We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern and funky” 4 of 5 stars
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added citizenM Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
citizenM Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Become a citizen!
Ranked #35 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Modern and funky”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Myself and my husband stayed at this hotel in January this year for his 30th birthday. The bed went from wall to wall and was so comfy. The cocktails from the bar were gorgeous and decent priced, I didn't eat in the hotel so not sure about the food. The tram takes you from the city centre to the hotel in about 10 minutes which for me was great and quiet. Would recommend!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,461
    952
    195
    58
    34
See reviews for
125
1,384
240
563
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

There's little original thought to sentiment I can add to the many descriptions and reviews already been given...this is a great hotel, I loved the concept on which it's based; my only caveat would be the room design which might be challenging for a coupe.

It is close to the station and easy to find and get to, and a very easy commute to and from the centre of town.

The staff are outstanding. Truly, all young, brimming with enthusiasm and friendliness. They really help to make a stay here special!

Would recommend without hesitation!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

New concept with little or no human staff, most is automatized and very modern. The rooms are like a space ship. The common area is unique, with work station... Unusual but worth trying something different. One word perhaps: Efficient and no hassle.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

My husband and I just returned home from Africa via Amsterdam to stay over night at the Citizen M hotel at Schiphol. We last stayed there five years ago after a Baltic Cruise and for us it was like coming home! This is a compact room with three hangers on a rack, a toilet and shower in the middle of the room, with colored lights. There are frosted enclosures for the toilet and shower on a track which can be blocked off from the rest of the small room. The bed is huge, being the width of the room and the most comfortable bed we have slept in, with the wonderful fluffy pillows. The drawers under the bed are a great storage area, the windows look out on the city or the planes taking off and coming in... your choice of rooms. There is a wonderful huge tv in the room with free movies. The windows have shutters to either open or close the window shades.
We were on the trip to celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary and it was a perfect way to end our 16 day trip, before the long haul flight home.
We took the breakfast buffet, which was plenty and unlimited food and the coffee was perfect!
While this hotel might not be for everyone we love it and call it a sexy hotel/room. Everyone are so friendly and helpful. Leonardo checked us in and became our fantastic ambassador for the night and day stay. He is so personable and such a sweetie!
This hotel is perfect for the mobile person although five years ago we stayed for three days and were every comfortable. It is a 10 minute walk from the Schiphol airport and works fine if you are wanting to stay and visit Amsterdam, as the train is right there at the airport.
I have no idea when we'll be back but lots of other Citizen M hotels are popping up so we'll find one some where in our travels. If you see Leonardo tell him Hi from Jane and John!

Room Tip: I think any room is good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

You feel like in a hi-tech future, especially the shower in the centre of the room was amazing. The bed was A-class, one of the best I´ve ever experienced in a hotel, including 5* ones. Not really in the city center, but it is easy to access. And with all the super friendly staff, you have to love it!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

The hotel is brilliant, the staff was always lovely and ready to help with everything we needed.
Great location (near train station, tram a few steps away, and possible to walk from city center), amazing breakfast full of options.
I had never seen anything like the room there, you feel like you are inside of a starship. Plus, it's so comfortable and relaxing.
Me and my family had a really good time in this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Came across the hotel by chance by the old harbour. A wonderful location and i was very warmly welcomed Even the receptionist offered to come with me to show me a parking spot. No frills in state of the art bedrooms which suited me fine
free cocktail was mmmmmm
Can't wait to return with friends.

Room Tip: Go to Rotterdam by train if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#24 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#24 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Central Amsterdam on Beethovenstraat this hip Netherlands hotel offers affordable luxury for budget travelers, lodging near museums, free Wi-Fi, movies on demand, and 24/7 on-site dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotel.de, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL and Jetsetter so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage citizenM Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.