We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern and Comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hendrikje Stoffelsstraat 1, 1058 GC Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Modern and Comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

Gorgeous modern hotel with a quirky style.

Location
Hotel is about 20 mins on tram from Amsterdam Central Station, takes quite long as there are many stops. Tram is 7euro for a day ticket and around 3euros for a single ticket. Tram clean and stops about 2 minuets walk from the hotel. Some roadworks going on as the area looked like a new development. Hotel situated by busy link road and centre to far to walk. Supermarket about 15 mins walk.

Checking in/out
Reception spacious and very helpful & friendly staff. Room accessible by KeyCard. City tax is required (about 3 or 4euro per night) quite surprised that when i booked a 100euro deposit was required, turned out all they wanted was to view my passport, and deposit was not needed. checking out at 12 the next day, long queue to check out had to wait about 30 mins, get their early!

Room
Hotel over all was great. VERY clean, everything neat and room perfect. Spacious room with free wifi and large t.v, large wardrobe. Shower and bath and separate toilet.
All furniture in room looked brand new and was comfortable. There is a vending machine (small) in room for drinks and snacks, also coffee/tea making facilities. Also a standard size iron & ironing board.

Leisure & Pool
Great pool and seating area, drinks also available to order here. Staff very unfriendly in leisure area, they did not allow my boyfriend to use the gym as they didn't think his gym wear (shorts & t-shirt) was 'suitable' and was told in a very rude manner his trainers were 'too dirty' for the gym. Male receptionist nice, but steer clear of the rest! they obviously hate the hotel stayers using the facilities as it looks like its not owned by the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPEvers, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Dear Spoono,
What a pleasure to read your review of your recent stay with us. Thank you for sharing this review and for all the kind words.
I was delighted to read that the hotel and the staff have met your expectations! Your comments about the wellness are very appreciated and will be discussed with them.
Thank you for choosing our hotel and I hope we can welcome you again to WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam in the near future!

Kindest regards,
WestCord Fashion Hotel
Nico Evers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,437 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    704
    590
    101
    25
    17
See reviews for
93
683
58
170
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for four nights with my husband and niece. The room for three was exceptionally large. Very comfy furniture. Strange to have a glass door on the bathroom, took some getting used to, but nothing to complain about. The sky bar was very good and busy too. The breakfasts were great, good coffee, fresh and available. Tram about five minute walk away, very regular service. Ten minutes to centre. Bought transport tickets at reception. Spa was a massive disappointment. Unless you were pounding the pool it was cold. Wanted to go in sauna to warm up, but had to pay 10€ , so didn't bother. Staff unhelpful. Steps up to hotel very steep, especially on arrival with suitcases. We realised we could exit and enter by going through spa entrance.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPEvers, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Dear Chubbablubba,
What a pleasure to read your review of your recent stay with us. Thank you for sharing this review and for all the kind words.
I was delighted to read that the hotel and the staff have met your expectations! Your comments about the Spa facilities are very appreciated and will be discussed with them.
Thank you for choosing our hotel and I hope we can welcome you again to WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam in the near future!

Kindest regards,
WestCord Fashion Hotel
Nico Evers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandbach
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

We arrived about 9.30 am and were able to check straight in. Even changed rooms to two adjoining as 4 friends in our group. Rooms are large with comfortable beds and great bathrooms. People have complained about the glass bathroom doors but we didn't have a problem with these. Frosted glass allowed light into the room. Much more pleasant than normal internal bathrooms! We were on the first floor and didn't see another person when leaving and coming back to rooms! Very quiet. We swam both mornings as the spa opened. Good way to start the day. We didn't have breakfast but the was a great cafe 5 minutes walk near the canal. We purchased tram tickets from reception, 48 hour ones and made good use of them. Easy to get to the tram stop - better when the road works finish! We also purchased canal trip tickets from reception - 3 for the price of 4. Cheaper than those bought from the trip booths by central station. Had a fantastic trip to Amsterdam. Will definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPEvers, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Dear Carol T,
Thank you for nice review on Tripadvisor. I'm delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel! Thank you for recommending our hotel to others! I hope that we may have the chance to welcome you again in the near future!
Kindest regards,
WestCord Fashion Hotel
Nico Evers
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

Room was very nice, staff was very friendly and helpful,
breakfast was poor, they have a very big breakfast room, first when you come in you are very impressed, but then you see that they have only a little choice of ham and cheese, the eggy and potatoes were cold, no fresh juices, coffee was not very good,....
most i was annoyed with the spa area.You have to pay extra €10,- to use the sauna, because the spa does not belong to the hotel, it is a separate company. Furthermore they told me at the reception (and it is also written on the information sheet and internet) that the sauna, steam bath and pool is open until 10 pm. I went to the spa at 9 pm and the lady told me that she has to shut down the sauna at 9.35 pm and i have to leave the spa latest at 9.50 pm... so i had to pay €10, thinking i could use the sauna for 1h....so i don´t understand why they tell you it is open until 10pm. i was really angry...
about the location, you have a tram directly to the centre, but you have to walk for about 5 minutes to the station...

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPEvers, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Dear mimi h,
Thank you for posting this review on Tripadvisor.
Your comments are of great importance and will help us in our efforts to continuously improve the standards you may expect from us.
Therefore your remarks about our breakfast and Spa facilities are very much appreciated.
It has been a pleasure to welcome you and we look forward to welcoming you again to WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam.

Kindest regards,
WestCord Fashion Hotel
Nico Evers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012 via mobile

Arrived early (11am) no problem checking in. Michael was very helpful & informative.
I suspect we were in a standard room. Not large, but very clean, and big enough for short stay. Bed wonderfully comfortable. As intimated by other reviews, bed & wet area separated by glass screen only. No problem if you are a couple. Separate toilet, but with no hand wash facility.
Went to sky bar once. Quite trendy & cocktails were very good, but took a very long time to serve them. Got the impression cocktail waiters thought a bit too much of themselves!
Breakfasts very good but slightly variable; different options on different days. Very busy on Sunday morning. Congratulations to the chef who somehow managed to stay calm!
Onto the location. Obviously out of town. The tram stop currently 8 minute walk away, due to the roadworks. Once done I suspect it will be 5. Somebody has said a 20-30 minute walk into town. They must have been running! Having said that we did it one day and it was a very pleasant slow stroll through Vondelpark taking about 1 hour.
In conclusion an excellent hotel provided you don't want to stop in the centre. We'll be back.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPEvers, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Dear Mike_Whitfield,
Thank you very much for you kind and enthusiastic words in your review! It was a delight to read you enjoyed your stay ! I will share your comments with our team, who I am sure will read them with pride!
It has been a pleasure welcoming you to our hotel, and it would be a pleasure to welcome you back next time!
Kindest regards,
WestCord Fashion Hotel
Nico Evers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portishead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We "found" this hotel through easyjet holidays ... it 's in a very convenient location for us to viist with family living the Pijp district, easy access from Schipol and there are trams to the Dam Central too.

This is a very fashionable hotel ... it starts with mannequins everywhere, some clothed and some not but it all adds to the ambiance.

The room was excellent ... a large and very comfortable bed with multiple large pillows (unusual in Europe), two comfly chairs and an "arty" chair at the desk area ... plenty of work space if needed too. There was a lot of hanging space if you are there for more than a weekend too.

The bathroom had a very deep bath and a separate large shower, interesting tiles and a the wash basin .... included were daily updates on the toiletries.

We expected continental breakfast (cold meat, fish and cheese) which we got plus the eggs, bacon, beans, mushrooms etc and the waffles and pancakes .. and all the bread toast muffins croissants etc plus the range of cereals and fruit and juices ... even soya milk if you ask.

We had bar snacks in the main bar one night where the service and food were excellent. There is also a SKYY Bar on the top floor where lots of younger people were enjoying themselves.

There is not much going on in the local area but we found two good bars just near the entrance to Vondelpark about a 6 minute walk away.

All the taxi drivers know where the hotel is ... be aware that once you have gone past the minimum fare the taxi cost rise quickly ... the last 5 euros will be spent negotiating the junction next to the hotel to get you to the door.

We spent three night and will stay here on our next trip in April. The free WIFI works right in the bedroom too.

All the staff we met were very courteous and helpful and all spoke excellent English. we

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor adjacent to the main road and did not hear a thing from the trafffic so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPEvers, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Dear Portisheadblue,
Thank you for staying with us! I'm very happy to read your positive feedback on Tripadvisor.
I will share your feedback with my entire team. We are looking forward to welcome you again as our guest in the near future.
Kindest regards,
WestCord Fashion Hotel
Nico Evers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Just came back from Amsterdam where we stayed 4 days at the Fashion Hotel. Rooms were spacious, decor fantastic, customer service excellent: nothing negative to say about the hotel apart from its location. There's a tram stop about 10 minutes away, which is good but not in freezing February!!! The area is very industrial, so not the prettiest sight for tourists...

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPEvers, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Dear Ced82
What a pleasure to read your review of your recent stay with us. Thank you for sharing this review and for your kind words.
I was delighted to read that the hotel and the staff have met your expectations!
Thank you for choosing our hotel and I hope we can welcome you again to WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam in the near future!

Kind st regards,
WestCord Fashion Hotel
Nico Evers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Hendrikje Stoffelsstraat 1, 1058 GC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#24 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#38 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, Otel and Venere so you can book your WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.