We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added citizenM Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
citizenM Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Become a citizen!
Ranked #33 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

from the moment you start your booking, to the check in, the room, my stay there all considered a ' perfect journey' I had perfect view on the airplanes at Schiphol airport! Great bed, great shower, not too much space but for a single night it doesnt get much better!!

Room Tip: choose the back of the hotel highest floor!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,578 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,397
    904
    188
    55
    34
See reviews for
116
1322
231
543
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg,Germany
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Having to stay over or have a early flight ferom Amsterdam airport (Schiphol), Then this is the place to go. In 5 min walking distance from the Terminal 3 (International) this is new innovative hotel to goo d solution at a very affordable price.
The hotel have won several prices for being innovative so it is very futuristic in the way the hotel is managed and decorated. For people who like different style of hotel, this is a must do.

Checking in done at terminals based on your online recervations (staff assisting if needed and they are very helpful!), Rooms are specious if you can in that there is a full double bed, toilet, showerm desk/chair and a few hangers as closet.



Rooms are all quite and no noise is heard from the airport. I had a room on the airport side (all even rooms numbers) and slept well. There is a remote control which controls everything from tv, light, music and window blinds. There is an extra curtain which makes the room completely dark.

Room key works bot as key but also as credit card for 'payment' at the bar/restaurant called CanteenM. Here you find snacks, a few different disches as dinner, breakfast, drinks. The payment are then done upon check out.

Room Tip: All even rooms are located towards the airport - uneven numbers are to street. The rooms are all qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Clean, modern quirky hotel with good food and very friendly staff, some who seem to think there job is more of a game than a service but the others make up for this. The hotel is a 10 minutes walk from RAI exhibition Centre and 5 minutes from the Zuid station with a 10 minute journey to the airport.

Room Tip: Not sure if I'd recommend for a long stay as no real space to store your clothes in the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

My partner and I stayed in this hotel last weekend, and felt like the hotel itself was a really key part of the fun that we had in Amsterdam. This hotel is different, certainly not your identikit corporate hotel, and yet offered good comfort.

The room itself was a great example of maximising the space available. As has been mentioned in other reviews, the style of the bathroom means that you don't get much privacy- so make sure you get your own room if you're not comfortable with a companion seeing your bathroom habits. The beds however, and the multimedia style of the room certainly compensate for this. Huge, square beds with international TVs and free movies.

The rest of the hotel was very stylish and must have received a lot of investment. CitizenM has the kind of hotel bar where you can actually enjoy your surroundings, a rarity. The staff were very helpful and were good to chat to about the local area.

As has been mentioned the hotel itself isn't central, however there are excellent transport links. The 5 tram goes from the hotel to Amsterdam Central through all of the key stops- museumplein, Keizersgracht etc. The links to the airport are also ideal- one stop from the nearby Amsterdam Zuid station. Overall this means that the location is pretty ideal.

We had a great weekend, and will definitely be back to stay in CitizenM.

Room Tip: The staff here recommended a garden view, high floor room to minimise noise- we had no problems with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

I stayed at the Citizen M for my final night in Amsterdam. I have never stayed here before and was amazed at how this place works. Once you walk in, you are greeted by the staff. They begin walking you through the process, which is nearly 100% automated. You just use the kiosk to check in and gain your room card. From there, your room card gives you access to all the amenities and food. The rooms are modern but compact and very clean. I had a king sized bed that was a very comfortable rest. I took the option to prepay my breakfast upon check in. The food here is mainly snacks but they did have a meal prepared for the night for 12 euro. Food was decent. This is an interesting experience that one should try and I would bet younwill stay here again. Location is very convenient to Schipol. I will stay here again on my next visit. No pool or fitness center here though.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

My last review was harsh, but I felt fair, but I believe that second chances are deserved. My second visit was a vast improvement on my first, and this allowed me to experience and enjoy the many excellent features of this hotel.

It was better because the staff were far more focused on my needs rather than on their own image/hype (as was the case before), and for this reason they laid the foundation for a fantastic customer experience. So well done to the 'Ambassadors', and in no particular order here's what I loved:

1. Free and powerful wifi throughout.
2. Lots of power outlets throughout - including a dedicated area for international power outlets if you forget your adaptor.
3. Lots of space to work - table based/comfortable chair based .... your call. It means you don't have to be stuck in your room if you have a lot of work to do.
4. Good central bar and food station - useful if you have a lot of work to do (see '3') whatever the hour.
5. Staff who care (really pleased about this - big and positive change).
6. Brilliant picture by the lift (too rude to explain here!).
7. Free movies.
8. UK TV channels (BBC 1 and 2 - I'm biased).
9. 3 minutes walk from the Amsterdam Zuid station - perfect for train connections to Schipol and to the rest of the Netherlands, and on the Metro 51 line to deliver you into central Amsterdam within 10-15 minutes.
10. Ruthlessly clean.
11. Very close to local restauarants (e.g. Wagamama).
12. Very comfortable mattress.

The room is funky, with pod-based toilet and shower facilities, but it all works.

Don't waste money on a taxi from Schipol. Get the train to Amsterdam Zuid (8 minutes). Leave via the Zuidplein (not Mahlerplein) entrance.

Ask for a Garden View room (slightly quieter).

I take issue with the claim about it's central location (see '9' above), but central Amsterdam is easy to get to and should only be one part of your Dutch experience. Train connections to the rest of the Netherlands are way superior from Amsterdam Zuid than Amsterdam Centraal.

Finally, I was here for business, and the hotel supports the needs of the business traveller. But I bet it's so much better for the traveller/tourist.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anothermrsjohnson
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

Best sleep I have ever had in an hotel. Run. Don't walk.

The self check-in is quick and easy. The lobby and sidewalk surrounding the building can be crowded with young hotel guests, and the elevators were busy. The drinks and food in the bar area are expensive, but convenient (makes sense). The doors to the rooms can be tricky. You have to not mind using the bathroom in front of your significant other/roommate. You must also love sleeping better than you have slept in weeks. The bed--so comfy. Total blackout curtain panel thing. I would stay at another citizen m or this one again, no hesitation. Great value for the money, and despite the hotel's overall busy-ness and young demographics, I can't even get over how well I slept and for such a great price.

Last thought: tram from centraal station was easy enough. Never waited long at the stop. Quiet, safe neighborhood.

Did I mention the best sleep of my two week trip??

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#20 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Central Amsterdam on Beethovenstraat this hip Netherlands hotel offers affordable luxury for budget travelers, lodging near museums, free Wi-Fi, movies on demand, and 24/7 on-site dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Venere, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL and Jetsetter so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage citizenM Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.