells Lelylann. You’ll avoid the long stairs at the front of the hotel using this stop.

If you’re looking for somewhere reasonably close to eat, around 20 minutes easy walk down Cornells Lelylann and turn right after the Surinameplein stop (across the canal), you’ll find some cafe/restaurants (along Overtoom).

We had no problems with bed bugs and found no evidence of them either.

Staff spoke english and were polite, although a little aloof. Overall service was a bit indifferent.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPEvers, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear Boriski,
I have just read your review of your stay in our hotel and would like to thank you for your kind words, and also for pointing out in which areas we could make improvements! Your comments are therefore highly appreciated and of great value!
It was a pleasure having you as our guest, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Kindest Regards,
WestCord Fashion Hotel
Nico Evers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Visited the hotel for business purposes. Was a pleasure to stay. The hotel is clean and trendy. Breakfast was good, although little more attention should be given to cleaning of forks, dishes etc. Nice Skybar with excellent view over Amsterdam. Would recommend for business purposes, not for romantic stays because of it's location directly to highway.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPEvers, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear Jeroen A,
Thank you for staying with us! It's great to read that you enjoyed your stay!
Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor!
Your recommendations about our services are very welcome and appreciated.
I do Hope to see you again in the near future!
Kindest regards,
WestCord Fashion Hotel
Nico Evers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Luxury, City Ce...
Show More
1.9 mi away
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
Quiet, Independ...
Show More
1.7 mi away
citizenM Amsterdam
citizenM Amsterdam
#33 of 343 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,578 reviews
Airport Transpo...
Show More
2.7 mi away
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quiet, Restaura...
Show More
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
#22 of 343 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 408 reviews
City Center, Mi...
Show More
3.2 mi away
Hotel Casa 400
Hotel Casa 400
#54 of 343 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,145 reviews
Free Breakfast...
Show More
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Hendrikje Stoffelsstraat 1, 1058 GC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#24 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#38 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, Otel and Venere so you can book your WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.