We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just as expected, great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added citizenM Amsterdam to your Saves list
citizenM Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
thurso
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Just as expected, great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Having stayed at other CitizenM hotels I knew what to expect.

I liked the layout of the room and felt it was much bigger than the Glasgow and London ones I have stayed in. Rooms were also very clean and bed very comfy. Had a lovely view of a cherry blossom tree in the courtyard.

Staff here were very friendly and attentive. Good and drinks both good and a reasonable price.

Location wise it's about a 15 minute tram journey from the main train station (Centrum), we got a GBV tram card which was good value. It's around a 5 min train journey to the airport.

Would def recommend others to stay here!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,561
    999
    210
    59
    37
See reviews for
131
1,452
257
608
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Watford, Hertfordshire
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

The hotel is not in the centre of the hotel, but is easily accessible via the metro (the Zuid WTC station is a 3 minute walk away). Its very modern and the place is spotless. The staff are friendly and helpful and the communal areas are pretty damn funky. The rooms themselves are not huge (although the beds are) and the toilet and shower "pods" are not everyones cup of tea.
Positives:
Near to the Metro/tram & bus stops
Very convenient for the airport
Staff
Cleanliness
Free WiFi
Size of beds
Pre-arrival communications (via e-mail & Twitter)
Negatives:
Not in the centre of the city (the area it is in is quite quiet during the weekend)
Toilet & shower pods (if you don't know your room companion well, you soon will!)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed here for the Easter weekend of 2014 and we are extremely happy with our stay. The staff is great, always with a smile and helping out in any way they can. The rooms are small and you'd better know your room mate, 'cause there isn't going to be a lot of privacy even going to the toilet. But if you do your homework on the hotel, you know what you're getting. This wasn't a problem for us.
One train station away from the airport and 10 minutes by tram to the city centre is the absolute best located hotel you can ask for.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

For many years I have stayed in downtown Amsterdam when traveling to Holland. It is easy to get from the airport into the city by bus or taxi. But now there is new airport hotel and we loved the experience. It is slightly more expensive to stay here but if you are on a tight schedule, it is fabulous to stay right at the airport. It's a five minute walk from the departure hall, even a covered walkway and luggage carts are parked right at the hotel.
The hotel is a futuristic experience - from the pink colored lobby to the circular glass shower in the room. We had a floor to ceiling window with a view of the runways. And no airplane roar to disturb your sleep - it is very quiet. Even a stuffy on the pillow. And free wifi.

Room Tip: The breakfast buffet adds another 11 euros to the bill, 13 euros if you don't book it ahead. But...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

This is a perfect hotel for both leisure and business. We were on a long weekend leisure trip in April 2014.
The hotel staff were fantastic - friendly and helpful, always on hand when you needed them. For example, the printer wasn't working and the receptionist said I could use theirs and when checking in and out, they are on hand to help with the machines but it's so good to have the machines there if it's a busy time with people checking in.
The rooms are seriously cool. The bed is so so comfy and massive! The mood pod to control the settings is easy enough to work and the blackout blinds really work so you get a brilliant night's sleep - much needed for us!
As other reviewers have said, you do have to be comfortable with the person you are sharing the room with to have the shower and the loo in the same room, but the loo cubicle is opaque so that's good :) There are some things you just don't want to share!
All in all this was a fantastic hotel to stay in and much cheaper than other funky options in the city centre. The one drawback for me was the location even though it was easy to get to the centre; it meant that we couldn't really nip back to the hotel to change for dinner or anything. Couldn't fault it apart from that!!

Room Tip: When you check in, you can chose whether you want a garden view or a city view which is a nice touch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
201 helpful votes 201 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Remember that song I'm Too Sexy. Well if you applied that to a hotel CitizenM would be the model, but not in the narcissistic manner of the singer, but in a good way.

I chose the citizenM hotel for a number of reasons. Firstly, it was reasonably priced compared to more centrally located Amsterdam hotels which surprised me with how expensive they were. At the time of booking I didn't realize that we would be here during Easter which brings in thousands of extra tourists to the city to celebrate the religious holiday - not because of the religious aspect, but rather the holiday aspect. So at other times of year prices in the main tourist areas may be more reasonable. The second reason for choosing citizenM is that I am a sucker for hotels that are described, not by themselves, but by others as hip, trendy and on the edge. My research indicated that citizenM was considered to be all of these. A third reason was that citizenM offers a service I think all hotels should offer - the ability to check in really early for an addition fee of 20 euros if there is a room available. CitizenM has French revolutionary undertones - everybody is a citizen and each citizen is treated equally, therefore all the rooms are the same size and composition and therefore if there are any rooms not occupied you can check in even at 7:00 in the morning, which is exactly what we did after an overnight trans-Atlantic flight. The ability to go right to your room to have a shower and get ready to start exploring immediately, rather than wandering around in a daze in the same clothes you have had on for 24 hours or more waiting for check-in time, is inestimable.

From the moment you walk into citizenM you get the immediate feeling "This place is cool". The staff are called Ambassadors. Dressed in stylish black and red colours, they are uniformly young, multi-lingual, happy and helpful. The signs of the most up to date technology are everywhere, from the self-service kiosks where you check yourself in, to the excellent sound system with its ever present ambient background music to the instant wifi throughout the hotel. No need to find a hotspot, it's all a hotspot. Even this early in the morning there were lots of people sitting throughout the several distinct common areas, including the square bar/restaurant that is just off the lobby.

The only thing I was not prepared for was the room itself - it was only the width of the king-sized bed and about as long as a small ship's container. Once we got over our initial surprise we gradually warmed to the room and it went from being tiny to cozy. The bed is huge and the shower unit looks like it was modeled on the transporter from the original Star Trek TV series. There is a gizmo that controls everything in the room including changing the colour of the lighting to suit our mood. It is probably the most hi-tech room we've ever stayed in.

Other things I liked about citizenM were the ability to get an ice cold Heineken draft at the bar and take it back to the room, the convenience to the No. 5 tram that takes you right into central Amsterdam with stops at the Van Gogh and Rijksmuseum and the chance to get out and walk around some of the non-tourist areas of the city.

After our stay at citizenM we were headed for a barge tour, so inadvertently I had picked the best hotel possible to get used to the small rooms on these boats.

Room Tip: They`re all the same, but probably the even numbered rooms have a slightly better view than the odd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

i booked this hotel thinking it was good value for money. To be fair there was nothing wrong with the property persay apart from the fact that the toilet and shower were both see through which was a bit odd and off putting to say the least. The biggest issue was that it was miles away from the city and there is no way to get back to the hotel if you are having a good time in the city, unless you are prepared to wait for a bus which comes every hour in the middle of now where. It is located beside this deserted street and i felt rather unsafe taking the bus back at night! Moreso the waitress here is very rude and arrogant! If you really want to enjoy Amsterdam find somewhere near the Central Station.

Room Tip: dont stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#24 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#24 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#30 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Central Amsterdam on Beethovenstraat this hip Netherlands hotel offers affordable luxury for budget travelers, lodging near museums, free Wi-Fi, movies on demand, and 24/7 on-site dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage citizenM Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.