We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable luxury at the airport” 5 of 5 stars
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added citizenM Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
citizenM Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Become a citizen!
Ranked #34 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Portland, OR
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Affordable luxury at the airport”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

I normally don't stay at airport hotels but on this trip, I had an early flight out and booked my last night in Europe at CitizenM at Schipol Airport. It is an easy walk from the airport, even with luggage.The decor is ultra mod with the ground floor devoted to a comfortable and hip lounge. Upon arrival, you check yourself in at a kiosk and activate the room key. The rooms are compact, but comfortable, with a generous and comfortable bed and space-aged shower and toilet. Room electronics (lights, music, tv, shades, etc.) are controlled by a remote (the only difficultly I had was figuring this out). Staff are friendly and there is a modest but delicious assortment of take-away and dine in foods. Free drink on arrival!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,649 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,437
    930
    191
    58
    33
See reviews for
124
1359
236
551
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

My boyfriend and I just got back from our 3 night stay in Amsterdam for my birthday, and I must say this spectacular hotel and it's lovely, helpful staff really made the holiday what it was. At the check in we were greeted by a very helpful member of staff, while you can check in electronically we wished to pay separately and he helped us do so. The rooms are truly unique, very small in some ways and you should really be comfortable with your room partner due to the toilet being so closer to, well everything. Free films on demand, 2 free cocktails if you book via their website, we were given a free pain o chocolate as well by a lovely member of staff! Huge bed, no issues with the remote once we got the hang of it and it was great to control everything from the bed. Some nice restaurants around the area, and only a 10/15 minute tram ride into the centre! Also they have free bikes for hire, and it's super easy to get to from the airport. Cannot sing its praises enough, gogogo!

Room Tip: The garden view rooms definitely give you the best morning view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

My partner surprised me for my birthday with a fantastic weekend trip to Amsterdam. Having found CitizenM through Tripadvisor in the first place, we simply had to write a review to say thank you!

Very easy to find from Zuid station, (which was only an 8 minute journey from Schipol). We got there in less than 5 minutes. There is a tram stop just round the corner. Catch the number 5 and it takes you straight into Centraal, or you can stop in Leidseplein which is a great are to grab a beer and get your bearings.

The hotel itself I would say is a concept hotel. Your greeted by an Ambassador and encouraged to check in yourself via the computers at the entrance. There are funky chairs and a bar/deli area open 24/7, we were happily munching on croissants and Ben and Jerry's at 2am one morning.
The room is small but more than enough for a weekend break. The shower and toilet are in the middle of the room. The toilet has a frosted glass door for privacy but noises can be heard! The bed was huge and really comfortable. There's a storage drawer underneath to put your stuff away. The room also comes with a smart remote where everything is controlled including the blinds. You can also change the colour of your room via discreetly placed lights to suit your mood (including a romantic setting!) The shower was lovely, a big waterfall type one with a little handheld one on the side. Complimentary showergel is provided and it was really nice.
Our room was cleaned every day and was spotless. The cleaners are lovely and are very thorough.

One thing that made us giggle was the picture of an apartment/hotel building with pictures of each room on the ground floor near the lifts. Having not taken much notice of it, we decided to look at it in closer detail on our last day.. Don't let the kids look close! There are some very naughty goings-on in that picture!

Room Tip: Choose the "garden" view not the city view. The city view is essentially looking at the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I've just got back from this hotel it was lovely extremely clean and beautifully designed the room was unique but we loved it! It's not somewhere you would stay if you weren't comfortable with the person you were going with as it's very intimate but me and my boyfriend were fine I would really recommend this hotel the staff are amazing and they kindly set the room up for me with cake and balloons for my boyfriends birthday free of charge if I ever go back to amsterdam I'll be staying here without hesitation I personally think it's in a great location not right in the centre but only a short tram ride to the centre

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amadora, Portugal
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Great city break experience. Just a few steps away from the tram stop and 5 minutes walk from Zuid station where you can get the train to the airport. Free wifi and films. Automatic check in and out. Outstanding communication. A cool and hip hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I can't praise this hotel enough. It far exceeded my expectations...it was not what I thought....and it was a really brilliant surprise...it's really modern and trendy, and it was excellent to see people of all ages there, the staff are brilliant, they go far beyond excellent customer service. The rooms are really cool....different...but relax and you will soon love the whole concept. Rooms have a big flat screen TV with lots of channels and movies to suit EVERYONE ;) Check in and out is so simple...it takes 30 seconds. Drinks are excellently priced, 4 big TVs in the chill out areas, with sofas, chairs tables...all manner of weird and wonderful pieces of furniture and ornaments. The pictures on the internet really can't paint the whole picture, this place has to be seen to be believed. Please do not be put off by its location...it's out of the centre but the tram stop is right outside the hotel for heading into Central station, dam square, canal trips, etc etc. even better, 5 minutes walk to the next street and you are at Zuid station, the direct link to Schiphol airport...travel time only 6 minutes. Definatly no need for taxis and buses or hire cars here...trams are the way ahead. Everyone should visit Amsterdam once in their life and in my opinion...this is where they should stay! Deserves a 5star hotel rating

Room Tip: All rooms are the same I believe....garden view was really quiet. I don't think city view would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I was initially sceptical as it seemed like a glammed up youth hostel (I have nothing against youth hostels) and superficial but this hotel won me over. Some points that stood out for me -
- comfortable king-size beds
- fast wifi
- smart remote
- free on-demand films
- short tram ride into town
- short walk from the RAI (if you're here for a conference)
- friendly staff
- clever layout of the room

The negative points would be
- the small size of the room. If you're a couple, don't expect each one to have their own space.
- you would struggle to find much storage/hanging space for clothes.
- the toilet and shower are enclosed 'bubbles' within the room itself, rather than a unit off the living space.

Despite the negatives, I'll be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#23 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#32 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Central Amsterdam on Beethovenstraat this hip Netherlands hotel offers affordable luxury for budget travelers, lodging near museums, free Wi-Fi, movies on demand, and 24/7 on-site dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage citizenM Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.