We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hendrikje Stoffelsstraat 1 | GPS address: Nachtwachtlaan 11, 1058 GC Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
Haarlem, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

When looking for a great hotel to stay the night my boyfriend and I chose this hotel because of the looks and the price. We could book a room for one night for €50 excl. breakfast!
The staff was friendly and helpful even though at the time of checking in the pin didn't work and I had to put it on my credit card instead of paying with my debit card.
The room was clean and beautifully decorated. The only thing I didn't like was the shower (we had booked a room with bath but did not get this) and the bedlinen (too rough).
The breakfast was lovely, serving a mainly English breakfast.
I would advise this hotel for couples that do not want to go out at nights or have their own transport. The location of the hotel is outside the center making it very difficult to get back at night! (Night bus is available after trams stop running)

We had a great stay and maybe will return someday.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merijn_Veken, Front Office Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 20, 2011
Dear Marit87,

Thank you your kind words in describing your stay in our hotel. I am happy to read you look back at our hotel as a 'Great place'! I appreciate you taking the time to point out some areas of improvement, after all these will help us improve our hotel and service! I will make sure to pass your comments on to the departments mentioned.
Again, thank you for your stay with us, it was a pleasure having you as our guest and we look forward to welcome you back in the future!

Kind regards,

Merijn Veken
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,176
    794
    129
    32
    19
See reviews for
153
1,139
81
250
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

Even if the hotel was not in a central position, we really enjoyed our staying!
It take 15 minutes by tram to get to the center but it's worthy because the hotel is so fascinating!
The rooms are beautiful and cleaned, the breakfast is amazing with fresh and delicious food, the personnel is very kind and helpful.
Also the fitness center and the swimming pool are pleasant and very cleaned as well.
not expensive at all for a 4 stars hotel.
Enjoy it!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merijn_Veken, Front Office Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 19, 2011
Dear Fau13,

Thank you for writing your review of your stay in our hotel! Our aim is to make sure our guests enjoy our hotel to the fullest, and reading from your review we have succeeded in this! You say you enjoyed the decoration and comfort of the rooms, the cleanliness in the hotel, the food and our staff. I will make sure to share your review with our entire team, as I am sure reading it will make them proud!
Again, thank you for your kind words, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future!~

Kindest regards,

Merijn Veken
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

Just back from staying at this lovely hotel. It's definitely a 4 star, very smart and looks almost new. Yes it is out of the centre but the trams - nos 1 and 17 are very frequent. The hotel is a 10 min walk from lelylaan station which is the first stop from schipol towards amsterdam centre. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Yes breakfast is extra , if u book it at hotel reception it is 15 euros each. Bed very comfortable. Got a good deal on the Internet. It is a big hotel and coupled with where it is I guess they give good deals to try and fill it . Would recommend mike's bike tours.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merijn_Veken, Front Office Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 19, 2011
Dear LynnandJane,

I have just read your review here and wanted to thank you for your kind words! I am happy to read that you enjoyed our hotel so much! I will share your comments with our entire team, after all making sure our guests enjoy their stay with us is what matters most!
It was a delight having you as our guest, and we look forward to welcome you back in the (near) future!

Kind regards,

Merijn Veken
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

Was the second time I visited the hotel. I was impressed the first time, however, was visiting in a calmer period that time and apparently the busy holiday season results in staff mistakes.

Upon arrival, I found a dirty toilet in my room. Toilet had not been properly flushed, there was still toilet paper floating around in it.
I also tried to order room service. The lady at room service told me that the food would be up in half an hour. Had to wait for an hour and a half, only to find they had forgotten me (had to call reception myself to figure that out) and the kitchen had been closed by then, so I couldn't get any food anymore.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merijn_Veken, Front Office Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 10, 2011
Dear John 2550,

Thank you for your review and for letting us know that you were not as satisfied with your stay as you were the first time you stayed with us.
The points you make regarding the cleanliness of your room and the roomservice not providing the food you ordered are valid and are in contrast with the level of service you may expect from us. Thank you for bringing this to our attention, we will share your remarks in our management team and will take steps to make improvements.
We do hope you will give us a new chance during your next visit to Amsterdam so we can prove this was an incident, and I would appreciate hearing your remarks in person!

