We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cost-benefit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added citizenM Amsterdam to your Saves list
citizenM Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Campinas, SP
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great cost-benefit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Well located, very close to the Schiphol airport. The rooms are futuristic, and you can relax with safety in this hotel. In 10 min you will be at the center and RLD by tram.
The shower is the middle of the room and there is no privacy, so, take care if you are thinking in share!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,875 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,563
    1,002
    212
    60
    38
See reviews for
131
1,455
258
609
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Coolest hotel in a great location. The hotel is 5-minute walk from Amsterdam Zuid and there's a tram line in front of the hotel. The staffs are very friendly and helpful. The room size is moderate but the XL-size bed made up for everything and is super comfy. Highly recommended if you're comimg to Amsterdam. Would definitely come back and stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

CitizenM is a must do (and stay) in Amsterdam!

As a student returning home after 6 months of travelling, citizenM was exactly the no frills luxury I was looking for for my last nights in Europe. The staff were very friendly and expedient in their service.

To the friendly man who fixed my shower, thank you! The shower was an absolute highlight.

I took great delight in skyping my friends and family from my 2x2m bed and Instagramming my groovy soap bar which made me a "sparkling clean and nice smelling human being again".

The lobby is always full of people (in a good way) and a great place to hang out.

Comfy and luxurious bed. Great towels. Great pillows. Block out blind. Movies on demand. This place is young (and young at heart) person heaven.

My only note to management would be that when I returned my bike at night time, there was no lighting on this side of the building and I felt a little bit unsafe, but a sensor light would fix this no worries. (To future guests reading this, free and unlimited bike hire from the hotel, perfect in Amsterdam, an easy and flat 20 min (at most) cycle in to town.)

Thank you for a FANTASTIC stay, I will be recommending this hotel to everyone and seeking it out wherever I stay all over the world.

Thank you thank you thank you. Now I'll just wait for one to open in Australia so I can be an ambassador too!

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my husband for one night whilst we were in transit. The hotel is only 5 minutes walk from the airport terminal and really easy to find. Check in was super easy self check in but an assistant was on hand if needed. Rooms are amazing 'pod' style accommodation, everything you need for a stop over. Good sized bed and nice shower. Would definitely recommended and will stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We found this hotel a delightful experience, ALMOST faultless.. at first thought we might find the lack of space & privacy a problem, but not at all. also thought we did not have enough place to put clothes out etc, but once you check out the room, the storage ides are great and more than enough room for 2....... The lounge areas in lobbys are so freindly and comfortable, but if your staying for more than a couple of nights, the lack of room cleaning can be a problem, you only get towels changed,nothing else, our floor became quite uncomfortable with bits and peices which only end up carrying into bed... My husband had a fall in the street on the first evening and the sheets became quite soiled due to the grazes leaking blood etc, we requested clean sheets but that did not happen.. Maybe a slimline brush & pan hanging behind the mirror area would be a good idea.... the problems did not stop us enjoying the hotel, just a suggestion. The 24hr food although a great idea, needs a great deal of improvement, for the price it was quite bad. tasteless, and uninteresting. when there is a few restaurants with great personal service, great food and reasonable prices nearby, I think most people would eat out if they know they are there (walking distance)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Fantastic hotel - check in was as easy with the computer on the entry. We got there at 12.30 (midnight) and the staff were friendly and helpful even as such a late hour.

The rooms were immaculate and ideal for hanging out in the bedroom, which is perfect because I had a lot of work to catch up on (while overlooking the garden view). It's also a 5 minute tram ride away from Dam Square and everywhere else that you could possibly want to do in Amsterdam.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

citizenM is a funky boutique hotel geared towards hipsters. This place is not suitable for business travelers, particularly not for professional women. The bathroom is literally in the middle of the guest room. There is not adequate space to get ready after a shower, nor to hang suits/dresses. There is no place to unpack folded clothes. The hair dryers are not powerful enough for a blowout of any kind. There was no iron. 20-somethings are running down the halls all night long. This place feels like a hostel, decked out with Apple computers and mood lighting in every room. Cute but not practical.

Room Tip: Do not stay on the first floor and avoid the front of the hotel as smokers populate the front stoop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#23 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#24 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#24 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#30 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Central Amsterdam on Beethovenstraat this hip Netherlands hotel offers affordable luxury for budget travelers, lodging near museums, free Wi-Fi, movies on demand, and 24/7 on-site dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage citizenM Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.