We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall, very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hendrikje Stoffelsstraat 1, Amsterdam 1058 GC, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Overall, very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

Overall, a good stay. The hotel was clean, modern, good value for money and well run, with good food. One slightly disconcerting element was the design of the bathrooms. The door was of clear glass and there was also a window from the bedroom into the bathroom. All very well if you’re a married couple, but more awkward if you have a couple of teenage children of different genders sharing a room. One final reservation was that the top-floor nightclub felt a bit scuzzy, so we didn't go up there in the evening, but we'd readily recommend the rest of the hotel

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPEvers, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 27, 2011
Dear Peter_S_Hunt,
Thank you for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor and for your compliments. I will share your feedback with my entire team. We have bartrooms available with opaque glass which we will reserve for you the next time. It has been a pleasure to welcome you to WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam. We are looking forward welcoming you again as our guest in the near future!
Kind regards,
WestCord Fashion Hotel

Nico Evers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,286 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    625
    531
    93
    21
    16
See reviews for
75
606
52
156
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

The hotel was ok but it is a little way out of the town centre. Access is fairly easy by tram. There is nothing around the hotel so if you want to just hang out and want something to eat your only choice is hotel food. The room size was ok and the staff were helpful.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPEvers, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 25, 2011
Dear Fungus-feet,
Thank you for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor and for your compliments. I will share your feedback with my entire team. It has been a pleasure to welcome you to WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam. We are looking forward welcoming you again as our guest in the near future!
Kind regards,
WestCord Fashion Hotel

Nico Evers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Street, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

We had such a great time staying at the Westcord fashion hotel, the interior is very funky but not too much, and our room was very spacious. The staff were very welcoming,because we got married last year and this was our first trip since then we were welcomed with roses fruits and pastries, on our last night we had champagne and strawberries, It is worth contacting them beforehand for anything extra you Would like.
The sky bar does the best cocktails EVER I highly recommend the porn star(i wasnt too sure about the name but the taste was delicous) It is a short walk to Vondel park which is a great place for a picnic by the lake and not long into the centre by bike/tram.
ENJOY! X

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPEvers, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 25, 2011
Dear chloboat,
What a pleasure to read your review of your recent stay with us. Thank you for sharing this review and for all the kind words.
I was delighted to read that the hotel and the staff have met your expectations and that we have made your wedding anniversary a memorable one. The cocktail you ordered was a "Porn Star Martini"!
Thank you for choosing our hotel and I hope we can welcome you again to WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam in the near future!

Kindest regards,
WestCord Fashion Hotel

Nico Evers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

I brought my 10 year old niece here as a birthday present. It was truly spectacular. The mannequins and the fashion exhibitions were super, and the SKYY bar really was exceptional. Nothing was too much trouble, they were happy to make non alcoholic cocktails for her, (all using fresh fruits, not the syrupy nonsense some bars at home use)
The glass ceiling was amazing, the decor was beautiful and the staff were friendly and patient.
The only slightly negative here was that one of the (male) reception staff wasn't terribly helpful, customers not seeming to be his thing! It wasn't enough though to overshadow our experience.

Room Tip: Most comfortable beds in all of Amsterdam.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPEvers, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 21, 2011
Dear mariajc73
What a pleasure to read your review of your recent stay with us. Thank you for sharing this review and for all the kind words.
I was delighted to read that the hotel and the staff have met your expectations and that we made the birthday present of your niece a memorable one.
Thank you for choosing our hotel and I hope we can welcome you again to WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam in the near future!

Kindest regards,
WestCord Fashion Hotel

Nico Evers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

easy to get to from airport.
We were very pleased with our choice to stay here.
Clean,spacious and very comfy bed.
There is a cocktail bar open until 1am on the top floor which we liked a lot.
Maybe not convienent if you want a late night in Amsterdam central, last tram back is around midnight.
We paid 17 euro + tax for breakfast on top of room rate. To be fair the breakfast was excellent.
Just the swimming pool was included in our room rate, not the sauna, and remember to take towel down with you to the pool; they charge for towels in the spa.

Room Tip: there is a good choice of tv channels
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPEvers, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 21, 2011
Dear lancastrianUk,
Thank you for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor and for your compliments for our breakfast! I will share your feedback with my entire team. It has been a pleasure to welcome you to WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam. We are looking forward welcoming you again as our guest in the near future!
Kind regards,
WestCord Fashion Hotel

Nico Evers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holon
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

We were in doubt whether to rent a room in the center of Amsterdam in a reasonable limits of budget or choose better hotel that is not in the center for the same price. So we chose Fashion Hotel and were very happy with the decision. The access to the center of the city was so simple, by using tram which is near the hotel (even at night there was a night bus) and the hotel was sow much greater that those in the center for the same money. It really made difference in the atmosphere of the trip.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPEvers, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 19, 2011
Dear greyfornix,
What a pleasure to read your review of your recent stay with us. Thank you for sharing this review and for all the kind words.
I was delighted to read that the hotel and the staff have met your expectations. Thank you for choosing our hotel and I hope we can welcome you again to WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam in the near future!

Kind regards,
WestCord Fashion Hotel

Nico Evers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

We arrived in Amsterdam at 8am with no idea where to go to get to the hotel. A taxi driver quoted us 40 Euros to take us to the hotel, which we felt rather expensive so said no and quite rightly so as now knowing the distance 20 Euros would be acceptable. My partner and I, after asking in the airport information travelled to the hotel via the connections bus which takes you directly to the Fashion Hotel (or any hotel for that matter) for a flat rate of 15.somthing Euros each. The connections point where to book it is located in the airport too.
Our check in wasn’t till 3pm and we arrived at the hotel at 10am but we hoped we could leave the luggage there, Michael (not sure how to spell,) greeted us at reception and was ever so helpful. We were able to leave the luggage there and he even sorted it out so we could go to our rooms at around 12am rather than 3pm, which was fantastic! He gave us some advice how to get around and all the staff was friendly and welcoming.
To travel from the hotel into main Amsterdam is very easy, the tram is a 5min walk away max 10 if taking a leisurely stroll. (I noticed people saying on here that its further, I’m assuming they must of walked to the next tram stop down, or have difficulty in walking.) Any way my point is it’s really not far. There is not really much around the hotel area but once on the tram everything is within 20mins max of the hotel. To get around use tram 1 or 17 to central station however tram 1 is much better as it takes you past more areas you are likely to get out for entertainment or restaurants etc.
In the evening we went to the bar at the top of the hotel for cocktails, the guy serving was superb and the cocktails were worth the money.. lush!
The check out time is 12am, so we went for a quick swim in the pool before we left. It was extra good as it was just us using the pool, but still it’s an ok sized, clean and surprising quite warm! I would defiantly say go for a few lengths in the morning to wake you up!
Its and excellent four star hotel, the rooms looked exactly as advertised, the beds were so comfy and we both had the best night sleep! All in all I would defiantly recommend The WestCord Fashion Hotel the only downside is we couldn’t stay for longer!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPEvers, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 15, 2011
Dear RebeccaBarry,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor and for your compliments to our reception supervisor Michael which I already passed on to him. I'm proud as a hotel manager to have such dedicated team members.
It has been a pleasure to welcome you to WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam.We are looking forward to welcome you again as our guest in the near future.
Kindest regards,
WestCord Fashion Hotel

Nico Evers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam

Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Amsterdam
Address: Hendrikje Stoffelsstraat 1, Amsterdam 1058 GC, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#20 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#41 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Venere, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Otel so you can book your WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.