We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Any city with a CitizenM, I'll be staying there.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added citizenM Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
citizenM Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Become a citizen!
Ranked #33 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Aurora, Illinois
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Any city with a CitizenM, I'll be staying there.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2011

CitizenM states on their website that they are expanding their locations to other European cities and even some American ones in the future. If I am traveling to a city that has a CitizenM hotel, I will without a doubt be staying there. I have never stayed at a hotel in this price range with such a high level of quality, services provided, comfort, cleanliness, location... the list goes on. I found the neighborhood to be great. It was quiet but still had restaurants if we felt like staying out of the city center. The tram, one of the main lines, runs right by and it was very easy to make it to the places we wanted to go. It was also a brief walk from the train from the airport. Very easy!

The lobby was huge, clean and very comfortable. The room was large enough for what my wife and I needed. Our huge American Tourister luggage fit in the drawer under the bed, a nice way to keep it out of sight and declutter the room. The bed was AMAZING! It was the best hotel mattress I've ever slept on. It was also very large, especially by European hotel standards. I really appreciated the free English tv movies (and two free channels of porn!) as a way to end the day/night.

The shower was great, as was the entire list of bathroom amenities. No need for plug converters, there is a US one built into the vanity. The one "complaint" I've heard about the shower is the lack of privacy. This was not an issue for my wife and I, we've seen each other in the buff before. I think this is more of a concern for the natural "prudeness" of us Americans. If you are traveling with someone you'd rather not see nude, a short trip down to the lobby would be more than acceptable. There are plenty of TVs to watch down there, food to enjoy in the canteen (Heineken Extra Cold on draught, how I miss thee), or even using the complimentary iMacs.

I found the staff to also be great. Of course CitizenM lacks the charm of a B&B or even a small family run hotel. But, the staff really does a great job of helping with anything we had asked (suggestions, checking in our luggage, phrases, directions). And as an American who speaks bad German, their English was as good/better than my own. My wife loved our time in Amsterdam, and CitizenM has a role in that. I'd imagine one would have to spend over four times as much money in Amsterdam for a better hotel than CitizenM.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,581 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,398
    905
    189
    55
    34
See reviews for
116
1323
231
544
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Randolph, NJ
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2011

I stayed in this hotel after being impressed withit's sister hotel by the airport. It's just as impressive, modern and friendly like the other CitizenM. Rooms are small but super functional and modern. Check in/out process is streamlined to perfection. Staff is the most friendly and helpful I have seen in anywhere. Genuinely helpful, not just polite. Great stocked canteen with anything from sandwich to sushi. Located very short ride from the airport and close to city center (not the best for the historic part of town, though).

One note: it's absolutely perfect for a short stay of 1-2 days, when you do not need to unpack. Not good for a longer stay because there is no shelf space of any kind.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011

This is one of the strangest hotels I have ever stayed at. The rooms are no bigger than sleeping berths on a train - the bed is attached to the wall. My biggest problem was dead bugs in the room - many all over the floor - I complained to the front desk and they just nodded. They were cleaned up when I returned at the end of the day but it was disgusting. Trying to shut the shower doors required one to be of super human strength and quite honestly was not clean upon return at the end of the day.
They promote themselves as luxury budget - budget yes, luxury no. It is a convenient location to many attractions but I would not recommend staying here if you are claustrophobic

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citizenMhotels, social media citizen at citizenM Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 7, 2011
Hi “BusTrav106”,

citizenM was not built to be the traditional, since there are already many other options out there. Instead, we started from scratch keeping in mind what guests really want in a hotel, and a hotel room. We said bye to outdated lobbies with marble fountains, piano man, room service and huge rooms because we think mobile citizens don’t have to pay for what they don’t need. Instead, contemporary living rooms are filled with Vitra furniture, creative spaces to inspire creativity. The canteenM is open 24/7 with quality food and beverage at realistic prices.

I agree that there is no luxury that justifies dead bugs in any room, and I truly apologize if happened to you. We take cleanliness and maintenance of the entire hotel very seriously and upon any fault, we do the outmost to solve it, other reviews are a reflection of a sparkling clean property. Nothing about it was found on reports; neither the Hotel nor HK manager recall the experience you described here. I kindly ask you to write me directly with more information so that I can follow-up with you.

All the best,
citizenDiego
@citizenM.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011

I stayed here for a night because of the high reviews this hotel received. While I would agree that it does give you value for money, it was a bit difficult for a business traveler. First there was no writing desk in the room. While wifi is free, you either need to dress up and go down to the lobby or type away on your bed. Second, the location's a bit far from the center, so if you have a meeting somewhere, you need to take a 15-20 minute tram ride. The gadgets are really fun to play with, but lose their novelty after some time. But I did have a problem with the heating. It's so modern that they don't have those good ol' fashioned radiators near the window. Since the windows are so huge, it got very very cold and the modern remote control wasn't helping any! However, I did appreciate the cleanliness, easy check in, and the FREE movie on demand! I would recommend this to young leisure travelers who want value for their money.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citizenMhotels, social media citizen at citizenM Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 3, 2011
Hi “krityur”,

Thank you for sharing your experience here on Trip Advisor.

citizenM wants you to feel the home away from home. While I particularly enjoy using the computer in my citizenM bed, I understand you don’t work in your room at home. For that you go to your office or living room, not different at citizenM. Inspiring contemporary Vitra living rooms are there for you to work and interact with other citizens. Your kitchen at home is like the canteenM, open 24/7 where you can grab something to eat or a drink out of the fridge.

Free wifi is available in the entire hotel, including the room. We believe in free movies on demand, skype telephone rates, no hidden costs and that business citizens like the proximity with the airport, WTC and RAI convention center. Although not in the city center, it is easily accessible through the excellent transportation service in Amsterdam, within 10-15 minutes.

I wish you safe travels and if you would like to share more with us, please, feel free to write me directly.

All the best,
citizenDiego
@citizenM.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

GO GO GO, just got back from a weekend in this hotel.
after check in we got in the lifted and it got stuck the firemen had to come and help us out the staff did there up most to help us stay calm and after our little drama we had free drinks for compensation :-) As for the hotel itself its just so nice clean and the staff are always happy to help, we will be going back you feel so welcome, Please go I no you will love it.

Regards Kirstie

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rfuturo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

I don't have much to add to the other great reviews. This is a great hotel at a good price. The cherry on the cake was the service including the fact I left my eye glasses in my room and they found them, kept them and helped me arrange to have them shipped back to me.

The food offering downstairs is also quite good and 24 hours! We made use of that for late snacks which was great!

Only negative point is that is localted south of center but AMS is tiny!

Very friendly staff and great service

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

My husband and 2 teenagers loved the concept of this very trendy hotel. The bed was amazing and even though the hotel is a short tram ride into the heart of the city it didn't detract one moment from a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Central Amsterdam on Beethovenstraat this hip Netherlands hotel offers affordable luxury for budget travelers, lodging near museums, free Wi-Fi, movies on demand, and 24/7 on-site dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Venere, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage citizenM Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.