We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added citizenM Amsterdam to your Saves list
citizenM Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #36 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
NY
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Liked everything about the hotel except the bed. It was as hard as a rock and I like a firm bed. Give it a try. Zuid Station is a little out of the way. Helpful staff. Remote was not difficult to figure out for mood lights and such.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,806
    1,143
    233
    67
    38
See reviews for
161
1,637
292
691
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (450)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tehran, Iran
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Staff are highly Professional Trained and Helpful. A logical choice for young Generation,solo Travelers or Business Trips.Check-In/out is By Machine and too easy and Rapid.Location is in 300M from Tarm (Line 5). you can reach City Center in 15 Min.Also it`s in 900M from Amsterdam Zuid Station & you can reach Amsterdam Schiphol Airport in 6 Min.Room is equipped with digital Pad for A/C,TV,Lighting and Music.you can Enjoy films,Music and Satelite Channels as Free.Bed is Extra large.You can use a Free Wifi 16MB in all Area.there is a nice Bar for Breakfast and Night Drinking.Breakfast is not wide Variety but all are tasty and Natural. very acceptable price for all those Services.As a special Interior Design,Windows not Open.Room size is not too large and Shower and Toilet located near Bed with a safe Glass Guard and Inside Room Area but these are not too Important for most of Travelers.don`t forget to keep your Credit Card as this hotel receive the Payment by Card Only.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I stayed here for four nights and was thoroughly impressed with everything. The staff all around the hotel are warm and welcoming and were always on hand to provide useful information about the city. The concept of the hotel with the mood pad controls in every room was awesome and the lounge area with 24 hour food and beverages on offer was incredibly handy. The hotel's location is also perfect as the short tram ride into the city allows you to experience more of the city than you would do staying right in the centre.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This was my first experience of the citizenM chain. The hotel location is maybe not as central as some would like - near Amsterdam Zuid and a good 15 minutes from the centre by tram. The airport is probably quicker to get to.

That said - it is a very modern hotel. The room is spotless with a huge bed. The toilet/shower built in the one room so be careful who you take with you!

Downstairs is a very good attempt at a communal area with plenty of TVs and comfy sofas. A computer area is also available. I enjoyed the easy access to the bar but did feel the food was a little overpriced.

Still, would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

This hotel is excellent for travellers who are alone or in a couple. And it is fantastic for business trip. The organisation is one the best I've ever seen. The self check-in and check-out is very efficient. I've done it in a couple of minutes. Staff is very efficient and happy to serve the guests. Room has an optimised layout, with beautiful decoration. Restaurant has very good variety of options - all self service - at reasonable prices. I'll definitely stay there again!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

great staff very helpful and friendly, location is perfect 15 mins from centre via tram no 5 which stops practically outside hotel, bed super comfy room practical with everything controlled from a mood pad, super cool.., only thing i would say is if you like your bathroom to be private this place isn't for you, a frosted glass cubicle which isn't very soundproof..lol.. other than that i would give this hotel 5 stars and highly recommend..

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We had one day in Amsterdam on a flight layover so we opted to stay at CitizenM at Schiphol so that we could drop our bags off and try and explore as much of Amsterdam as we could in one day! It's very convenient to just get the train from the airport right into the centre of Amsterdam as well.
The room was exactly as advertised….it's very compact, but really has everything you need for a short stay. The bed was extremely comfy and the shower was great too. I would not want to stay here for more than a night or two as I think the small size of the room and the shower/toilet pods would frustrate me after a while, but absolutely fine for what we were there for.
We had a quick bite to eat downstairs….seemed a bit overpriced and the food wasn't great, we should've stuck to their package options, but you pay extra for convenience I suppose.
All in all, I would say it was a good stay and would likely stay here if we had a layover in Amsterdam again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Amsterdam on Prinses Irenestraat just ten minutes from city center, citizenM Amsterdam boasts 215 luxuriously appointed rooms at an affordable rate. A perfect spot for a cultural excursion or quick business trip, enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, 24/7 on-site dining and cocktailing at canteenM, contemporary living rooms decked out in iconic Vitra furniture and a prolific MENDO library collection. Be sure to try out the hi-tech MoodPad tablet to control your room amenities like mood lighting and temperature, power rain shower, or sprawl out on the XL king-size bed with upscale Italian linens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with citizenM, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage citizenM Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.