We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel - Great Service from Staff over Queen's Day” 4 of 5 stars
Review of WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hendrikje Stoffelsstraat 1 | GPS address: Nachtwachtlaan 11, 1058 GC Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
London
Level Contributor
68 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great Hotel - Great Service from Staff over Queen's Day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

Me and my boyfriend decided to come to this hotel while Queen's Day in Amsterdam was on as is was good value for money considering how expensive some hotels were. The festival itself was mental (and may I recommend it!) and I didn't realise until on the day that all trams and taxi's in central Amsterdam were stopped because the crowds are so big. This meant getting around in the city was a little difficult if you don't know your way around.
On arrival from the airport, which must have been 15 minutes away by tram (trams 1 and 17 will get you to the hotel - check with the tourist information at the airport to find out the routing) we arrived early at 8am and was told our room would be ready by 12pm so we went around the city to explore. When we came back around 1pm to be told our room still wasn't ready. Reception gave us an alternative room so we could sleep while our proper room was being prepared. Which was a little frustrating as we wouldn't have come back so early if our room wasn't finished. By 3pm all was resolved and we moved into our proper room.
The room itself is lovely - really funky decor, comfy bed, nice telly with some English speaking channels - news channels too. The bathroom and bath were really lovely - it had a walk-in shower too which was nice!
Breakfast was really expensive at the time of booking but its worth me mentioning that there is no-where nearby to eat so we did decide to book this while at the hotel. The hotel kindly gave us our first morning's breakfast for free (after we explained the room mishap) which was much appreciated. Breakfast was great - and I do recommend booking it as there is a wide choice of cooked breakfast, yoghurt, toast, fruit, croissants, juice, coffee etc so although it might seem pricey - its definitely worth doing.
The reception were really helpful - taking our luggage while we were sight-seeing, helping us with our room and getting around the city - they helped us plan our routes and all spoke great English.
On Saturday early on, we went to Vondelpark to see the little market stalls set up and buy some orange novelty gear - Queen's Day is all about walking the streets and drinking in the atmosphere - and having some Heineken! So we walked around for a bit - the main areas on Queen's day are: Jordaan, Dam Square, Museumplein, and Nieuwmarkt. Ladies, please note the amount of broken glass that ends up on the floor throughout the day, so don't wear any open-toed shoes.
All in all this hotel is fantastic and although I rate it, personally I recommend the Red Light District area for hotels. On my trip to Amsterdam before, I stayed in the Red Light District and it meant I was right in the centre of everything and very close to Central Station. If you are staying at this hotel - you will have a fantastic time and enjoy it.
Tips for Queen's Day: Wear Orange!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPEvers, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 14, 2011
Dear Vicki52,

Thank you for choosing the WestCord Fashion Hotel to celebrate Queen's Day in Amsterdam.
I'm delighted to read your positive feedback on Tripadvisor. I will share your comments with our entire team. We do hope to get the chance to welcome you back as our guests!

Kindest regards,
WestCord Fashion Hotel

Nico Evers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,186
    801
    132
    32
    20
See reviews for
162
1,149
81
252
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

The Westcord fashion hotel is funky, trendy and cool. As soon as you walk through the doors you know you've picked a good one. The staff are friendly and helpful. Access to the lift, corridors and room is all done with your contactless room key. Upon entering the room the first thing you notice is the modern design. There is a wardrobe with full length mirror and inside it was a relief to find an ironing board and iron. There is a safe concealed inside one of the drawers and you can set your own lock combination. Inside the other drawer we found coffee making facilities and there is also a minibar. The bed is as fabulous to sleep in as it looks the pillows were especially yummy - we wanted to take them home! The bathroom is very clean, it has a sink, walk in shower and separate bath. The door is glass so you can see through but this wasn't a problem for us as a couple. It was nice that the toilet was behind its own little concealed door though so you still have some privacy the toilet was next to the entrance to the room. The room has aircon and huge windows which you can open but only slightly so no chance of a cheeky cigarette. The room also had a flatscreen TV and had 4 UK channels. Thats about it for the room I would give the room 10/10!

There are ice dispensers on floors 1-7 so we always brought our own drinks home from town and chilled them with ice - much cheaper than paying for the minibar or getting a drink from the bar or the skyy bar.

We decided to try the hotel breakfast on our first morning - it was lovely but not worth the money - I think we paid 17 euros each for it! So the next morning we decided to hop on a tram into town and find somewhere cheaper - alas there was!

The tram stop is about a 5 minute walk from the hotel which was handy.

