We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Design hotel with a happy crew” 5 of 5 stars
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added citizenM Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
citizenM Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Become a citizen!
Ranked #33 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Eindhoven, Nederland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Design hotel with a happy crew”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

CitizenM is located in a quiet neighbourhood, close to public transport.

We like to stay here because you can get out of the crazyness of the citycenter.

The crew is very sympathetic and always helpfull (and in for a good laugh)
The room is perfect, designy, with a perfect bed, almost better than my bed at home :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,656 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,440
    934
    192
    57
    33
See reviews for
123
1366
237
551
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

It's a hotel that has more focus on technology. You can adjust the light in the room in certain 'moods' for instance. And you check in to the hotel on a TV screen, with a barcode, without human interaction. The shower has sensors and all kinds of futuristic colours. And I'm a pretty tech savvy guy, but it's just not my cup of tea. When I check into a hotel I want a warm human welcome. I want someone else to check me in. And above all, when you're in the room, the remotecontrol controls everything. And it needs 30 seconds sometimes to start up. for instance, If I want the curtains down, it's done by remote. I can't do it manually. Everytime I change the light by remote control, the TV pops on with a designer videoclip and ambient music. But all I want is to change the light. The buttons on the TV do not work. The remote is the control center. And it's slow and takes a few minutes to figure out at first.
For instance, I wanted to watch the 8 o clock news, but had to wait 60 seconds for the remote to kickstart. And all I wanted was to watch the news.
And again, I'm a pretty tech savvy guy.
The hotel looks hip & fashionable, but lacks some kind of soul.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citizenDiego, at citizenM Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Hi "Jarno D",

Appreciate the time you took to write about your experience at citizenM, thank you.

We believe that technology can save time, enhance experience when applied in the right way, without over-using it. Reading your comments, I hope you allow me to talk through our thought process and applications.

Check-in at citizenM is done via a kiosk, just like you buy a train ticket or check-in at an airport. It takes 2 minutes and all you need is a confirmation number or your last name, no barcodes, no passport copying nor paper handling. Staff, or Ambassadors as we call here, are always available 24/7 for any help or assistance, if needed. They are not busy with bureaucracy but instead on hand for anything you might need, which includes helping you out at check-in. We think a genuine welcome isn't done mechanically from a staff who follows a procedure book, no "Good evening Mr. Last Name" here, but a genuine "hi" from a smily Ambassador is more personal.

The shower and toilet have both mood-lights, and you have to option to use it, or not, since there are wall switches like anywhere else to control other lights in the room. The entire room is controlled with a mood pad, which I apologize that took long to startup and with the TV, it should not have happened and we are investigating internally to prevent from happening with other guests. Blinds & curtains can be opened/closed electronically via the moodpad but also wall switches, which offers no barriers or learning curve.

All that said, we respect your personal preferences and understand that citizenM might not be your cup of tea. I'm again sorry for the issues you experienced with the moodpad.

Wish you all the best, safe travels and beautiful experiences.

Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeaux, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

They charged me 10 € more on my second night without any explanation
I came one hour before 2PM for check-in: extra charge !
The room... Well in fact no room, you sleep in the bathroom/Toilet !!!!
Took many time to avoid the shower drops make noise on the floor
The window does not open, so only artificial aircon , no fresh air
The curtain let very few light in, very uncomfortable
Very cold in the room, even I put maximum heat ( display 23°C but more likely 18°C).
Nowhere to put my luggage.
The table so short, impossible to work at ease.
A room that motivate to quit asap !!! NEVER AGAIN

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citizenMhotels, at citizenM Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Hi "Kraba",

I feel sorry your expectations were not met at citizenM.

We will never charge more than what was agreed. Charges mistakes, although they may happen, is very rare. Please feel free contacting me directly anytime via citizendiego at citizenm dot com, and I will make sure to correct it, refunding any wrong charges. I apologize if this happened and will like the opportunity to correct it.

As regards the room and layout, citizenM was built for a niche on our own style, respecting personal preferences. It's one option of accommodation out of so many others out there, it's widely advertised as such with pictures and information. Our proposition is offering an affordable luxury experience with a room that's smart in size, and technology, offering free Wi-Fi & movies, an XL king-size bed with luxurious linen, a 24/7 bar and a living room to work, lounge & eat. I'm sorry if you experienced shower drops, which should not have happened. Contacting an Ambassador, we would be more than happy in finding a solution by fixing the issue, or changing your room. Same for light, room can be in complete darkness anytime of the day, or night.

That said, I'm again sorry to let you down.

Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

I would say, these kind of hotels are really needed.
The check-in was already a lot of fun - fully computerized.
Rooms are bit small but functional, great shower and very comfortable (huge) bed. These small rooms really encourage you to stay a bit longer in the lounge, which is a great thing indeed.
Interior is cool in every aspect, the lounge was full of designer furniture/mainly chairs, very specious, 24h bar with a good selection of snacks.
citizenM pays attention to detail: great movies selection, not many amenities but AM/PM shower gel/shampoo idea is really smart.
Staff was very friendly and not very 'heavy with the customer service' only there when you needed them.
Very close to Schiphol and easy to get to the City Center (tram no 5).

The only one negative point would be the toilet, big plus for a design but it did not provide a lot of intimacy so all the toilet moments had to be 'shared' if you know what I mean.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thurso
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Having stayed at other CitizenM hotels I knew what to expect.

I liked the layout of the room and felt it was much bigger than the Glasgow and London ones I have stayed in. Rooms were also very clean and bed very comfy. Had a lovely view of a cherry blossom tree in the courtyard.

Staff here were very friendly and attentive. Good and drinks both good and a reasonable price.

Location wise it's about a 15 minute tram journey from the main train station (Centrum), we got a GBV tram card which was good value. It's around a 5 min train journey to the airport.

Would def recommend others to stay here!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, Hertfordshire
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

The hotel is not in the centre of the hotel, but is easily accessible via the metro (the Zuid WTC station is a 3 minute walk away). Its very modern and the place is spotless. The staff are friendly and helpful and the communal areas are pretty damn funky. The rooms themselves are not huge (although the beds are) and the toilet and shower "pods" are not everyones cup of tea.
Positives:
Near to the Metro/tram & bus stops
Very convenient for the airport
Staff
Cleanliness
Free WiFi
Size of beds
Pre-arrival communications (via e-mail & Twitter)
Negatives:
Not in the centre of the city (the area it is in is quite quiet during the weekend)
Toilet & shower pods (if you don't know your room companion well, you soon will!)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed here for the Easter weekend of 2014 and we are extremely happy with our stay. The staff is great, always with a smile and helping out in any way they can. The rooms are small and you'd better know your room mate, 'cause there isn't going to be a lot of privacy even going to the toilet. But if you do your homework on the hotel, you know what you're getting. This wasn't a problem for us.
One train station away from the airport and 10 minutes by tram to the city centre is the absolute best located hotel you can ask for.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#20 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#24 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#30 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Central Amsterdam on Beethovenstraat this hip Netherlands hotel offers affordable luxury for budget travelers, lodging near museums, free Wi-Fi, movies on demand, and 24/7 on-site dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, HotelsNL, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage citizenM Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.