We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel just outside the hart of the city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added citizenM Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
citizenM Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Become a citizen!
Ranked #34 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
rotterdam
1 review
“Excellent hotel just outside the hart of the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

The Citizen M hotel is modern and has a relaxed atmosphere. The design rooms are a real experience. You can choose the colors of the light and the mood of the room. The staff is very helpfull and friendly. Checking in and out trough the computers is rapid and easily and there are always enough staff members to help if you have any questions. The room was very clean and the best of all was the excellent bed. The best bed I have ever slept on in a hotel ( and I have tried many). A great place to stay just outside the hart of the city in the business area of Amsterdam. You can reach it very easily and quick by public transport. The hotel only does not have it's owne carparking, you need to park your car in the public area what is expencieve. I recommened to park your car in a P+R near by.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,649 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,437
    930
    191
    58
    33
See reviews for
124
1359
236
551
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Carcavelos, Portugal
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2009

I spent 5 nights in this hotel in vacation with my boyfriend. The hotel is a bit far from the center of the city, but there's a Tram just in front of the hotel that takes you to the center in 15 minutes. We liked the location because it was very quiet and calm place. The first day didn't start very well, the rooms were great and we loved the design, big bed, everything, but at night we started to get very cold and discovered that the air conditioning couldn't be turned off. The first time we complain to the staff, they said the air would turn off at night, so we waited, but it didn't happen, next time we complain to other member of the staff that went to the room, but did nothing to help too. Finally the third person we talked to - Miguel - the salvation of the night, finally discover the air conditioning was broke, and let us go to another room that was much better. Then the rest of the nights went very good. Although we would prefer on/off system for the air.
We loved the iMacs with free internet and all the designer chairs and design books! The breakfast was simple but very good (see my photos) and you could eat it at any hour. Overall we liked the original and modern concept of this hotel, and the staff was nice in general, a special thanks to Miguel, that was so kind and helpful and really patient with our requests! Next time we must try your cocktails!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

Having been a year ago to the Citizen M at Schiphol Airport I decided to try this new one in the center as well, this time together with my wife.
Have to say the concept is still truly amazing, and the beds are great for a fun night ... know what I mean, nudge nudge.
Location is perfect, we went shopping in Beethovenstraat on foot and took the tramway to Bijenkorf, all within a hundred meters from the hotel.
Great staff with lots of attention to detail.
Will come again !

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

This hotel is a triumph of concept over design and practicality.
There are many good things about the hotel - most importantly it was very clean. Also, the bed was comfortable, there is food and drink on sale in the lobby all day and night, the staff were friendly, check in and out is automated (self-service) and there is a good work area in the Lobby with free internet access.
However the rooms are small and lack some traditional basics such as wardrobe, drawers and desks. There is no space to unpack. If you are there on business you will need to work in the lobby - this is pleasant enough, but I would prefer to work in the privacy of my rooms. None of these issues are that difficult to cope with and you can find a way of adapting to manage around them.
The biggest issue is the lack of a bathroom. The bedroom contains a shower cubicle that is clear glass - there is a curtain to stop anyone in bed seeing you, but is is fairly transparent and so if you are sharing the room you better not mind being looked at by them! Also, the toilet is in a similar cubicle but with frosted glass - again not quite opaque enough as you can still see what is going on in there.
The hotel is very stylised ('Citizen M says Welcome home' as you use your key!) and will not appeal to everyone. I am suprised how many 4 and 5 star reviews have been written.
I am afraid that the lack of traditional facilities (drawers, wardrobe, desk) along with the lack of a distinct bathroom would stop me recommending this to anyone.
If you want to stay there, then please look at the photographs on the web - they are really quite acurate. You can decide if this is the hotel for you based on that.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelexpertAmsterdam, Director of Distribution at citizenM Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 20, 2009
Dear CraighallMK,

Thanks for taking the time to review citizenM.
I believe your review is very accurate and true. citizenM is not the standard hotel room that many people are used to.

citizenM developed a hotel that is luxury but affordable. We accomplished this by saving space, automating certain processes (check in, reservations, restaurant, etc..) and cost of reservations.
At the same time, as you wrote as well, design, usability and luxury are pillars of our brand.

I cannot agree with you more that every mobile citizen should check our pictures and videos on Tripadvisor before booking. It's quite something different!

Hope to see you next time you're in Amsterdam

All the best,

citizen Lennert

PS: we do have a big drawer, under the bed, which easily fits two samsonites, so I'm afraid you missed that? :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Devon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

Trip excellent, however no restaurants near. Went out later one night and nothing oopen in the vicinity. Informed everything shut at ten, which most places normally only open at 9 in Europe. As Hotel quiet a way out of centre, ended up not having anything for dinner and woke up starving the next day.
Room excellent and really good concept, however flooded one morning whilst using the shower. Informed the receptionist after spending 30 mins trying to soak up the water and she apologised and said room would be ready for our return. Got back and room in same state and wet towels still in shower cubicle and no new ones to replace them. After a call waited for a new set, before we could get ready to go out.

Rooms really fun and a change from the normal. Even though loved hotel, would stay near to the centre next time.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado springs
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

I thoroughly loved this hotel. Everything about it. And for those who stay at hotels a great deal, you have NEVER stayed at a hotel like this one. Very cool, hip, clean and comfortable.

And I found the staff very helpful. And the fact that they have food right there 24/7 is nice when you get back late at night are hungry. Tram stops right out front, taking you to anywhere.

I loved it and would certainly stay again, and will encourage all my friends to.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

CitizenM is totally the kind of hotel i want. I've been there the first time beginning of 2009. And after that I didn't boook any other hotel in Amsterdam. The self-service concept is what I want. THe rooms are super. Although I would like to have a table to make better use of the WiFi on my laptop it isn't a big issue as there are plenty of tables downstairs.
Best value for money I've had since years!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#23 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#32 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Central Amsterdam on Beethovenstraat this hip Netherlands hotel offers affordable luxury for budget travelers, lodging near museums, free Wi-Fi, movies on demand, and 24/7 on-site dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage citizenM Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.