We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High-tech hotel in a quiet and convenient location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added citizenM Amsterdam to your Saves list
citizenM Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #38 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“High-tech hotel in a quiet and convenient location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

The hotel is very high-tech with a futuristic design. It suits well for the couples who are ok to see each other taking shower through the glass door. The toilet is also in the room. Funny mottoes can be found everywhere - on the shampoo (2 bottles - AM & PM), do not disturb tag, soap, etc: "Designed to turn even the longest-haul traveller into a sparklingly clean and nice-smelling human being again" (on the soap). Young staff is very helpful.
At the same time the hotel is much cheaper than those right in the city center and has a nice Beatrix park nearby.
All in all it was a very pleasant experience in the place with a real Amsterdam atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,890
    1,192
    245
    68
    39
See reviews for
178
1,715
303
707
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (466)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
156 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

You can tell the Citizen M architect got a simple mission : Revisit what a hotel is, get rid of the unnecessary stuff and focus on a few things that customers will remember and talk about.
So they made a few bold moves like having self check-in or merge the bathroom and the bedroom into one (small) room with fancy lights.
That'd be fine if they were trying to be some sort of Ryanair - cut all costs and offer super low prices. I could understand that. But this concept mixing "cool" features and super low cost things does not work for me. Clearly there are too few pluses to compensate for the long list of minuses. TripAdvisor shows the CitizenM hotel as a 4-star hotel. Even if it's in many ways different from your traditional hotel, that's pretty ludicrous. I'd give it 3 stars tops.

I don't mind the self-checking. It works well and there is someone to help if needed. When you first enter your room, the first impression is rather pleasant with modern decoration, cool lighting, big bed. However you quickly realize how tiny the room actually is. No room for a suitcase, no room to put your bathroom stuff, A/C is always on and it gets real chilly after a while. I am not sure how having the toilet sitting in the middle of the room works if you stay with someone, but that's probably not ideal.

Beside the small room, there is no parking so you'll have to pay the 3€/hour for street parking. Lunch/dinner options are very limited : some sushi-box, a couple of sandwiches and pre-cooked food. And that's pretty much it. I did not take the breakfast but it looked very limited for the price they ask.
I guess it could be an option if you need to stay in that part of the city and are tired of traditional hotels. I like how they tried to re-think the hotel concept but I'd rather go for a hotel with parking, a separate bathroom, a real restaurant, a fridge in the room, space to store my clothes,a window that opens, A/C that switch off... and I won't regret too much the individual lighting or free wifi (they seem to make a big deal out of this for some reason).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citizenfrancisco, Manager at citizenM Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
dear DrNeko,

thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us.

We are glad you noticed we have taken away all the unnecessary stuff from the hotel, like let's say, the little chocolate on the pillow or all those unnecessary sq. meters in the room you simply never use.

When we started citizenM many years ago we realistically knew were not creating something for everyone, we humbly accept that, as in your situation, there are people out there who prefer a more traditional hotel which is okay of course, still we are sorry we are not your cup of tea.

Although small ( 14 sq meters ) we believe everything you could need is in that room, even a desk to work on, a huge comfortable bed to rest on, a rain-steamy shower to help you come back to life after a long journey, the entertainment ( free MOD, Music, Games ) on your TV, full size mirror with American, Asian or European electric outlets to charge your mobile phone or laptop ( after all they also need to recharge after a long journey ) and of course the now a days indispensable free Wi-Fi. ( throughout the whole hotel )

On our lobby we have created light open spaces for you to work, relax, interact with other guests or colleagues or simply to read a book seated on one of our Vitra comfy sofas whilst sipping on a cocktail or a barista coffee at the time of your choice in our 24/ 7 bar for we have taken also away the unnecessary closing times, at citizenM YOU decide when you eat or drink, you can have your breakfast at 3 am or at 2 pm if you are an early bird or a late sleeper or have a cocktail at 9 pm or at 4 am, you are the one on holidays or on a business trip after all, why should a hotel decide when her guests can or should eat or drink?

