We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best nights sleep ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added citizenM Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
citizenM Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Become a citizen!
Ranked #34 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best nights sleep ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

Loved this Hotel! Perfect for any traveler who likes luxury without intimacy. Sometimes boutique hotels are a little boutique and you have to do all the chit chat. Not here. If you want to you could manage to check in and check out without talking to a single soul. Its right across from the tram stop 10 minutes from the city centre. the rooms are practical, amazing showers, the beds are heavenly with free wifi, loads of free films on demand, and cool bar / cafe open throughout the night, where you can get anything from sushi to prosecco. Lots of lovely people hanging about. I could live at CitizenM.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,648 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,437
    930
    191
    57
    33
See reviews for
123
1360
236
551
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

We stayed here overnight, before we returned back to Canada, this past June. It was the MOST interesting place we had ever stayed in. I found this place on the internet and was glad we decided to stay here. The whole place was extremely clean, quiet and we had a great over-night stay. We had traveled for a month throughout Europe with our 9-y-o son and this was our last night, as we had to check in early for our flight the next morning. The rooms are extremely small, but then they are meant only for sleeping, right? There was a king sized bed, big enough for 3 to sleep comfortably and two carts with our luggage just fit. They even had bed-buddies for young children!. Our son had fun playing witgh the mood pad and trying to figure out how everything worked. He really liked the changing colors in the toilet stall and shower stall. We were less than a 10-minute walk to the airport in the morning with our two luggage carts, which was very convenient.

We would definetely stay here again and recommend it to anyone wanting to stay close to the airport!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2010 via mobile

This really is a unique hotel, it has a quirky yet functional design and the comfiest and biggest bed i have ever slept in. Its location is convenient for both the airport and the city. Only two issues: the food in the 'canteen' is way overpriced and the moodpad in the room was extremely temperamental, which made simple things such as watching tv very difficult and sometimes annoying.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

A hotel with a difference but we loved it. Not too near the centre but easy to get to - worth the travelling in my opinion. The ambassadors were lovely and very helpful. The rooms and beds were stunning - really good fun design. The only thing I would not bother with again is the breakfast which was okay but next time I would just get a coffee then head off to a cafe.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

we choose this hotel for its location and the nice futuristic look.
we (2 mature couples)stayed for 2 nights,and being on a long trip, arrived with a lot of luggage.
The room is a converted container,and although very cleverly converted,there is no space to move or even open your suitcase.
The biggest problem was the dust and a smell of fungus.Being there on very rainy days ,the humidity stayed in the room . there was no ventilation whatsoever .no possibilty to open a window . The 4 of us all suffered from allergies (sneezing and coughing ) . After complaining to the housekeeping they really tried to help by cleaning the deckbed and changing the molton, alas without much success.
There is one more problem although not directly related to the Hotel . It is very difficult to find a parking space, because on all streets you have to pay ( about Euro 3.- per hr between 9am-9pm)
and most of the coin automats are out of order !!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelexpertAmsterdam, social media citizen at citizenM Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 10, 2010
Hi citizen ‘dieuwke’,

Thank you for sharing your review on Trip Advisor and with us. Although citizenM offers a different concept from all other hotels out there, the experience you had is not the one we want our citizens to have.

The award-winning citizenM room was designed to give you an affordable luxury. Not a container itself but container sized (14sq m), the room is completely isolated and sound-proof, modular to decrease the construction time and is environmental responsible by reducing emissions, it was built in a factory off-site. In a small size, we added the maximum of comfort you need for a price you are willing to pay. It offers a XL king-size bed, power rain shower, free Wifi, free movies on demand on a large LCD TV and few more surprises. A large samsonite suitcase, open, can be stored in the drawer under the bed, or 2 smaller ones, closed.

We are very proud of our satisfaction regarding the cleanliness of the rooms. We take this issue very serious as rooms must be sparkling clean. HK is informed about your issue to prevent from happening in the future.

Amsterdam isn’t one of the most parking friendly cities however there are few options. Street parking in front of the hotel costs 21 EUR/day, Sunday is free. Ambassadors can assist with directions to options of 6 EUR per 24 hours. Same information can also be found in our website.

All the best,
citizenDiego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

We had booked and pre paid (non flexible) for four nights. As our plans had changed a few days before we travelled they were kind enough, even though it was against policy, to change our dates by a day for the stay, charging us only the difference in room rate, rather than writing off one of the days as the website states they will. As a first time booker with them I thought this was exceptionally helpful. I can only imagine that they had the space available to help us and were able to be generous, but nevertheless, we were really impressed that they were so accommodating.
The hotel is great. We're not the most conventional people so the little touches like the mood pad, the "tubes" in which you shower and toilet, and the Macs available on reception, to the art book collections (and the saucy poster by the lifts - don't view if you're a prude!) and the really high end free shower gel/shampoo all made us feel that we were somewhere that understood the kind of travellers we are.
The staff in the hotel were exceptionally helpful and friendly, and nice to chat to.
The room was lovely, with the bed so comfortable that we spent one whole day not moving from it, watching the range of free high end movies. To add to earlier comments, we didn't stumble over any "adult" content, although others seem to have found it freely accessible. However on the first page for the movies you have an option to block so that couldn't be easier.
The other thing I'd mention is that yes, you can see each other on the loo, but you have a curtain to pull across from the bed to shield the rest of the room, and if you really want a bit more privacy, the lobby loos are the cleanest and nicest smelling public loos I've ever encountered.
I would be back there in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

I really liked this hotel, but my husband thought it was too much form over function (i.e. he couldn't get the TV to work and missed the football). The bedroom is very small, but the bed is very comfortable (and huge). There is no disturbance from outside noise. The shower is good, but if you like a bit of privacy, the in room pod toilet might be a bit dodgy. The public areas have beautiful classic design furnishings by Ray and Charles Eames. The staff are very friendly and helpful. It is very easy to get to from Schipol and it's a nice walk to the centre of the city in about 40mins.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#23 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#32 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Central Amsterdam on Beethovenstraat this hip Netherlands hotel offers affordable luxury for budget travelers, lodging near museums, free Wi-Fi, movies on demand, and 24/7 on-site dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotel.de, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage citizenM Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.