We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place For A City Break/New Years Eve” 5 of 5 stars
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added citizenM Amsterdam to your Saves list
citizenM Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #38 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Manchester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Great Place For A City Break/New Years Eve”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010

A train here from Amsterdam airport costs a few Euros and is within walking distance from the hotel. Situated near to the Museum district, the tram stop is just around the corner. The city centre is just 20 min away. Room really does bring affordable luxury. I was here at the same time as the person who left a poor review. We had one cool shower during our 3 night stay for New Years Eve. Technology in room was fine too.

One thing worth mentioning about Amsterdam, public transpost stops at 8pm on New Years Eve. Taxis are extortionate! Plan your evening wisely and don't waste money on a ticket you can't use.

Would stay here again and hope they biuld more in other cities.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,888
    1,191
    244
    68
    39
See reviews for
177
1,714
301
707
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (466)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010

I have just returned from my 4 night stay at the CitizenM hotel in Amsterdam, you can't go wrong if you stay here. Me and my boyfriend chose this hotel because we wanted something a little different, so after seeing all the pictures and reading the reviews we knew we had made a good choice. The location is perfect if you don't want to stay right in the city centre, the number 5 tram is so frequent and a 1 minute walk from the hotel. The room is lovely - and the bed is by far the biggest and most comfortable bed I have ever had the pleasure of sleeping on! The moonpad control is good, although I will admit my boyfriend was a lot better at using it then me.....needless to say the choice of films and free adult movies are a nice touch! Combine this with the shower & toilet situation you have got a perfect room for a dirty weekend away ;-)
I really looked forward to coming back to the hotel after a long day / night out in Amsterdam, its more then just a place to rest your head at night.
The only thing I wasn't fussed with was the canteen, there wasn't much choice and it was way too expensive but you are in Amsterdam and I guess you don't mind paying extra for the convenience. We brought 'Wok and Walk' (excellent noodle takeaway which is worth a mention) noodles back to the hotel and the staff were happy for us to use the microwaves to heat them up so it's not too bad.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010

We travelled to Amsterdam for New Years Eve and stayed one night at the Citizen M hotel. The Hotel is about 20 mins train/drive away from Airport and the Centre. The best way to get around is on tram which is a couple of euro. We arrived around 10.30am after an early morning flight. The hotel has a self check in service, which is fantastic and really easy to use. There is also the option to check in early (normal check in is 14.00) for 19.95 euros. But be aware there is a 5% city tax fee added onto your bill when you check in (whichever time). The rooms are....different..! The toilet and shower is in the middle of the room in a glass tube looking thing. The shower was lovely, one of those 'rain' showers, and turns on/off when you close/open the doors. The toilet - if your a new couple, I wouln't recommend as you can hear everything and pretty much see whoever is sat on the loo too, not very romantic! The shower however is quite nice!! There are loos in the foyer downstairs though so make use of those maybe! The bed is AMAZING, I had the best nights sleep haviong the extra room with my partner and had the worst nights sleep when I got home! The rooms have different lighting sequences which you can alter depending on what your up to ;-) There is also electric blinds and black out blinds which can be operated via switch on the wall or through the 'room' remote control. The room remote control covers lights, temperature and the tv with lots of channels to scan through, even free adult films which my boyfriend found very quickly....The room temperature - it takes a while for the temperature to adjust from hot to cold and vice versa. Depending on time of year I would wack the heating up before you go out and turn down to halfway when you get back so it's nice and warm when you get back and you won't wake up during the night with a mouth like the desert! The room does make a lot or 'cracking' noises though when it's heating up, think this is just the plastic/wood expanding but it woke me up! There is shampoo, conditioner and soap provided along with a hairdryer and towels. All in all a great little hotel with very friendly staff and a canteen downstairs stacked with every food and drink you can think of. There is also free internet and printing which came in handy for us printing off our boarding cards for the flight back home (online check in).

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

The CitizenM concept works well for an airport hotel, where you only stay for 1 night and don't unpack your bags. It works less well as a city hotel though. The Amsterdam city CitizenM is far from the centre (though with good transport links), rooms are tiny and with no wardrobe for clothes, no tea or coffee in the room, and breakfast is a joke. It's not for older people or for children, but if you are a young trendy single person or couple, and not staying too long, you could love it. Positive points are the massive choice of free films, free WiFi in rooms and computers in the lobby, cheap international phone calls (VOIP rates), computerised check-in and check-out, and the wonderful lobby area (best I've ever seen in a hotel, bar none). When in the rooms, you basically have to live on the bed, and when one person has a shower the other one cannot help seeing (clearly aimed at hot young couples). The novelty of the high-tech gadgetry wears off after one day (or when it fails to work, whichever is the earlier). Rooms are basically washrooms with a bed in, very cleverly saving space to pack more rooms into the hotel. For chilling out you have to go to the lobby, with very comfortable sofas and 2 or 3 TVs. I liked my stay, but now I've been there, done that, and I'll stay somewhere more central in A'dam next time (unless I'm with someone I particularly want to watch in the shower ;-).

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-upon-Tyne
Level Contributor
113 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

Just returned from a fab New Year break to Amsterdam. We loved the hotel and personally would stay there again. We had no prblems at all. Yes the rooms are compact but when you book you are well aware of this!! ( lady from Germany!). The pods are a great idea and my husband loved the gadgets to control the lights, mood etc. The bed is huge and fantastic, we had 3 great nights sleep. The hotel is in a great location for transport into the city - tram 5 right outside the door and 24 / 16 drop you further down the road. We didnt realise that we could take a 5 minute train journey from Schipol to the area across from the hotel (this would have saved us going into the city on day one). The station is called Amsterdam Zuid. We also found a coffee shop and Wagammama restaurant in this area beside the train station ( ask at the hoterl for directions).

The hotel is a great find and so easy to get in/out of the city. We walked a few times and it took about 40 minutes.

Definitely going back.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

The technology exists, but doesn't really work. From arrival my room was plagued by problems, requiring the staff to reboot the system several times. Television wouldn't work, then window controls, temperatures plummet, lights would go on and off at will. The room temperature would drop considerably, especially at night, but nothing could be done since the staff informed me the room sensors indicated the room was warm despite the cold wind blowing across the bed. The touch pad controls were finicky and tempermental, and top the whole thing off with 4 days of NO hot water, despite assurances from the staff each day the problem had been fixed. Some of the staff tries hard, others seemed tired and indifferent, the location is terrific and the bed is spacious, but there were far too many problems for me to recommend the hotel. I had looked forward to this stay.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2010

Boutique style hotel. Don't be bothered with formal check-in and so on. friendly assistance for e-checkin. Great room, with shower en toilet quit centrally, but nicely hidden when needed. Nice Kingsize bed with crisp linnen. Will come back when in Amsterdam.

Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
1.7 mi away
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
3.3 mi away
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
1.9 mi away
Hotel Casa 400
Hotel Casa 400
#62 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
#18 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 678 reviews
3.5 mi away
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Couture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#28 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#28 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Amsterdam on Prinses Irenestraat just ten minutes from city center, citizenM Amsterdam boasts 215 luxuriously appointed rooms at an affordable rate. A perfect spot for a cultural excursion or quick business trip, enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, 24/7 on-site dining and cocktailing at canteenM, contemporary living rooms decked out in iconic Vitra furniture and a prolific MENDO library collection. Be sure to try out the hi-tech MoodPad tablet to control your room amenities like mood lighting and temperature, power rain shower, or sprawl out on the XL king-size bed with upscale Italian linens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage citizenM Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.