We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool,even for oldies.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added citizenM Amsterdam to your Saves list
citizenM Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Craigavon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cool,even for oldies.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

If you want to be somewhere different, come here and be part of the citizenM culture. Enjoyed the style, service, rooms and communal sitting areas.Good tram links to city centre and short train journey to airport.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citizenfrancisco, Manager at citizenM Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear Oliver W,

thank you for staying with us whilst in Amsterdam, for your review and for inviting everyone to be part of the citizenM culture!
:)

We hope to see you again soon and wish you safe travels.

Francisco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,944 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,602
    1,026
    218
    60
    38
See reviews for
134
1,483
265
625
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

As other reviewers have noted, this is a "funky", modern fun hotel and we are happy with our choice of hotels for our 3-night, 4-day stay in Amsterdam. Based on TA reviews we chose a high floor facing away from the street - a good choice. You should note that, because of the set up of the rooms, no room will have a view (there's nothing to look at anyway). The rooms are very small BUT have a large bed and very unique setup. We had three suitcases and there was storage (under the bed) for only two. Travellers with loads of luggage may be challenged a bit.
We were in Amsterdam on a hot, sunny weekend and so everyone was "out and about". That meant that the streetcar that we took to go downtown and to the museum area (#5 streetcar) was crowded every single trip. We had also tentatively booked a downtown 5-star hotel and we were initially questioning our judgement in choosing the Citizen M after the first few 20-minute trolly rides to the heart of the city. In the end the Citizen M was the "right choice" - it is less than half the price of the other hotel and it was in a more relaxing "green" part of the city. On our trip, downtown was hot, crowded and noisey - it was nice to escape to the Citizen M's part of town. Across the street, there is a large, picturesque park. The street car stop is at the side of the hotel and the train station is a 5-minute walk. The airport is one stop away on the train and the trip costs about 3 euros.
Tips:
-Buy the breakfast buffet up front when you check in (12 euros - well worth it and available 24/7. Individual food items are expensive.
- take the streetcar to travel around and buy an appropriately long transit pass . Ours was 48 hours and was timed from the first trip. You can buy the bus passes at a kiosk in the train station.
-Buy attractions' tickets from the official tourist office at airport or outside Central Station downtown. These advance tickets help you avoid line-ups and sometimes include a small discount.
- Take time to explore the area around the Citizen M. There are stores and restaurants on Beethovenstraat, and Beatrix park is very nice.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

I read a lot about citizenM before I booked the two-night stay there in late May. It lived up to my exceptions in all aspects. Certainly I had seen heaps of pictures about it, but when I actually got there, I was still amused by the short funny quotes that were everywhere. Try to explore everything in the room a little bit and you'll find it full of surprises :)

The room was not big but everything was put to good use. Love the super comfy king size bed! Wi-fi and video on demand are both free.

The hotel is not located in the city centre. The tram stop is one-minute walk away and it took about 20-25 minutes to get to the city centre. Or you can walk five minutes to Zuid station and take the metro there. I don't know until what time the tram runs but could imagine when you do have a late night out, at some point you'd have to worry about how to get back. The bright side is that you are away from the crowd, or all those dodgy places in the city centre you'd rather stay away from. The hotel does have a 24-hour canteen / bar where you can have some late night snack, a couple of drinks (they offer one free drink per stay) and even make some new friends.

Check in / out processes were hassle-free. Got a citizen card to take to the next citizenM hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

On arriving self service check in couldn't be any easier. Greeted by friendly and helpful staff. Room was compact yet spacious and very quiet. Great to return and relax in after a day being a tourist. Only small disappointment was the bar staff only seems to know how to make the limited cocktails on the menu - would have been great if they hadn't seemed too limited. Otherwise, great hotel!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Stayed here for three nights with my boyfriend and we absolutely LOVED every minute. This place is perfect for couples travelling light for a few days.
What could normally be construed as a negative is turned into a positive in this place - small room etc, but everything is put to great use. The bed is comfortable, the blinds blackout the room leaving for a great sleep, the checkout/checkin is instant, the wifi is free, the towels are fluffy, what's not to love!
While it mightn't be for everyone, i think it's a great place for young couples - but maybe not ideal if you have to share a room with your mother-in-law :)
If we ever return to Amsterdam, we will most definitely return to CitizenM

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

I accidently left my tablet in the hotel room upon checkout. I received an email when I returned hone that they had my tablet. The staff took the time to mail it to me and went out of their way to return my tablet to me. The hotel is nice and clean and very modern. It is minutes from a tram stop and in a nice area. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citizenfrancisco, Manager at citizenM Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear Lory12345678,

we are glad you and your tablet were reunited! ( I guess the tablet liked the hotel so much it wanted to stay here) :)

Come visit again!

Francisco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Staff are amazing, rooms are super unique, clean and fun. Mood lighting, awesome shower....especially for intimacy ;) and the comfiest bed you will ever have the honor to sleep on. Its really cheap too for the class of hotel. We paid 110 euro a night for essentially a five star hotel. Its right next to the number 5 tram, or a 15 minute (lovely) walk into the center. Don't think on it, just book it.

Room Tip: all rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citizenfrancisco, Manager at citizenM Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Yes, stay here!! :)

thank you dear Redlington for sharing your thoughts about citizenM on tripadvisor, we are very pleased to read them.

We hope to welcome you again soon at one of our citizenM hotels.

kind regards,

Francisco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#23 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#23 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#24 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Central Amsterdam on Beethovenstraat this hip Netherlands hotel offers affordable luxury for budget travelers, lodging near museums, free Wi-Fi, movies on demand, and 24/7 on-site dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage citizenM Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.