We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Became our home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of CityCenter Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
CityCenter Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam
Save
You added CityCenter Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam to your Saves list
Sint Jacobsstraat 21, 1012 NC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 321 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Warrensburg, Missouri
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Became our home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We loved staying here, and although we switched to a fancy hotel towards the end of our trip (we had 2 free nights at the Andaz)-- we missed Camillo and our room at this B&B after we left.

Camillo is tiny and adorable-- when we arrived he immediately took us into his office/sitting room and dropped to his knees with the map on the coffee table to explain to us where everything was and give us tips on eating, transportation, and everything else we had questions about. He then thoroughly explained the room and the bathroom (working the shower, etc.). Coffee and tea is free to make in the rooms, and there was free Wi-fi. The bathroom is shared, but it's plenty big with a nice shower. The bed and pillows were comfy.

Location is perfect-- we walked there from Central Station and could walk to most everything in town as well. Also very close to a tram stop, and of course, easy to bike to. Within close distance are wonderful restaurants, In de Wildeman (a great place for local and Belgium beers-- highly recommend it), and coffeeshops (if that's what you're into). It could be a little noisy at night, but we were there during the World Cup games, so that's expected for somewhere in the centre of Amsterdam when The Netherlands is playing.

And oh, the breakfast. You tell Camillo what time you want it, and he knocks on the door with a tray full of goodies exactly at the time you asked. We had rolls, croissants, meats, cheeses, a beautiful arrangement of fresh fruit, freshly squeezed orange juice, french-pressed coffee with a pitcher of steamed milk, nutella, honey, adorable little jars of jam, and something extra that varied daily-- the first day was fresh mozzarella and tomato, another day was salmon. Our last day, we had to catch an early train to Bruges and told him we wouldn't be there when breakfast hours began at 8, and he showed up early in our room with breakfast anyways. He said "You cannot travel without breakfast here... it is forbidden" in his adorable accent.

The only negatives about the place are that the stairs are rather loud and steep-- but it's a super old Amsterdam building, so that's to be expected.

Very charming, comfortable, and convenient. If we ever head back to Amsterdam, we would book it again without a second thought. We still miss it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    40
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
36
215
21
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

First, Camillo was a great host giving us tips, an orientation of the city map, and helping us get settled. He was very accommodating to our needs. For example, we had to catch our train very early and he got up extra early to serve us breakfast at 6:45 am. My husband and I along with two female friends occupied the two bedrooms for 4 nights. We loved the special touches such as the red roses in our room, the teapot along with tea, coffee and hot chocolate we could serve ourselves everyday. The breakfast was very ample with cheeses, deli meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, assortment of breads and croissants, French press coffee and orange juice. On Sundays, Camillo sends guests to a local cafe for an English breakfast which we also enjoyed.

Room Tip: This B & B is less than a 5 minute walk from the Central Train Station. It is an easy in and out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander City, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Camillo was a delightful host and the Bed and Breakfast was wonderful with nice extras like thick a thick bathrobe and fresh flowers on the table. It is walking distance from the train station and the tram is also close to the house. Thank you Camillo!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

My sister and I stayed here for a night in May. The accommodations were lovely, the location was great and the breakfast was plentiful (my sister and I are vegetarian and Camillo went above and beyond to give us a wonderful spread). Overall it was a great experience. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Spent two nights at this B&B. It was a pleasant comfortable stay.Camillo gave us all the information we needed to get around the city.The Tram(street car)was available down the street as well as the train station. The location was excellent. a delicious breakfast was brought to the room at the time we specified. Camillo was a great host

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We spent 3 nights here at the beginning of May and then another night at the end of our trip 3 weeks later. Camillo is a wonderful host and answers any questions you might have about Amsterdam. His restaurant suggestions were great (go to the Italian restaurant just down the street!!!), and the breakfasts in the room are amazing. When we had to leave early (before breakfast) to catch a flight, he met us on the stairs with a huge bag of breakfast food to eat on the way.

The room was very well supplied with anything we might need; everything was clean and comfortable. The shared bath was not a problem (it's just with one other room) and was also very clean, with shampoo/conditioner/soap provided. The rooms are upstairs (steep stairs) and the steps are old, so there are lots of creaks! It's just part of being in an old house--but it does mean you hear when your fellow travelers come home at night. If that bothers you, wear ear plugs! Otherwise, the room was amazingly quiet for such a central location. If we are ever back in Amsterdam, this is where we will stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

We stayed with Camillo and Joost for just a night and had a wonderful experience. Camillo was so welcoming, walking us patiently through everything from the city map to the functionalities of the room. The room itself was lovely - bright, clean and fully equipped with many "homey" touches, like fresh flowers on the table and an assortment of teas and cookies on the table. Our favorite part was the breakfast, which Camillo brings to your room. A sweetly arranged assortment of breads, meats and cheeses, fresh cut fruit and more than enough coffee really added a touch of home.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 356 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 1,827 reviews
Centrum
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#24 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
citizenM Amsterdam
#38 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,432 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CityCenter Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CityCenter Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam

Address: Sint Jacobsstraat 21, 1012 NC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 321 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Citycenter Bed And Breakfast Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Citycenter b&b Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CityCenter Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.