Kindest regards,

Merijn Veken
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gent - Belgium
Level Contributor
55 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

Located near the Amsterdam fashion center, and just next to the motorway.

pro
- comfortable beds
- spacious room
- swimming pool
- bar with outside terrace

contra
- no sparkling water in minibar, only mineral

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merijn_Veken, Front Office Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 10, 2011
Dear Fitchy-Gent,

thank you for sharing your review of our hotel here on Tripadvisor! I am happy to read you had a comfortable stay with us during your business trip, and I will pass on your comments about the lack of sparkling water in our minibar to our Food & Beverage manager!
Again thank you for your remarks, we are constantly trying to improve our hotel and the services we offer, and reading how our guests experience their stay is the best way for us to learn and improve!

We look forward to welcome you back on your next trip!

Kind regards,

Merijn Veken
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We Visit WestCord fashion hotel in Amsterdam on 30Apr11.It happened to be the Queens birthday which is a national holiday. The hotel is very close to the Schiphole international airport .You will need to get a train to Leylaan Station, then tram No1 or No17 for just one stop .It will take you about 15min.The hotel is very modern, the rooms a quiet big, the bed is nice and big as well, staff is nice and helpful .It is little bit off the centre about 15min walk but Amsterdam is not that big town. The hotel is very close to the park. The swimming pool is reasonable size (you ca use it for free if you a guest of the hotel but for the sauna which is nice too you have to pay) and we enjoyed that too.
The only thing we did not like is the Sky bar. There was only one person serving all customers, the bar was full ,we wanted to try on some of the cocktails but when we had to stay for half an hour or may be 45min we was not able even to order anything and we left. Maybe all the people came at the same time but they definitely needed more staff at that time.
Amsterdam was really nice town. The day when we went all Dutch people going out on the streets dressed up in something orange, the canals a very busy as well ,it is very colourful ,the music is going on the all day and all night so if you prefer a quiet break you might want to pick a different day.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merijn_Veken, Front Office Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 10, 2011
Dear Sunni_6,

thank you for your review on Tripadvisor! I am happy to hear you enjoyed your time in Amsterdam during Queen's Day and in our hotel! We take your comments about the service in the Skyybar very seriously, and I am happy to inform you that we have already taken steps to make sure enough staff is available to serve our delicious cocktails! Again thank you for your remarks, they help us improve the level of service and are therefore highly appreciated.

It has been a pleasure having you as our guest, and we look forward to welcome you back in the future!

Kind regards,

Merijn Veken
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalborg
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

It was a very nice hotel. The room was clean, nice decorated and in fine materials. The hotel had all the facilities you need such as Wi-Fi, swimming pool, work-out, sauna, massage.
The breakfast was good, not included in price though.

Hotel was situated about 4 km from City centre, but it was easy to go downtown by tram. At the hotel you could rent scooters - very nice.

The hotel staff was competent and friendly

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPEvers, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 29, 2011
Dear Kringelbach1,
What a pleasure to read your review of your recent stay with us. Thank you for sharing this review and for the kind words.
I was delighted to read that the hotel and the staff have met your expectations.
Thank you for choosing our hotel! I hope we can welcome you again to WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam in the near future!

Kind regards,
WestCord Fashion Hotel

Nico Evers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
citizenM Amsterdam
#37 of 354 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
#17 of 354 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 649 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 354 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 1,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Hendrikje Stoffelsstraat 1 | GPS address: Nachtwachtlaan 11, 1058 GC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fashion Hotel Amsterdam (4-stars) is situated opposite the World Fashion Centre, within ring road A10 of Amsterdam. It has a fantastic location; Leidseplein is within a 10 minute tram ride, Schiphol Airport and Amsterdam RAI are also 10 minutes from the hotel by car and the Vondelpark is only a 5 minute walk away. This makes the hotel suitable for a business stay, but also weekend break to Amsterdam. Fashion Hotel in Amsterdam has 260 spacious modern design rooms with free WIFI internet. After a visit to Fashion’s Restaurant and Bar, with adjacent terrace, you can drink cocktails in the stylish SKYY Bar on the 10th floor. It has a great view over the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Otel so you can book your WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.