We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Vegetarian Mel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of De Waaghals

De Waaghals
29 Frans Halsstraat, Amsterdam 1072, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)
+31 20 6799609
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #582 of 2,144 restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $13 - $16
Cuisines: Vegan, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Stadsdeel Zuid
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Delicious Vegetarian Mel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Went impromptuly, later in the evening and had a delicious vegetarian meal at this vegetarian restaurant. Quite a limited choice in the menu, but it all looked tasty, but we felt it was slightly on the expensive side, at least by New Zealand standards. However what we received was delicious. We stuck to only one course. The food was fresh and beautifully cooked.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    31
    32
    12
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food, mediocre service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Good food, original vegetarian dishes. Special. Atmosphere is good. Mediocre service, waiter seems lazy and uninterested. Maybe its part of the vibe of the place

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Delicious meal, lovely outdoor space, very considerate service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Even my nonvegetarian companion agreed this was the best place we ate in Amsterdam. There's nothing crunchy, granoly about this. Meals are beautifully conceived and cooked, ingrediants are fresh, wine, beer and coffee all available and good. I had the monthly special (a mix of Egypian-spiced dishes) and my partner the summer special -- both were interesting and delicious.

Small but comfortable restaurant with a few tables on a tree-lined street. Area is primarily residential, but a few other restaurants and shops give it a welcoming feel. Had a lovey chat with the maitre d/waiter about the place and area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Vegetarian in side street”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Good vegetarian restaurant with friendly service and a good variety. Now open 7 days a week and well worth a trip if you are vegetarian.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A veggie restaurant fit for non-veggie foodies!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Not being a veggie myself it was an exciting challenge to find a restaurant for our veggie friends so that my foodie husband and I could still manage to have our tastebuds titillated...We managed it and what a great find! The service was super and very friendly and helpful, the menu was exciting. The food was very tasty. We booked in advance - which was a good idea as the restaurant was popular - and a wander around the neighbourhood afterwards revealed lots of exciting bars and more restaurants to try another time.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Waaghals also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to De Waaghals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Waaghals, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.