We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you are looking for a modern hotel, stunning rooms and a short journey to the city centre then this htel is for you!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added citizenM Amsterdam to your Saves list
citizenM Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Become a citizen!
Ranked #35 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“If you are looking for a modern hotel, stunning rooms and a short journey to the city centre then this htel is for you!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2010

My partner and I stayed at Citizen M in June 2010 and were pleasently surprised when we arrived. From the outside you would not think it was a new modern hotel as it looks very much like an apartment block, but when you enter you are greeted by a modern, fashionable hotel. The decor is very uptodate with inventive designs in each room. The Mood pad is great! This enables you to change the mood lighting in the room, amend music, TV and even close your blinds without having to get up off the luxurious King Size Bed.

If you are a little shy then be aware of the toilet and shower. They are intergrated within the rooms as glass cyclinders which are frosted but you can still see the outline of the person showering or going to the toilet.

The room was always clean and they even have a handy safe in the room for storing valuable items while you are away from your room. The staff were very friendly and were always happy to help us. The food however was a little limited and we found alot of Sushi in the fridges so if you dont like raw fish you are better off going out to eat as we did.

The tram to the city centre is just across the road and Tram 5 takes you to the centre of town within 10 minutes for only 2.60 euros. Beware the trams can get full and can even break down as we unfortunately discovered! :-(

Overall the hotel was great to stay in as we prefered being a little out of the city centre as it was much quieter but still had a good location as the Zuid Train station was just a 2 minute walk away and there was even a nice quiet canal nearby which we sat by and watched the world go by.

The hotel is good value for money, very clean, polite staff and we loved the privacy of the rooms and modern furnishings....it reminded me of Ikea mixed with the Big Brother house lol. We will definitely be staying there again on our travels to Amsterdam....excellent hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,492
    964
    200
    58
    36
See reviews for
126
1,406
245
579
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

You should stay at CitizenM hotel just for the experience, it is awesome, the rooms are so cool, and the bed is magnificently large and doubles as your sofa. We stayed here the night before we flew out from Amsterdam, as it is nice and close to the airport. We stayed somewhere else while we were sightseeing around the city as CitizenM is not that close to the city - but in saying that there are not many good places to stay right in the centre of Amsterdam and if we could do it over again we would have stayed at CitizenM for our whole trip - its fantastic and the staff are second to none. Thanks CitizenM - you should bring your hotels to every major city in the world!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010

We were really looking forward to this hotel. So many fantastic reviews etc and the technology in the room sounded great! And i guess the technology WAS great when it actually worked. Most of the time we spent waiting for the "mood pad" to "connect" so we could open or close the curtain! Very frustrating!! Check in and out was simple and easy. The house keeping could be improved. We had an accidental spill on our bed (just got the sheet - but was very obvious) and we would of thought that house keeping would have changed the sheet but we had come back to our room at 11pm and there it was staring us in the face! We broached it with a slightly hostile staff member which made us feel like we were being the most difficult guests in the world! They did end up changing it for us, but very grudgingly.
The tram is pretty much outside the door so it is quick and easy to get in and out of the city (about 10mins) or you have the train a few minutes walk away. We walked from the train with out roller luggage and it was fine.
I definitely would not recommend this hotel if you are not in a couple and cant handle seeing your partner pee or worse. Individual privacy in this room is impossible.
I don't think i would stay here again on my next trip to Amsterdam - i would try somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

It started with the reservation booked a room for 1.5 euro per nite which they refused to honor

than in middle of night fire alarm people smoke in room ok i understand it is amsterdam, they only fined them 150 euro

but than 3 times more false alarm, the guy in loblly panic in his eyes as he say system is broken we called technician so sorry so sorry

stayed here as I had to wake up at 7 as i had an early flight should have stayed on street would have been better

loved the citizenM before but today was a disaster

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelexpertAmsterdam, Manager at citizenM Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 23, 2010
Dear Adriaan,

Fire safety is off the highest standard at citizenM. Since our concept is designed in a new way we have been held against the strongest regulations possible.
No staff member can override firealarms when they go off, this is for everyone's safety.

We contacted you straight away for the 43 nights reservations at 1.43 euro per night (rather than the 79 euro stay for 1 night) and you got refunded the difference in less than 24 hours. Your threats to go to court to fight us on this, and physical violence that you displayed towards the hotel would make a lot of companies not doing this.

I am not going into the other details of your review as we have exchanged enough emails between hotel manager and yourself, but seeing your other reviews I understand that lots of other respected hotel companies have not matched your expectations.

citizenM is a young company that tries to do business in a different, worldly and friendly way, and as a team we are all disappointed that you left the hotel unhappy without seeing the real citizenM experience.

citizen Lennert
Director @ citizenM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

To all people, planning to travel to Amsterdam... CitizenM is a brilliant hotel.. Loved the bed specially n the mood pad they have.. However, the idea of havong the wash basin almost next to my bed was not too pleasing.. Especially in the mornings..

All in all, an impressive layout.. It deserves to be called as the Trendiest Hotel for the use of technology in every sphere possible.

Last point - The place is based outside the main city of Amsterdam.. Though, this should not discourage those who seek ambience.. As the place is very accesible through trams.. So it is well connected..

Hope this review helps you.. I had a great time and considered it important to pass on the word..

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

Rooms are smallish but well designed and equipped, clean and comfortable. Very good lobby / lounge area for relaxing or working. Brilliant service from friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petah Tikva
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2010

i`v been to the CitizenM hotel for 3 days, its been a wonderfull expirience, the Tram #5 to DAM Square is less then a minute walk. the room itself has AC which is very important, and the showers are simply cool and funny, i had a great time, the staff was very kind and very polite, giving us a true home feeling. i defently recommend this hotel by all means. do notice the room is kinda small (but very fullfilling) and theres a "secret" compartment under the bed you can store 2 large suitcases.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#23 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#24 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Central Amsterdam on Beethovenstraat this hip Netherlands hotel offers affordable luxury for budget travelers, lodging near museums, free Wi-Fi, movies on demand, and 24/7 on-site dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage citizenM Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.