We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Hotel, Great Value, Absolutely Fabulous Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hendrikje Stoffelsstraat 1, 1058 GC Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Unique Hotel, Great Value, Absolutely Fabulous Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

If you're going to Amsterdam and don't want to be surrounded by your sex and drug crazed countrymen, but instead get a real flavour of life in this gorgeous city among its real inhabitants, the friendly Dutch, The Fashion Hotel is definitely the place to check out.

Whether you want to talk about the Dutch national team at check-in, the politics of Geert Wilders at the lobby bar or the upcoming electronic music parties at the Skky bar, there's always someone up for the challenge and there's never any shortage of intelligent conversation with the amazing people who work at this hotel. Coincidentally, the only thing we forgot to talk about was fashion! To make the long story short, the staff here are simply AMAZING and after half an hour you'll feel like you've known them all your life. Mattias (lobby bar), Darko & Venus (Skky Bar), Max (night manager) and Linda (Reception) thank you for the great conversations and an unforgettable stay. We'll be back!

LOCATION: The hotel is about a 7 minute train ride from the airport (Lelylaan station) plus a 12 minute brisk walk or a 10 minute tram ride (including the wait). It's also a 15-20 minute Tram ride to the the centre of Amsterdam. If you choose to go this route the cost is somewhere between 3-5 Euros per person, much less than a 35 Euro taxi ride which takes about the same time from what we've been told. If you decide to walk from the train station, brace yourself for the never ending set of stairs at the end of your long journey before you get into the lobby. In fact, this was one of the only complaints I had about this hotel because the doors at the P2 level should be open during normal hours so that you can take the elevator, considering most people are carrying some form of luggage with them. Also, there's not much to eat within a 10 minute walk of the hotel, although there are plenty of choices just outside this radius. Again, with great staff this hotel has, you may not want to leave!

ROOMS: The rooms have very modern furnishings and are quite spacious with European standards (the rooms on the North side have great views of Amsterdam). The beds are extremly comfortable and there's also a dispencing type mini-bar in the room (i.e. can not be used as a mini fridge). You have a seperate toilet and shower area, both of which are very clean. The shower area has glass doors, if there are privacy issues you may be concerned with. Overall, the rooms are great and MUCH MUCH better than something you'd find in the centre of Amsterdam for even double the price you will pay at this hotel.

BREAKFAST: Breakfast at the hotel is relatively expensive so we did not eat there, but you can check out Cafe Schinkel Haven about a 10 minute walk away from the hotel for some Dutch Tostis and great honey/vanilla flavoured coffee, not to mention more great conversations with Robert (the co-owner) who will take the time to explain everything on the menu in English!

OTHER AMENITIES: The entire hotel is non-smoking, but there's an outdoor terrace for smokers right beside the lobby. The SKKY Bar at the top of the hotel has great panormaic views over Amsterdam and reasonably priced drinks (considering the view and the great service). They also have live music from time to time. The lobby bar is also great for some Ice cold Heineken (literally served, just above freezing point) and the great conversations if I have not mentioned it already! The hotel also has a great spa with reasonable (not low) prices which we would have loved to try, but a two day / one night stay simply didn't give us the time.

OVERALL: If and when we return to Amsterdam, we wouldn't think of any other place to stay. I just hope they have the doors at the P2 level open!

Room Tip: Ask for North city view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Dear Beh007,
What a pleasure to read your review of your recent stay with us. Thank you for sharing this review and for all the kind words.
I'm delighted to read that the hotel and the staff have met your expectations! As a General Manager I'm proud to have such dedicated team members, I will share your comments with all of them!
Thank you for choosing our hotel and I hope we can welcome you again to WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam in the near future!
Kindest regards,
WestCord Fashion Hotel
Nico Evers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    797
    599
    96
    26
    17
See reviews for
112
776
64
192
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We recently stayed here three nights with my partner and all we can is to recommend this place to everyone. It is a modern, stylish hotel with spacious rooms, separate bathroom and toilet. The huge bathtub was relaxing at the and of the day. Very clean room with the most comfortable bed ever.
Stayed at room #635

Room Tip: Glass bathroom door could be a problem for those travelling with friends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Dear CsCs007,
Thank you for nice review on Tripadvisor. I'm delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. Thank you for recommending to others! With regards to the glass bathroom door I can informm you thet we have bathrooms with frosted glass available. I hope that we may have the chance to welcome you again in the near future!
Kindest regards,
WestCord Fashion Hotel
Nico Evers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

I loved this hotel, the room was amazing… spacious, quiet, huge bed, lovely bath and separate shower – both more than large enough for 2 people. It had strange little touches like the mannequins dotted around the hotel (bit random) and clear glass door on the bathroom and a long narrow window above the bath (separate WC - don't worry!), but all quite fun and funky and gave it an intimate feel.

