We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool funky hotel with excellent service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added citizenM Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
citizenM Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinses Irenestraat 30, Amsterdam 1077WX, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Become a citizen!
Ranked #33 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cool funky hotel with excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

One of the best things about this hotel is the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff.. they could not do enough for you. There was a 24 hour bar which we took full advantage of!
The bed was really comfortable and king size. There were blackout blinds for a good sleep.
Free movies were great - not the most up to date but a good selection.
The location was 5 minute walking distance to Zuid train station, 10 minute train ride to the airport and only 10 minutes by tram to the museums and central Amsterdam (or a 30 minute walk). There are lots of nice coffee shops and great restaurants within 15 minutes walking distance.
Good/free wifi all over the hotel.
On the downside, there was only one iron for the whole hotel which could not be taken to your room - you had to go downstairs to the laundry room to iron. On the one occasion that I had to wait however, the staff gave me a free drink whilst I waited so it wasn't a big deal! The shower and toilet are enclosed in a POD in close quarters to the bed. You need to be very comfortable with your partner to tolerate this!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,555 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,385
    895
    187
    55
    33
See reviews for
113
1310
229
541
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

One of my mates is getting marries in a few weeks, so 12 of us traveled to Amsterdam for his stag doo. Rather than sharing rooms, we decided to stay at Citizen M and get a room each for similar money.

The hotel is a couple of minutes walk from Amsterdam South station - which is a 10 minute journey from the airport. We actually tried to get a taxi - but the driver was honest enough to point us in the right direction and tell us to walk!

I've stayed in a Citizen M in Glasgow before, so knew what to expect. The room was small and had limited storage... but looked really cool and modern. Ideal for one person for a couple of nights - but if you'd had more than a couple of outfits, you'd have nowhere to hang them up! Comfy bed, a good shower, and a selection of movies on demand!

The bar was open 24/7 (exactly what you want on a stag doo!) and there were sandwiches and other snacks available there too. Not cheap mind you!

The downside to the hotel was it was quite far away from the center of Amsterdam. We took the tram a couple of times which took about 20-25 mins. We also got taxis back several times... which sometimes cost 15-20 euros, and sometimes 50 euros. We figured out that it depends on the driver. Some take you round a dual carrigeway ring road - which takes about 30 mins and costs 50 euros. Others take you through the side streets which takes 15 mins and costs 15-20 euros. If you ask the driver for the price before you depart, they usually say around 20 euros and go the short way!! Shame it took us a couple of days to figure this out... and with 12 people (3 taxis per journey) it cost us a small fortune!

If I was coming back on a stag doo, I think I'd rather pay the extra and stay somewhere in the center of Amsterdam. It'd work out cheaper than paying for taxis all the time. A great wee hotel - just a bit out of the way.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I must say that this is hotel is spectacular and luxury. Location is good, just next to the tram station (you can get to the city center by tram 5, which takes around 10 minutes) and 5-minute walk to Amsterdam Zuid train station. Excellent staff, extremely clean and well presented hotel with extra big and comfortable big bed!! Wonderful stay!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed 2 nights when in Amsterdam for a weekend break. Citizen M has 2 hotels in Amsterdam, one at the airport and this one. Everything at this hotel impressed. Staff were efficient and helpful. Room was spotlessly clean and made such efficient use of space. The location was excellent with a tram stop right around the corner and just one train station stop from the airport. Breakfast which we decided to purchase was excellent. I really can't say anything negative about this hotel. Loved Amsterdam and want to return and will absolutely return to this hotel. Fabulous!

Room Tip: They are all exactly the same so all as good as each other I'm sure!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I got here by mistake. I should have gone to the same property in Schipol. Therefore after a 12 hours flight I was at this hotel without a reservation. The manager on duty Iwona solved my problem on the spot. She was able to change my reservation and to give me a room. Fantastic service! The hotel itself is nice and clean. I will be back at citizenM anytime I will be in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed for a weekend only but I have never been impressed so much in my life as I didn't expect too much. However, since I entered the hotel I was taken a great care of. Although guests use a self check in kiosk there is always someone to greet you in the most friendly way. Check in and check out is quick and simple - no queuing, no dramas (you can pay extra for late check out or book breakfast or even choose a room with garden view/city view without contacting any of the staff).

For me the location of the hotel was amazing - just one stop away from the schiphol airport by train (4 mins walk from Zuid train station) and only 15-20 EUR to the heart of the city of Amsterdam by taxi.

The hotel itself is very stylish and clean. Place to eat, chill, watch tv, have a drink, use macs, free wifi all over, etc. Feels like home! Rooms are nice and clean with all the facilities as advertised. Modern technology (remote for blinds/tv/lights/air conditioning) and free movies on demand. The bed is so comfortable that you wish you could stay in all day. Shower is amazing - good stream of water, constant temperature and mood lighting. There is no iron in your room but here it is no drama - just speak to the staff and they will guide you to the iron room which is located on the ground floor.

A) you have everything you need here
B) good location
C) there is an incredible atmosphere that I cannot describe

I would like to say a BIG thank you to all the staff, especially Roberto and Adriano who delivered an amazing customer service and made me feel very welcome. All employees seem to work like a big family and the atmosphere impacts on customers as well so I felt I was taken care of in professional and also friendly way (well done management as well!).

I will definitely come back again, well done guys, beautiful hotel, keep it going!

Room Tip: Garden view or city view rooms offered upon arrival.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Used the citizenM for a 1 night stopover on a long haul to South America. Easy walk from arrivals. Check-in easy, lounge area fantastic, and the room was awesome. Staff very helpful. An almost Japanese pod-like feel to the room, but just the ticket for a stopover. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, Amsterdam 1077WX, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Central Amsterdam on Beethovenstraat this hip Netherlands hotel offers affordable luxury for budget travelers, lodging near museums, free Wi-Fi, movies on demand, and 24/7 on-site dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage citizenM Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.