We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky, clean and modern” 4 of 5 stars
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added citizenM Amsterdam to your Saves list
citizenM Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #36 of 343 Hotels in Amsterdam
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Quirky, clean and modern”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

A friend of mine booked this hotel for our recent visit to Amsterdam. It is true it is a little way out but there is no better tram line to be on than #5 - took 15 minutes from Central Station to the hotel on tram, and there were regularly trams to and from the hotel throughout the day. Downside is that you can't just walk outside the hotel and go get a drink or something to eat. Upside however is that it is quiet and you get to see a different side of Amsterdam. The hotel dinner options are okay, but not great - they did however fill the void in my stomach when we arrived late. We didn't choose to have breakfast but rather ate breakfast at a place about 10 minutes on the tram called Coffee and Coconut (or something similar). The rooms are exceptionally clean and not run down. I loved the free movies and the bed & pillows were super comfortable. Possibly a little noisy from the electronic shutters but all in all a good option in a town where accommodation is expensive. Oh best beware that they only have have king size beds - no doubles so one must share with your room mate :-)

Room Tip: I would suggest a room at the back and not near the tram line side
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,001 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,639
    1,045
    220
    61
    36
See reviews for
138
1,508
269
636
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

If we fly out of Amsterdam Schiphol airport and need to stay the night, we always sleep here. The glas walls of the toilet and shower mean you have to be very comfortable with your room mate, but otherwise, and despite first impressions you might have, there really aren't any major downsides to the concept. The rooms are small, but the layout has been planned meticulously. The modern design is fun, the beds are great, the automated check-in works well, the staff is nice and the price is good. We must say we never take breakfast. It might not be very conventional: it comes in a paper bag. For the airport, this place is perfect. And while it's a little further out of the city centre, it's well connected there by tram and train and works fine for a quick visit but even for a longer one, especially when room rates rise in Amsterdam centre for high season. Keep in mind that a convenient connection may get you to the action quicker than a more nearby hotel in the suburbs without a tram stop nearby.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The first thing that drow my attention was the friendly behavior for all staff members at check in, every one will great you like he or she is your friend. High tech hotel with iPads to control the rooms. It´s located in a business area a bit far from the center but well connected by tram number 5. Stylish cool and super service.
Will come back definitely

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Really enjoyed our stay at Citizen M Hotel, the rooms are very funky. Massive Bed! Small rooms but cosy and quirky. If you aren't comfortable in front of who you visit here with might not be the best option as shower is in a glass pod in the room and the toilet is the same but frosted.

Loved the hotel the only down fall was the location, there is a tram stop right outside of the hotel but it is about 25mins via tram to the central station. Could be considered a good location if you want to stay somewhere quiet and away from the hustle and bustle of the city. Would be a nice walk in summer from the hotel to the city centre but was snowing during our stay so wasn't an option.

The Hotel in my opinion lacked a variation of food. Wasn't aware of it serving breakfast. Felt a bit peckish one night and the only thing I found suitable was a croissant with nutella.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed here for one night and had the best nights sleep ever. The bed was huge!
The room was very modern and although small it worked well. The shower and toilet were circular pods in the middle of the room. All very cool but be wary if your sharing with someone your not that comfortable with. The glass was frosted on the shower and loo but you could still see through so privacy was slightly compromised.
The room was controlled via a remote control for various lighting, blinds and the TV - will keep any techie man happy for hours!
It's a great, functional hotel and location is good.
Breakfast was nice although pricy but there's plenty of nearby places to eat and grab a coffee.
We would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The location to the train station and tram no 5 are perfect!!! The self check in check out worked great!! We weren't sure about the size of the room when we walked in but the huge drawer space under the bed was a bonus!! The bed was so incredibly comfortable!! Having the toilet and shower right in the room and not separated by anything but a sliding door and curtain took some getting used to but being married for over 20 years we didn't have that much of a problem with it! Friends bunking together might though. The food was great as were all of the staff!!!! Make sure to check out the picture by the elevator!!!! Also make sure to book through their website and become a 'citizen' for some added perks!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I really dug on the groovy mural-sized photo in the cafe of world citizens. It sets the mood for a hotel for a new generation and a new era. I enjoyed eating breakfast there, and the barista was very friendly. The rooms are tastefully done in postmodern style. The price is right It was a short walk from Schiphol Airport. Check in at the computers in the lobby was painless and assisted by staff. I'm looking forward to trying out the new hotel in New York.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#23 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#23 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Central Amsterdam on Beethovenstraat this hip Netherlands hotel offers affordable luxury for budget travelers, lodging near museums, free Wi-Fi, movies on demand, and 24/7 on-site dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage citizenM Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.