Although we don't have our own parking ( I guess we couldn't have it all ) we can suggest you a a very good and safe parking place ( they are also extremely affordable by the way, already for less than 10 euro a day you can park your car there and they even give you free tram tickets and you can borrow a bike with us to move around in the city, free of charge........

We would have loved for you to experience us in a different way and like us of course but that wouldn't be realistic, nevertheless we hope you will find a hotel that matches your needs and expectations anywhere you go.

Thank you for your honest feedback.

We wish you safe travels

Francisco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

If you are not comfortable taking a shower in a large, transparent cylindrical tube, then the CitizenM Amsterdam is not for you. But if you like to try something new, want a very comfortable bed and are not too finicky about food choices, then this will work very well. The only hiccup in my short stay was the very slow internet speed. Otherwise, it was a great experience, good breakfast and a decent salad bar for the evenings.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

My partner and I were in Amsterdam for 2 nights & stayed at CitizenM. We loved it!! The concept was great and really good value for money. Our room and the hotel in general was very clean and fresh looking. Bed was massive and the shower was lovely. It was perfect for us!! I wouldn't stay in a room with just anyone else tho eg. a friend or someone as the shower/toilet cubicles were still a bit see through but maybe I'm just a prude! All in all a great experience. 5 stars!!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citizenfrancisco, Manager at citizenM Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear Christina O,

thank you for choosing us and for sharing your experience.
We love that you loved us !

come back soon!
Francisco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Cool hotel 5 minutes tram ride away from the centre. Good beds, friendly staff, nice, clean modern rooms and excellent value. Showers are great, cocktails as well!

Only downside breakfast fairly hopeless, consisting of a croissant & coffee for about 14 euros.

Room Tip: All the same!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citizenfrancisco, Manager at citizenM Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear Matt H,

thank you for staying with us!

Loved to read you enjoyed and appreciated our value and our cocktails! :)

Apologies for the downside as you mention it,did you communicate this to one of our Ambassadors whilst on site?
Our breakfast includes fresh orange juice, granola, fresh fruits, orange juice, hard boiled eggs, coffee or tea of your choice, swiss rolls, croissants, chocolate buns, yogurt, cold meats and 3 different kind of cheeses , after all it is the most important meal of the day...
this for 10,95 ( if booked in advance ) or 13,95 when booked on the same day.

We hope to welcome you in one of our citizenM hotels in the future.

Kind regards.

Francisco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

It was the second time staying in the Citizen M. This time for 3 nights with my family (2 kids) and we really enjoyed it. Great services, absolutely clean and the staff is superfriendly (especially Robert).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Arrived to find a very clean, trendy hotel lobby with an option to check in on a computer and no waiting around at all. Which is a perfect start.
Room was small (Double) however it's exactly what I needed. Walked in to find 2 cylinder shapes in the corners of the room, to later find out one was my toilet and the other shower. With mood selecting lights all controlled on a portable remote type gadget. very trendy and cool.
Has a park across the road so if you don't want to feel like you're in the middle of city you can relax there. It also has a intercity train link which goes directly to the airport (took me about 7 minutes) which is perfect.
All in all a I would stay here again, as it was perfect for a couple days stay either as a couple or on business.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
1.7 mi away
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
3.3 mi away
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
1.9 mi away
Hotel Casa 400
Hotel Casa 400
#62 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
#18 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 680 reviews
3.5 mi away
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Couture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#28 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#28 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Amsterdam on Prinses Irenestraat just ten minutes from city center, citizenM Amsterdam boasts 215 luxuriously appointed rooms at an affordable rate. A perfect spot for a cultural excursion or quick business trip, enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, 24/7 on-site dining and cocktailing at canteenM, contemporary living rooms decked out in iconic Vitra furniture and a prolific MENDO library collection. Be sure to try out the hi-tech MoodPad tablet to control your room amenities like mood lighting and temperature, power rain shower, or sprawl out on the XL king-size bed with upscale Italian linens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage citizenM Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.