We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel! Great value, clean, and modern!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added citizenM Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
citizenM Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinses Irenestraat 30, Amsterdam 1077WX, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #33 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
palo alto, ca, usa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Hotel! Great value, clean, and modern!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2010

I loved my stay at the CitizenM in Amsterdam. The hotel is conv. located near the Amsterdam South Station, merely 10 min by train from the airport, and 15min away from the city center. The hotel is very clean, very modern, and the value is great. The room is a bit small, but all hotel rooms in Europe are small, and I find them adequate for most needs. Besides, you'd probably pay a lot more for a room for a similar size room elsewhere in Amsterdam. The hotel staff is fine, but I didn't interact much with them.

Funny thing was that the room needed some kind of "reboot"ing one morning, so not everything was perfectly smooth, but the TV signal did come back after 10min or so.

I loved my stay for the experience of being in such a modern hotel. I think you will enjoy trying it too. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,382 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,288
    838
    173
    50
    33
See reviews for
103
1229
216
501
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
World
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2010

Even though we stayed for a night, we found this hotel value for money. With all modern facilities, unique room layout, touchpad facilities for all functions; this was an unique and enjoyable experience

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

Very stylish hotel, room is very different but quite good, had some really good sleep.
Loved the free wifi and movies.
Drinks from bar a little expensive.
Only problem we had was our shower flooded on the last day, soaking all our clothes, lucky we were going home!

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2010

I've stayed several times in the Citizenm City Hotel.

First of all I have to say that the pricelevel is very good, the prices vary between 80 and 100 euros excluding breakfast, altough during peektimes prices can rise till 140 euro.
For the location, cleanliness and rooms this is absolute value for money.

The hotel is located in the South of Amsterdam approx. 20 minutes by tram from the real city center, a tramstop is just a few steps away.

Hotelstaff is friendly but in my opinion their skills fluctuate, some staffmembers are very hospitable and friendly while others are unpolite and not trained enough to do their job. Ofcourse this is my personal opinion but with over 120 hotelnights a year and a job in hospitality I know a bit of the hotelworld.

The rooms are all the same, equipt with a very large bed with soft bedsheets, a small table and chair is provided. The shower is supposed to be a rainshower but at Citizenm the showers are always a suprise. Housekeeping should know that they have to decalcify the stuffed waterpipes, in some rooms the shower just provides a very very little amount of water that sprays in all different directions due to the stuffed waterpipes, in other words it's almost impossible to take a decent shower. So two options; make sure there's enough waterpressure or use a normal shower!

At groundlevel guests can use 4 pc's with free internetconnection and enjoy food or drinks in the Citizenm Canteen. The pricelevel in the canteen is in my opinion to high, 0.25 l applejuice, € 3.25, simple Beefsandwich in carton € 5.50...... prices are like the pricelevel you can find at foodoutlets at Schiphol Airport.

Last point of unsatisfaction: Housekeeping please change the toiletpaper after every guest, I don't want to have a few sheets as a leftover from the guest before!!

As a conclusion, why choose for CitizenM?

Good pricelevel, Free Wifi, Free movies, Great Bed en Good Location.
Service and performance can be better, but CitizenM is doing better then most 4-star hotels in Amsterdam!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enschede
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2010

One of the best hotels I ever stayed in. The only thing missing was a place to put your luggage in/on. So all my stuff was lying on the ground. But that is seriously the only negative issue, that wasn't even that big of a deal.

You can not work in your room, but there is (confertable) space enough downstairs. Wireless internet was easy and fast. Shower was like heaven.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerpen
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2010

Do you have a webcam at the office? A weather station at home? A heartrate monitor for the gym? Certainly a GPS in your car? Then you'll love the Citizen M.

But ... like all geeky things, the fun wears off. Fast. Because not everything works perfectly at the Citizen M.

The multipurpose remote (Philips, designed in USA, made in Belgium) depletes its battery amazingly fast and when it goes into standby (after a minute or so detached from the cradle) it loses connection with your room. Yes your entire room. Takes a while for the remote to find which room it's in. And when it does determine its location, it's still sluggish. Lights, blinds, TV channels ... all take a while to respond to remote control commands. Makes you wonder "Did I push the touch-screen?" So you touch again and everything toggles back to your point of departure, not destination.

I would recommend this hotel to a geek friend. Gladly. But never to non-techies. That would be cruel.

Bad aftertaste issue: The lady who "helped" check us in messed up the self-serve kiosk, and we had to wait several minutes for our room keys. Funny thing is, she didn't apologize. Untrained and impolite. Not a deal-breaker, but doesn't make me want to go back either.

Location: 4.8 km (3.0 miles) from Amsterdam Central station. Tram recommended. No restaurants or supermarkets to speak of in the vicinity. Grocery shopping is best done at the Albert Heijn supermarket in the basement near the Van Gogh museum right at the tram station. In other words, shop at AH, then take the tram to Citizen M.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelexpertAmsterdam, social media citizen at citizenM Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 17, 2010
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience and reaction on Trip Advisor.

Reading the experience you had with the Moodpad, I have to say that they are being upgraded to a newer version so that you won’t have future issues with them. Rooms are entirely controlled by the device but for the technophobes, there are switches in the wall to control lights and blinds. We also have traditional remote controls available upon request.

The response you had from the Ambassador was not the one we expect, I apologize for them.

The hotel is located in the South of Amsterdam, within 5 minutes walking from the Amsterdam Zuid station, which is 6 minutes away from the Schiphol Airport. As you recommended the tram, the number 5 stops just in front of the hotel and main spots of the city can be easily reached.
There are restaurants close to the hotel within 2, 5 and 7 minutes walking. Cuisines varies from oriental, fusion, steak-house and others. By asking Ambassadors, they will be more than glad to inform all the options around as well as in the city center.

I’ll love continuing this conversation and happy to show you the ideas behind citizenM. If you wish to do so, just drop me an e-mail.

All the best,

citizen Diego
citizenDiego@citizenM.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2010

A really innovative way to create a positive impression from a small guest space. It should be a massive success.

The Italian craftsmanship is evident in the shower trays – the coating is peeling off – and if I’m being honest, the moodpad wants binning for a standard telly remote control and a static room control mounted to the wall somewhere in the room. The way it needs to “reconnect to the room” every time you want to change volume on the telly is a right ballache.

The bed is ace, the showers lovely and for short stays it works a treat. The breakfast in a bag doesn’t seem to achieve anything but the nice chilled seating areas and mac workstations are very useful. .

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, Amsterdam 1077WX, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#20 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#34 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Central Amsterdam on Beethovenstraat this hip Netherlands hotel offers affordable luxury for budget travelers, lodging near museums, free Wi-Fi, movies on demand, and 24/7 on-site dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Jetsetter so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage citizenM Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.