We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added citizenM Amsterdam to your Saves list
citizenM Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
always our best rate
Ranked #36 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

There's little original thought to sentiment I can add to the many descriptions and reviews already been given...this is a great hotel, I loved the concept on which it's based; my only caveat would be the room design which might be challenging for a coupe.

It is close to the station and easy to find and get to, and a very easy commute to and from the centre of town.

The staff are outstanding. Truly, all young, brimming with enthusiasm and friendliness. They really help to make a stay here special!

Would recommend without hesitation!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,771
    1,118
    230
    67
    38
See reviews for
158
1,611
284
678
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rye, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

New concept with little or no human staff, most is automatized and very modern. The rooms are like a space ship. The common area is unique, with work station... Unusual but worth trying something different. One word perhaps: Efficient and no hassle.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

My husband and I just returned home from Africa via Amsterdam to stay over night at the Citizen M hotel at Schiphol. We last stayed there five years ago after a Baltic Cruise and for us it was like coming home! This is a compact room with three hangers on a rack, a toilet and shower in the middle of the room, with colored lights. There are frosted enclosures for the toilet and shower on a track which can be blocked off from the rest of the small room. The bed is huge, being the width of the room and the most comfortable bed we have slept in, with the wonderful fluffy pillows. The drawers under the bed are a great storage area, the windows look out on the city or the planes taking off and coming in... your choice of rooms. There is a wonderful huge tv in the room with free movies. The windows have shutters to either open or close the window shades.
We were on the trip to celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary and it was a perfect way to end our 16 day trip, before the long haul flight home.
We took the breakfast buffet, which was plenty and unlimited food and the coffee was perfect!
While this hotel might not be for everyone we love it and call it a sexy hotel/room. Everyone are so friendly and helpful. Leonardo checked us in and became our fantastic ambassador for the night and day stay. He is so personable and such a sweetie!
This hotel is perfect for the mobile person although five years ago we stayed for three days and were every comfortable. It is a 10 minute walk from the Schiphol airport and works fine if you are wanting to stay and visit Amsterdam, as the train is right there at the airport.
I have no idea when we'll be back but lots of other Citizen M hotels are popping up so we'll find one some where in our travels. If you see Leonardo tell him Hi from Jane and John!

Room Tip: I think any room is good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

You feel like in a hi-tech future, especially the shower in the centre of the room was amazing. The bed was A-class, one of the best I´ve ever experienced in a hotel, including 5* ones. Not really in the city center, but it is easy to access. And with all the super friendly staff, you have to love it!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

The hotel is brilliant, the staff was always lovely and ready to help with everything we needed.
Great location (near train station, tram a few steps away, and possible to walk from city center), amazing breakfast full of options.
I had never seen anything like the room there, you feel like you are inside of a starship. Plus, it's so comfortable and relaxing.
Me and my family had a really good time in this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Came across the hotel by chance by the old harbour. A wonderful location and i was very warmly welcomed Even the receptionist offered to come with me to show me a parking spot. No frills in state of the art bedrooms which suited me fine
free cocktail was mmmmmm
Can't wait to return with friends.

Room Tip: Go to Rotterdam by train if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights in May. Arrived at hotel about 12, expecting to have to leave our bags before we could check in. We were greeted by an extremely helpful member of staff, who explained that if the self-service kiosk let you check-in, our room was ready. It was great to freshen up before heading out for the rest of the day.

The rooms are quite small, but clean and compact, with a wall to wall bed that was very comfy. The shower/toilet pods suited our needs absolutely fine, though I imagine you would have to be fair comfortable with someone if you were sharing a room. The room remote is fun, changing the lighting, blinds, music, TV and alarm for you at the touch of a button.

We only used the hotel as a base so cannot comment on the food/drink but there was always people eating/drinking so imagine it must be pretty good.

Overall, staff were excellent, very helpful -even lent us an umbrella on a rainy day, and made sure our luggage was left safely until we returned before our flight later that day.

Would definitely return to CitizenM.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#24 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Amsterdam on Prinses Irenestraat just ten minutes from city center, citizenM Amsterdam boasts 215 luxuriously appointed rooms at an affordable rate. A perfect spot for a cultural excursion or quick business trip, enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, 24/7 on-site dining and cocktailing at canteenM, contemporary living rooms decked out in iconic Vitra furniture and a prolific MENDO library collection. Be sure to try out the hi-tech MoodPad tablet to control your room amenities like mood lighting and temperature, power rain shower, or sprawl out on the XL king-size bed with upscale Italian linens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage citizenM Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.