We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome hotel!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added citizenM Amsterdam to your Saves list
citizenM Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Martinsville, Virginia
Level Contributor
160 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Awesome hotel!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

This hotel was the most modern I'd ever seen. It was awesome. Great drinks & food in the lobby with friendly staff. Rain shower in the room was great. You could change the color of the lighting of the room with a remote. Very comfy & large bed. It was a fun & unique stay!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kkeith34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,757 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

Staff friendly and very helpful. Rooms clean and modern. Highly recommend staying at. CitizenM. Public transport is regular to the city centre, Tram 5 takes you from the rail station to hotel and is a regular service. We will stay again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sue s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

I loved the hotel. Very modern and clean. We arrived in the pouring rain and had a bit of a job finding it! It's is very close to a tram stop but not 'directly opposite' which is misleading. Everything in the room is operated by the remote, lighting, tv, blinds, aircon. Our remote kept on freezing so had to keep resetting which is fustrating when all you want to do is adjust the tv volume. The snacks laid out by the bar are welcomed but a bit on the pricey side so best to get some bottled water and room snacks from a local supermarket.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Myself and my husband stayed at this hotel in January this year for his 30th birthday. The bed went from wall to wall and was so comfy. The cocktails from the bar were gorgeous and decent priced, I didn't eat in the hotel so not sure about the food. The tram takes you from the city centre to the hotel in about 10 minutes which for me was great and quiet. Would recommend!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

There's little original thought to sentiment I can add to the many descriptions and reviews already been given...this is a great hotel, I loved the concept on which it's based; my only caveat would be the room design which might be challenging for a coupe.

It is close to the station and easy to find and get to, and a very easy commute to and from the centre of town.

The staff are outstanding. Truly, all young, brimming with enthusiasm and friendliness. They really help to make a stay here special!

Would recommend without hesitation!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jcolesw2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

New concept with little or no human staff, most is automatized and very modern. The rooms are like a space ship. The common area is unique, with work station... Unusual but worth trying something different. One word perhaps: Efficient and no hassle.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean-Paul88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
113 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

My husband and I just returned home from Africa via Amsterdam to stay over night at the Citizen M hotel at Schiphol. We last stayed there five years ago after a Baltic Cruise and for us it was like coming home! This is a compact room with three hangers on a rack, a toilet and shower in the middle of the room, with colored lights. There are frosted enclosures for the toilet and shower on a track which can be blocked off from the rest of the small room. The bed is huge, being the width of the room and the most comfortable bed we have slept in, with the wonderful fluffy pillows. The drawers under the bed are a great storage area, the windows look out on the city or the planes taking off and coming in... your choice of rooms. There is a wonderful huge tv in the room with free movies. The windows have shutters to either open or close the window shades.
We were on the trip to celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary and it was a perfect way to end our 16 day trip, before the long haul flight home.
We took the breakfast buffet, which was plenty and unlimited food and the coffee was perfect!
While this hotel might not be for everyone we love it and call it a sexy hotel/room. Everyone are so friendly and helpful. Leonardo checked us in and became our fantastic ambassador for the night and day stay. He is so personable and such a sweetie!
This hotel is perfect for the mobile person although five years ago we stayed for three days and were every comfortable. It is a 10 minute walk from the Schiphol airport and works fine if you are wanting to stay and visit Amsterdam, as the train is right there at the airport.
I have no idea when we'll be back but lots of other Citizen M hotels are popping up so we'll find one some where in our travels. If you see Leonardo tell him Hi from Jane and John!

Room Tip: I think any room is good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneTucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel De Hallen
#29 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 414 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
#18 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#20 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#28 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Amsterdam on Prinses Irenestraat just ten minutes from city center, citizenM Amsterdam boasts 215 luxuriously appointed rooms at an affordable rate. A perfect spot for a cultural excursion or quick business trip, enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, 24/7 on-site dining and cocktailing at canteenM, contemporary living rooms decked out in iconic Vitra furniture and a prolific MENDO library collection. Be sure to try out the hi-tech MoodPad tablet to control your room amenities like mood lighting and temperature, power rain shower, or sprawl out on the XL king-size bed with upscale Italian linens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with citizenM Operations Holding BV, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Venere, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing