We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Business and Classy Tourist Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hendrikje Stoffelsstraat 1, Amsterdam 1058 GC, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
London
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Business and Classy Tourist Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Sometimes your office has a corporate rate with a local hotel that is average, or worse poor simply because it is the nearest - on this occasion we lucked out, shame the office is moving this year. The district is Leylaan (on the line from Schipol to Centraal Station) on the outskirts of the city

Have been really happy with this hotel, its trendy streaming fashion shows and decorated with bold artworks of fashionistas and models, the staff are friendly and the rooms are big clean and modern with free internet access.

The hotel is bright airy and spacious, there is a great gym/pool and wellness centre with a great selection of treatments on the lower floors.

The tram stop into town is a couple of minutes walk away and for 2.70 you can get into central Amsterdam in around 20 minutes.

The food is good, a little pricey in the restaurant but in the bar the usual fayre is tasty and more reasonable and again breakfast though a little expensive is good. On the 10th floor is a funky bar, Skyybar where you can enjoy a drink in style.

Every time I have stayed the reception staff have allocated me a quiet room on a high floor on request and never quibbled.

I would absolutely recommend anyone to stay here as it is a safe haven from the stag and hen parties as lucily it is not in the thick of things and consequently it is almost always very relaxed.

Room Tip: get an b&b rate, breakfast is 18 euros.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPEvers, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Dear Angelina8888,
Thank for your great review. I'm delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay so much! Your experience is our desired guest experience! I will share your feedback with my entire team, who I'm sure, will read it with pride!
I do hope to get the chance to welcome you again soon!
Kindest regards,
WestCord Fashion Hotel
Nico Evers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,291 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    628
    533
    93
    21
    16
See reviews for
77
609
52
156
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

I enjoyed this week-end at the Fashion hotel, nice hotel, friendly employees. The hotel is clean and quiet, breakfast is good, room is spacious. The tram is at walking distance from hotel to go downtown (20 minutes) or to conference center Meer en Vaart (5 minutes). There is no taxi in front but they can come from station quickly.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPEvers, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Dear Patrick H,
Thank you for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor and for your compliments. I will share your feedback with my entire team. It has been a pleasure to welcome you to WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam. We are looking forward welcoming you again as our guest in the near future!
Kind regards,
WestCord Fashion Hotel

Nico Evers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012 via mobile

Had fantastic weekend break here, great location just on the outskirts of the city but easy access by bike or walk. Rooms were beautiful and breakfast was great standard in lovely restaurant surroundings. Would definitely stay here again or recommend to anyone. Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPEvers, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Dear jennyp80,
Thank you for staying with us! It's great to read that you enjoyed your stay!
Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor and for recommending it to others!
Hope to see you again in the near future!
Kindest regards,
WestCord Fashion Hotel
Nico Evers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

The room is modern and quite beautiful if you are travelling alone or as a couple. Not ideal if travelling with a business partner because both the bathroom door and shower glass are seathrough, so you can see in the shower from th room.
Also the twin beds are stuck next to each other, so it can be too close.
The breakfast buffet was very nice and the price/quality ratio is excellent.
There are better located hotels that will allow you to walk around Amsterdam without having to take a tram, but otherwise it is a very nice hotel.
Negative: the outdoor staircase from the street to lobby level, very steep and uncomfortable, especially with luggage.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPEvers, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Dear Viclugano,
Thank you very much for you kind and enthusiastic words in your review! It was a delight to read you enjoyed your stay! With regards to your comment about travelling with a business partner I can inform you that we have twin bedded rooms with frosted glass in the bathroom available! It was a pleasure having you as our guest, and we look forward to welcome you again in the near future!
Kindest Regards,
WestCord Fashion Hotel
Nico Evers
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

I was planning to stay in this hotel in July based on the good reviews in TripAdvisor. But I was concerned about the no-privacy bathrooms because I would be sharing the room with my teenaged child. If a newlywed couple wanted more privacy, as a previous review mentioned, my child would certainly find it uncomfortable.

So, I emailed the hotel, pointing this out and received a message saying that I should book the room. They also said they had plenty of availability of rooms with "decals" on the shower doors.

I reserved a room for three nights on hotels.com (at a lower rate than the rate offered in the hotel's email) and replied with the reservation number and a request to confirm the more-modest bathroom.

I received a reply they had "noted" the request but couldn't confirm such a room. I immediately cancelled the reservation.

You'd think that a hotel that has an issue brought up by TripAdvisor reviews -- and which responds to its reviews on the site -- would be sensitized to the need to address this problem. This was a case in which I did what they asked -- booked a hotel room and emailed a special request -- and they still didn't respond satisfactorily.

I can't imagine what staying there would actually be like.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPEvers, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Dear yobyot,
Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor. I'm very dissapointed that we don't get the chance to welcome you as our guests. We are more than willing to confirm a room with frosted glass in the bathroom for you. I do hope that you give us the chance to welcome you as our guests in July. Our reservartion department will contact you by mail today!
Kindest regards,
WestCord Fashion Hotel
Nico Evers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Just returned from a 4 night stay at the Westcord in Amsterdam. Lovely hotel, quirky, but in a good way! Found the hotel staff to be very friendly and helpful. Rooms good size, very comfy beds and spotlessly clean.Only disconcerting feature in the room was the glass door on the bathroom...this was not a problem for us but could have proved otherwise if had gone with a male friend!...... Breakfast at 18 euros I did find rather steep particularly for the choice of food provided but as there is nowhere within walking distance as an alternative you are rather stuck so it was a no brainer but a fairer price in my opinion would have been 10 euros.All in all on balance a good hotel and I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPEvers, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Dear Elaine W,
I have just read your review of your stay in our hotel and would like to thank you for your kind words. Your recommendations about our rooms and staff are very welcome! Your comments are therefore highly appreciated and of great value. With regards to the glass door in the bathroom I can inform you that we also have rooms with frosted glass available!
It was a pleasure having you as our guest, and we look forward to welcome you again in the near future!
Kindest Regards,
WestCord Fashion Hotel
Nico Evers
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam

Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Amsterdam
Address: Hendrikje Stoffelsstraat 1, Amsterdam 1058 GC, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#20 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#41 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Venere, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Otel so you can book your WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.