The SKYY bar was a big bonus, drinks were tasty (if a little pricey) and the views were fab. If considering booking however I would give serious consideration to the distance from the centre, which I did before booking, it depends what kind of holiday you are looking for.

Positives:
• Really lovely rooms – one of the nicest places I’ve stayed!
• Helpful staff - I had mentioned it was by boyfriend’s birthday and we were given a voucher for a celebratory cocktail each (worth 20 EUR – thank you!)
• Useful touches e.g. free safe in rooms & pool area, free map, you can purchase tram tickets @ the hotel.
• SKYY bar (open to 1am weekdays / 2am weekends) views
• Nice pool area - free for hotel guests
• Close to Schipol – easy to get to (train to Lelylann Stn then tram 1 or 17)
• Tram stop 5 mins walk away (Surinameplein – tram 1 or 17)

Negatives:
• Distance from centre – the location was really the only negative for us. It is lovely for a quiet, romantic getaway but if you’re looking to stay out late and party-hard this probably isn’t the hotel for you. Night bus drops you off at Lelylaan Station – make sure you know the way home!

I hope this review helps anyone considering a visit to Amsterdam. Apart from the hotel I would recommend Vondelpark for a relaxing afternoon and purchasing advance tickets for Anne Frank House at tourist info to beat the queues. Also there were some lovely cafe/bars between Westerkerk and Noorderkerk that seemed full of mostly local people (good sign) - very picturesque for an evening stroll and beer away from the red light district.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
I will share your feedback with my entire team. Your feedback will be a great help for future guests. With regards to the distance I can comment that it only takes 5 minutes to walk to Vondelpark. The City Centre can be reached by tram within 10 minutes! Once again I would like to thank you for posting your review! We are looking forward to welcome you again as our guest in the near future.
Kindest regards,
WestCord Fashion Hotel
Nico Evers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imbil
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Very quiet location in Amsterdam. Right next too the ring road if you have a car so easy to get around. Trams stop just down the road so also close to public transport. Very comfortable rooms in a funky setting.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Dear michtorr,
Thank you for nice review on Tripadvisor. I'm delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel! Thank you for recommending our hotel to others! I hope that we may have the chance to welcome you again in the near future!
Kindest regards,
WestCord Fashion Hotel
Nico Evers
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

This is a really modern hotel, very well decorated and furnished with interesting features, not least the mannequins strategically located around the lobby! This would be reflecting the name of the hotel, of course. The staff are nice and the restaurant is light and airy, breakfast is a pleasant experience with a wide choice. The rooms are well designed and spacious with interesting bathroom fitting (I especially liked the bath). The hotel is quite some distance from the centre of Amsterdam but easily accessible.

Room Tip: I had a room facing the inner courtyard (not sure of the direction) and it was dead quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Dear aintynice,
I have just read your review of your stay in our hotel and would like to thank you for your kind words. Your recommendations about our rooms and staff are very welcome! Your comments are therefore highly appreciated and of great value. It was a pleasure having you as our guest, and we look forward to welcome you again in the near future!
Kindest Regards,
WestCord Fashion Hotel
Nico Evers
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

This hotel looks really cool; fun decor and modern fixtures. The rooms aren't huge but well appointed and really nicely decorated. The drinks in the Skyy Bar aren't cheap (10euro) but really good! The staff are friendly and provide prompt service.
Its a bit of a walk out of the centre (it will take about 25 minutes to walk) but there is a tram stop nearby which makes things easy. Its also close to Vondelpark (i would say the park is a highlight in Amsterdam) which makes for a nice stroll.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Dear Tynastar,
What a pleasure to read your review of your recent stay with us. Thank you for sharing this review and for all the kind words. Thank you for choosing our hotel and I hope we can welcome you again to WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam in the near future!
Kindest regards,
WestCord Fashion Hotel
Nico Evers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Hendrikje Stoffelsstraat 1, 1058 GC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#34 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.