We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish, affordable hotel with easy access to central Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added citizenM Amsterdam to your Saves list
citizenM Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
always our best rate
Ranked #36 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Stylish, affordable hotel with easy access to central Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

I'm a big fan of slightly unusual hotels, and this one fitted the bill perfectly when I was researching a 1-night city break to Amsterdam.

The check-in process was a simple case of using one of the self-service touchscreen terminals and programming your own room key(s). From there it was up to the room.

Wow! I knew it was going to be compact, but it was exactly as I had imagined - small but practical, funky and modern. We were impressed and had a good play with the remote control mood lighting, window blind etc. The free WiFi and movies (including porn) was a nice touch - not something I've experienced before (even in more expensive hotels - I never understand why they can't include free Internet!).

The bed was superb - very large and incredibly comfortable. The bed linnen was simple and elegant, and ensured a good night's sleep after a long day exploring the City.

The communial areas of the hotel were very nicely styled with comfy seating areas and TVs to watch etc. Free-to-use Apple iMacs for Internet browsing. The 24h bar/restaurant was a nice touch, although we didn't really use it - preferring to eat out for our meals.

There is a tram stop almost immediately outside the hotel - we used it several times to get back into the centre. A number 5 tram took around 15-20 mins to get to Central Station, and we had an All-in-One travel ticket which made this easy (just swipe on, swipe off etc).

For the money, this hotel was superb value and highly recommended to anyone visiting Amsterdam for a night or two.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,773
    1,120
    230
    67
    38
See reviews for
158
1,612
284
679
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
East Lansing, MI
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

The CitizenM in Amsterdam is on the cutting edge. The #5 tram from the train station delivered us right next to the hotel. The staff was very helpful and advised us that we could leave our bags or wait 15 minutes to check-in. We appreciated the tip!

The Hotel self-service restaurant/grocery was reasonable. Our room was very clean and trendy. The bed was one of the most comfortable beds that I have ever slept in.

CitizenM is a fun experience and a good value. Give it a try!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

I stayed for 9 nights, primarily while I attended a conference at the nearby RAI center, but also for some sightseeing. In terms of it's location, it is very conveniently located if you have to get to the RAI center and very easy to get to from the airport by train. On the other hand, while it is on the no. 5 tram line, it is a bit of a haul into the more interesting neighborhoods in Amsterdam. There aren't too many bars and restaurants in the immediate vicinity, but 15 minutes walk to the north (or a three-stop tram ride), there are a number of options.

The design hotel is very well thought out. As most of the reviews point out, the rooms are tiny, so don't expect to loiter (including to do work) in your room. However, the first floor of the hotel--which is more than a lobby, really--is very comfortable and has lots of space to work, including a large conference table that you could use to meet with colleagues. In fact, I observed people from the surrounding neighborhood meeting friends over a coffee or drink in the lobby/bar/workspace on the first floor,on at least two occasions.

As to the in room technology, I did find it a bit flaky. Often it took a while to "connect" to the room, which makes it a bit difficult to channel surf... of more consequence is the fact that of six mornings using the alarm, it only woke me once. The first morning, it worked like a charm--waking me with a very distinctive jungle sound and turning on the lights. After the first failure (lights but no alarm sound) the following day, I set my phone as a back-up.

My final tip: skip the breakfast. If you just want a coffee and a croissant or yogurt, you'll save at least 3 euro every morning buying them separately from the bar (or elsewhere).

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

This is possibly the best Hotel experience I've ever had in my life. Very little I've found so cole to my needs. I am a person that travels abroad every week and of very practical needs.

I don't care about unnecessary and overpriced facilities in a hotel.

I got all I wanted:

- Fast and Fun self check in with computers at the entrance as well as burn your own hotel card
- Special on Foursqure with a drink on the house
- Wifi, Macs, plugs, Flat TVs eveywhere and actual tables where you can work on in the lobby
- Themed lights in the room plus amazing choice of free movies
- amazing and relaxing shower
- possibly one of the most comfortable beds I've slept on.
- one of the best coffees I've had in a hotel. Plus great 24/7 food avaiability

Things I would improve:
- my spouse tells me some level of room service would be nice
- Air con needs some tweaking. It can be cold at night
- Some sauna/gym would be great - just saying

Communication, design and personality of the hotel are among the most entertaining. Better than HardRock Hotel or Disneyland Resorts when you are a kid.

If you care for being in the centre of the city (pretty much useless in a city where you can be everywhere in 15 mins), better navigate in other hotels.

My top spot for business/leisure travel in Europe and best value for money alternative

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

Stayed here recently whilst at a conference at the RAI. Great location for RAI, nice room but would be small for two people. Very clean, great big comfortable bed, and very quiet, slept very soundly. The shower is good, and quite cool being in the middle of the room. Great selection of TV/movies on demand if you have any spare time. Easy tram ride into the city centre, but keep you out of the hussel and bustle of the touristy areas unless you want to be there.
A few problems, needed more hangers for clothes and room was too cold even at max temp. High tech touch pad could be a little temperamental and no way to over ride it if not working, so had a shower in darkness one morning. But overall would recommend this as a very good hotel and good value.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

We stayed in 7 beds in 2 weeks, and this was by far the best! Possibly even better than ours at home. It was perfect for us. Very cool hotel! We do wish it was a tad bit closer to the the city central, but enjoyed seeing the outside of the city to see get a better feel of Amsterdam.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

Very nice design hotel just next to airport. Clean well decorated and funny rooms and friendly staff. Breakfast is served in a paper bag and it cost 9 euros. It's a suprise bag with a bottle of juice, one apple, baguette and some yoghurt. Nice lobby bar where you can buy some food and drinks, free internet.

Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#24 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Amsterdam on Prinses Irenestraat just ten minutes from city center, citizenM Amsterdam boasts 215 luxuriously appointed rooms at an affordable rate. A perfect spot for a cultural excursion or quick business trip, enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, 24/7 on-site dining and cocktailing at canteenM, contemporary living rooms decked out in iconic Vitra furniture and a prolific MENDO library collection. Be sure to try out the hi-tech MoodPad tablet to control your room amenities like mood lighting and temperature, power rain shower, or sprawl out on the XL king-size bed with upscale Italian linens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage citizenM Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.