We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard high-design with comfort problems” 3 of 5 stars
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added citizenM Amsterdam to your Saves list
citizenM Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Become a citizen!
Ranked #35 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Standard high-design with comfort problems”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2010

You walk into this room and laugh a little. There are two Star Trek-like columns, round areas with glass doors that slide open and closed. One is the toilet, the other the shower. That takes up the first half of the room. The second half is too small side tables and a big bed with drawers. As is often the case in these spiffy hotels:

* There is no place to rest your luggage
* There is little space to place your toiletries (though there is a narrow rack next to the sink)
* There is no closet
* There are few hangers

There _is_ a large drawer under the bed, but you still have no convenient place to leave your suitcase, and you still feel too tightly enclosed when you sit on the toilet. At least those doors are frosted; you'll be giving a show if you share the room and shower, though since the bed is a huge mattress at the back, you'll be sharing it with an intimate in any event.

The croissant with breakfast was terrible and the yogurt was commercial, not the delicious yogurt with granola and fruit I had at another Dutch hotel earlier, so I would certainly not eat here.

I really found I liked the neighborhood just a little closer to downtown from this place, so I didn't find the tram ride a disadvantage, in fact I was glad to have the chance to see the nicely designed apartment buildings and pleasant residential district to counteract the sense of cramped craziness that Amsterdam has that often feels excessive. You see parts of the city that are not only interesting, but possible to consider contemporary and livable.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,493
    968
    201
    58
    36
See reviews for
127
1,407
245
581
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Altos, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2010

This hotel is totally different from other hotels at least I've experienced. The first thing to remember is it is a BUDGET HOTEL, and the second it is "trendy". That means while it has many things that other hotels don't like super cheap calls to other countries (using VOIP system), theme lighting, free movies, free wifi, computer check-in/out, beautiful lounge, reasonably priced cafe, etc., it doesn't have things that other hotels offer such as lotions, wash clothes, cottons, pens and papers, etc. The rooms are super super small and that made it uncomfortable to walk around but it was uniquely designed. Ah, there is no privacy if you happen to be in this room with your friend because they can see you when you go to bathroom or take shower. There is a curtain, but I just don't suggest going to this hotel with someone you are not so comfortable with! Otherwise, worth to try it, it is cheap and completely different.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2010

Initially the place looked small but when I started to Move around in the room, it looked OK.

Neat and Clean Place with very comfortable Bed and Mood Pad.

Nice and helpful staff, great connectivity.....Absolute Value for Money.

Must Stay... I would visit again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010

We stayed for two nights this month whist we were in Amsterdam on a mini-break and visiting friends.
The hotel was rather good. We arrived in a bit of a rush as we were running late to get a to a bicycle tour that we booked, making matters more complicated was the fact that we had forgotten the map to the meeting point! The reception helped out by printing one off for us and also giving us one of their free maps (very very basic – they have ones for sale there but you are better off stopping at the tourist information centre in the airport and buying one there along with combined train and tram tickets!), along with storing our luggage – did make me wondering when they said that you can’t check in yet as it is too early, however for 19.95 they can . . . and I work in hotels!!
The room was as it is on the website, maybe slightly smaller and you definitely have to know and like the person you are sharing the room with . . . .
The lounge areas where great and you felt really comfortable sitting there for drinks or a bite to eat, the books were entertaining, and the free wifi was a bonus.
Mood pad was fun for about 5 minutes then its battery would die and you had to recharge.
My only niggle would be is that we pre-paid for breakfast and this was fine (yoghurt and muesli with a piece of fruit, croissant and a juice), however I do expect a hot beverage to be part of my breakfast, so was rather surprised to have to pay for this, especially considering the way it was explained to us, and the fact that I now checked, and this is meant to be included . . . . oh well.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelexpertAmsterdam, social media citizen at citizenM Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 16, 2010
Hi “Mshells”,

Glad you had a good stay and thanks for sharing it here on TripAdvisor.

Replying on some of your concerns:
Check-in time is 2PM however, upon availability, is our policy to apply 19.95 EUR for an early check-in. Extra HK personnel is needed to clean rooms to be available at an earlier time. But we are not strict, arriving a little while before, let’s say 1 or 2 hours, you may check-in free of charge. We think it’s fair to apply the charge for citizens who need to check-in early. Wishing to wait for a check-in, we store your luggage safely and there is plenty of space in the lobby to wait and relax, there is free wi-fi and free computers, canteenM with quality food and drinks ready available, many LCD tvs…

We are working to improve battery life of the Moodpad, which can be charged next to the bed.

I apologize if was any miscommunication, hot beverage is included in the breakfast special. Prepared by the Ambassadors, whom are also baristas, you can have a great espresso, cappuccino, latte, hot chocolate or tea. Seeing you again at citizenM, feel free to contact me directly and I’ll make sure to compensate the wrong charge of the hot beverage.

All the best,
citizenDiego
citizenDiego@citizenM.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, mo
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

This hotel is one of a kind. There is nothing else like this place. The room was great, I loved the mood pad and all the different options that were available to us. The bar and store were great to have so you didn't have to leave the hotel after a long day of walking around the city.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

This hotel is well thought out for those who simply want somewhere to rest their head and sleep whilst on a short break (as we were) The rooms are functional and packed with technology and space saving design to allow for a comfortable stay. The quirky shower and toilet designs are unusual but add to the experience. Everything can be done through the easy to use computers at reception.

Parking in the streets nearby is expensive. The Olympic Stadium nearby (about a mile) offers underground parking and two 1 hour tickets (for up to 2) for the tram into amsterdam. This allows you to get into the city and out again on the 16 or 24 tram. Cost is 6 euros per day, well worth it.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2010

We spend in CitizenM 4 days. It was really wonderful time.
Location of the hotel is very good. In the quiet area, close to the park. Tram nr 5 will take you to the Dam square or to the museums. Transport from the airport takes 8 minutes (to Zuid Station).
Rooms are rather small (there's no place for the clothes) but comfortable. The huge bed, shower and toilet in the fluorescent tubes. No privacy in the room so you have to go there with person who you know really good :)
You have to use the pilot if you want to switch on or switch off tv, light, or to curtain.
Free wifi, lots of films in the room, tasty breakfast, young, cheerful and helpful service and you don't need more.
Well design and friendly hotel!!! The best choice in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#23 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#24 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#32 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Central Amsterdam on Beethovenstraat this hip Netherlands hotel offers affordable luxury for budget travelers, lodging near museums, free Wi-Fi, movies on demand, and 24/7 on-site dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Venere, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage citizenM Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.