We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasently Surprised” 5 of 5 stars
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added citizenM Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
citizenM Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Become a citizen!
Ranked #34 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pleasently Surprised”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

When I first got to my room I was thrown off by the configuration of the toilet/shower and bed. There isn't much to the rooms, and I described them to my friends back home as bathrooms with a bed at one end. The bed however, was extremely comfortable, and by the end of my weeklong stay I really liked the shower. The rooms are small and without a place to really sit in the room, everyone seems to spend most of their time in the shared living rooms spaces in the lobby. These were divided up into several areas.
Not a great place for a family to stay I imagine since there is only one bed and not much space in the actual rooms. Also, the shower is in the middle of the room so if you have someone else staying with you they will be able to watch.
Access to the tram was also very easy and I had no problems getting to or from the city center at any time.
Staff was extremely friendly and knowledgeable - they make great drinks and are very accommodating. All of the food was also very good. A very good experience.
The only thing that I missed was a gym. I wish that there had been a gym or fitness facility on site.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,649 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,437
    931
    191
    57
    33
See reviews for
123
1361
236
551
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sant Climent de Llobregat, Spain
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

The hotel's location relative to public transport is superb. Everything is very new and very clean. It may surprise the situation of the shower and toilet in the room, but the other qualities of the hotel contract staff, cleanliness and design-make them unimportant.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

I was in Amsterdam for two days over King's Day weekend and you absolutely get your money's worth. The rooms are clean and nice showers, bed and TV. Everything comes with the price to your room so you don't have to pay extra to watch TV channels etc.

The staff were also extremely friendly, approachable and friendly. I arrived from a 23 hour fliht from Sydney and the staff immediately made me feel at home the moment I checked in until the moment I checked out two days later.

An absolute gem this hotel is.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

That was one the most interesting places I stayed at, really different from many other hotels I've seen. Well, first if all, books - albums that you can find in the hotel. Stop and check them out whenever you see one, lots of cool pics! Some are naked. Service was good or very good, but nothing memorable really. Bed,,,,,oh that bed,,,,,,omg, just go sleep on it. At least one night, it's huge, no , it's enormous, so white, feels fresh, made me feel myself very special. Also, the hotel is close to the business center I went to every day, very convenient in terms of transportation. Toilet & bathroom- I loved both. Wish I took my boyfriend with me)) This hotel is not a super cozy place, but I have no complaints at all. A very sexy place, btw.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tyneside uk
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

My husband & I stayed here for 2 nights recently. We were very impressed with the modern & clean room. Everything has been well thought of. Everything in the room has a purpose, it all works perfectly. Id go back in a heartbeat. Its only a couple of minutes away from the number 5 tram that takes you right into the town centre. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Having stayed in citizenM Glasgow a couple of times I knew what to expect and that I would enjoy my stay here. The design is very similar, carpets and furnishings identical, with the same great, compact rooms and the massive, wonderful beds ! The staff are just as friendly and helpful, sorting us out with tram cards and directions etc ( we declined the offer of bicycles due to the shocking weather last weekend ). The hotel is in a quiet residential suburb very near the Amsterdam Zuid station, so dead easy to get to from the Airport, and tram number 5 stops just outside so getting into the centre is no problem at all. Love Amsterdam and will make this my place to stay the next time I visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Stayed here whilst attending a conference at the next-door Rai.Stayed for 4 nights and had my girlfriend join me for the last two.

Location is good for local businesses, Rai and 5 minutes from the train station (one stop to the airport) or tram (no 5 into town).

Foyer is cool. Bar is cool. Breakfast is pretty good. Staff are generally young, friendly and helpful.

The room is different though. It is thin and small and there is no formal division between the bathroom area (which is where you enter the room) and the sleeping area and desk. The bed is the width of the room and large enough to sleep 4 or 5. That may be the aim given the picture opposite the lift on the ground floor (adults only).

I would stay again if me only but not with my girlfriend as well. Maybe I'm just a prude though.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#23 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#32 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Central Amsterdam on Beethovenstraat this hip Netherlands hotel offers affordable luxury for budget travelers, lodging near museums, free Wi-Fi, movies on demand, and 24/7 on-site dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsNL, Hotel.de, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage citizenM Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.