We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added citizenM Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
citizenM Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Become a citizen!
Ranked #34 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Scotland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Budget luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2009

The hotel is a pleasant fifteen minute tramride from the city centre, and in a pleasant, quiet area. The shower and toilets are in (frosted glass) view of the rest of the room so wouldn't suit travelling companions who aren't prepared for that. But the comfortable beds, tellys (all major BBC channels are included), music and stylish lobby make this a great base from which to explore. And the helpful staff meant the process never felt too automatic. Great value, different and closer to luxury than many more traditional hotels achieve.

Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,458
    949
    194
    58
    34
See reviews for
125
1382
239
561
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2009

If u search for something fresh,modern,minimal,design,stylish and don't want to spend a fortune,u're in the right place....!!The staff is great,they're always there to help u,to give u tips for the city and they always have a smile on their faces..!The location is good,not in the center of the city,but the tram takes u there in 10 minutes.There is also the train station 2 minutes walk from the hotel.The rooms are not huge but the bed is giving u the best sleep of your life ever...!!!I would love to take it with me if i could...:P
I suggest the Citizen M to all young people who want stylish accomodation in reasonable prices...THANK U CITIZEN M!!!!(Thank u Eva & George)!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alicante
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2009

perfect hotel,i dont know what to write also,just imagine what is perfect,and then feel something more then that imagination,thats CitizenM Amsterdam CityHotel

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2009

This place was amazing!! The bed was huge and really confortable, the room was clean and it was fun to take a shower and choose the color of the light atmosphere. I would have like to have a place to plug my ipod, because the musical choice was not that great, but it is my only concern. Well, a bit expensive, but I assume those are the prices in Amsterdam. It is a bit far from the center, but it is easily accessible by tram. You can access internet on mac computers in the hall, and in the contrary of things I've read about the staff, they were all really nice!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2009

This hotel is expensive impersonal full of litle phrases from CitizenM which enrage you given that there is no charm, little service and lots of attempts to extract extra sums of money. When you check in if you are there an hour or so before 2 pm they ask you for 20 euros for early check in. In a normal hotel if a room is ready they give it to you! The toilet and shower is in the middle of the room. The bed is a platform which would be impractical for two people. Only the tv and the internet were up to standard. If it was cheap it might be an amusing place to spend a night. One last thing you pay in advance!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelexpertAmsterdam, Director of Distribution at citizenM Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 23, 2009
Dear John,

Your review of your stay at citizenM surprised us a bit.
At citizenM we provide free Wifi and free movies, services that a lot of hotels charge for.
Our check in time is 2 pm, and only for check ins prior to 12 noon we charge 19.95 euro.

In our booking process and online process we work with a lot of visuals to make sure one understands what citizenM is, and looking at your review it seems that you were surprised by the design of our room?

We have a 2 meter by 2.20 meter bed from wall to wall and yes, our shower and bathroom cylinders have a bit of a different layout than you are used to.
Most people that visit us appraise this design but unfortunately it seemed not your cup of tea, which is perfectly fine of course.

There are a lot of things other hotels might do or not do, but we did not invent citizenM to be a clone of the current offering in the hotel industry.
Our mission is to provide a great bed, good shower, free movie and wifi, and a nice sense of design for a price that beats most of the offerings out there, any time.

All the best, Lennert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2009

CitizenM was amazing! One of the trendiest, most comfortable places i've stayed! the bed was huge and SO comfortable it was difficult to get out of bed in the morning. the pods with shower and toliet were very interesting and surprisingly functional. the mood pad was fun - you could change the temperature, lights, tv, music , everything from one little device. the location was great - right next to the train and tram. the common areas were big and comfy and there was a lounge area with coffee and food open what seemed like 24/7. stay here! i highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2009

We have got back from Amsterdam today and it was absoluty brilliant- the hotel was the best and made our holiday.
Before travelling i was a little worried about the location but its fine - you get to see other parts of amsterdam which we proberly wouldnt have seen if staying in the centre.
The free tram service is brilliant - the tram stops just to left of the hotel which come passed every 10 mins .
The shower, bed, pillows,hairdryer,T.V,lights,coffee andP.C's are all absoluty brilliant i wanna go back to Amsterdam tomorrow and if i did i would def stay at this hotel again !!!! I do not no how anyone can moan about this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#23 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#23 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Central Amsterdam on Beethovenstraat this hip Netherlands hotel offers affordable luxury for budget travelers, lodging near museums, free Wi-Fi, movies on demand, and 24/7 on-site dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HotelsNL and Jetsetter so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage citizenM Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.