We didn't spend much time in the hotel so thats all the information we can really give you - I would recommend this hotel to anyone, but if your funds are limited maybe look into eating and drinking elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPEvers, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 31, 2011
Dear KiBoosh,
Thank you for choosing the WestCord Fashion Hotel. We are delighted to read your feedback on Tripadvisor. Your comments with regards to our rooms are very much appreciated. We try to be different then other hotels with regards to design and comfort. Our beds are especially designed for us!
We will share your comments with our entire team and do hope that you will return to our hotel.
Kind regards,
WestCord Fashion Hotel
Nico Evers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2011

The personnel where very friendly and willing to help in anything. I really liked that. The restaurant was fantastic. The decoration in general was very interesting. Using the tram the city center was just 10 minutes away and easy to access.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

I saw the reviews of this hotel and prepared myself for cold staff, a long walk to the tram and a hotel impossible to find. HOWEVER this couldn't be further from the truth, first thing first the Hotel is far from hidden on arrival to Amsterdam we got a taxi (€30), the taxi driver went straight to the hotel no clarification needed, unlike other trips to Amsterdam trying to explain which NH hotel I was staying at, next thing the staff, EVERY member of staff was courteous at minimum, the best member of staff by far was Rochelle on the front desk, she told us tram times, printed maps, advised on clubs and shops, explained the tram system and rail card system (1 day pass/€7) and also the that there's a train (Lelylaan) that takes you directly to Schiphol airport about 15 minutes walk from the hotel (€2.60), awesome at the end of your holiday when you have time to kill and not much euros left. Now the tram to Leidseplein is about 8 minutes walk, if that is a long walk you need to look at your life rather than the Hotel's location, the tram however finishes at about 1:00 am so you either have to catch a taxi back or WALK, now this isn't a walk for the faint hearted and me and my best friend did it every night about 30 minutes to 45. The hotel it self is beautiful, the gym has a wide range of equipment, the Skyy bar spectacular and affordable, the only thing I wasn't sure about was the glass door in the bathroom.

If you hate walking this hotel is not for you, but if you are not planning to stay out past 1:00 this hotel is a must.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPEvers, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 30, 2011
Dear BanterKing,

First of all I would like to thank you for staying with us. I'm delighted to read your positive comment on Tripadvisor. I will share your feedback with our entire team and Rochelle in particular. I do hope to get the chance to welcome you back as guest of our guest in the near future!

Kind regards,
WestCord Fashion Hotel
Nico Evers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

Hotel was not as good as I expected,
u couldnt control much of the tempurature inside the room - i to would get hot middle of the night!
drilling noise of the construction in the morning started from 8am,
Hotel's door is not as accessable as you would expect,

Bathroom was beautifuly decorated and it was very clean,
bed was comfortable and done properly on a daily base,
staff were polite and helpfull,
there was a massy smell in the hall way on the lobby that never ended but u get used to it,
beautiful lounge & nicel decorated,
Hotel is about 15 mins from city cneter. At first we tought being a bit away from city center is ok and worth a bit cheaper rate. would I do that again, NO! We wanted to walk around the city center and then have a nap before going out at night but wouldnt work out unless u get a taxi that would coast ~ $29 each way to city center.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPEvers, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 30, 2011
Dear SonamJaan,

First of all we would like to thank you for staying with us. We are happy to read that you enjoyed our facilities. With regards to the smell in the corridor I can inform you that there has been a sewerage problem outside the hotel, this has been solved. The contruction works in the surrounding area are almost finished. We are in daily contact with the Municipality to avoid inconvenience for our guests.
We are looking forward to welcome you again as our guest in the near future!
Kind regards,
WestCord Fashion Hotel
Nico Evers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

Great hotel and a lovely experience. It is the second time we had used this hotel and they kept the good service.
Very good food in the hotel at reasonable price. Try the cocktails in the sky bar.

Room Tip: Extra large rooms are a plus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPEvers, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 30, 2011
Dear Eliza_traveller,
Thank you for staying with us! We are delighted to read your positive comments on Tripadvisor.
We will share share your feedback with our entire team!
We are looking forward to welcome you again as our guest!

Kind regards,
WestCord Fashion Hotel
Nico Evers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

If the location were better, would be a near perfect hotel.

Pros
- Very secure, don’t think of losing your key
- Room was very clean
- Very modern hotel
- High end room, love the bathroom
- Good food and breakfast
- Internet is good

Cons
- Sky Bar is very bad on service and quality
- Horrible location, far from anywhere, expect to walk and travel
- Spa overpriced and service wasn’t that great

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPEvers, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 30, 2011
Dear RobertJackson78,

Thank you for posting your review on Trpadvisor. We are very happy with your positive comments about our Hotel in general. We will share your positive feedback as well as your concerns with our team. He hope to get the chance to welcome you back as our guest in the near future.

Kind regards,
WestCord Fashion Hotel
Nico Evers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
citizenM Amsterdam
#39 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
#17 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 653 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 355 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 1,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Hendrikje Stoffelsstraat 1 | GPS address: Nachtwachtlaan 11, 1058 GC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fashion Hotel Amsterdam (4-stars) is situated opposite the World Fashion Centre, within ring road A10 of Amsterdam. It has a fantastic location; Leidseplein is within a 10 minute tram ride, Schiphol Airport and Amsterdam RAI are also 10 minutes from the hotel by car and the Vondelpark is only a 5 minute walk away. This makes the hotel suitable for a business stay, but also weekend break to Amsterdam. Fashion Hotel in Amsterdam has 260 spacious modern design rooms with free WIFI internet. After a visit to Fashion’s Restaurant and Bar, with adjacent terrace, you can drink cocktails in the stylish SKYY Bar on the 10th floor. It has a great view over the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.