We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing New Year Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added citizenM Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
citizenM Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Become a citizen!
Ranked #34 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing New Year Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

I stayed at CitizenM Amsterdam for 5 nights from the 29th of December to the 3rd of January and I could not have asked for a better hotel! Although a little South of the center, trams ran regularly and of course, you can't visit Amsterdam and not rent bikes, so with just half an hour of exercise we were able to arrive straight to the man square! Full of friendly staff who were happy to help at any time of the day, CitizenM had a young, safe and comfy atmosphere. The bar was great and the food on sale, although a little expensive was great and satisfied all my midnight feasts! I went with my boyfriend and would honestly recommend the hotel to anyone and especially couples. I thought the bedroom lights were amazing and with a remote control for your every need, adjusting the room to your personal preferences was really easy. Free movies for the nights in and adjustable lighting added that little bit extra. Mornings were special and I cannot begin to praise the bed! Extra big, comfortable and soft, its what every homeowner should aspire to. Honestly a great hotel, go to Amsterdam just for it!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,642 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,434
    927
    191
    57
    33
See reviews for
124
1355
235
551
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

This is a great concrpt hotel where booming on and out is all done through technology. There are ambassadors to assist you if you need it. The hotel is beautifully designed with the rooms having mood lighting. The rooms are on the small side (no cupboards)so perhaps not suited for an extended stay. The shower pod doesnt offer much privacy so beaware if thats an issue. The staff are very frienfly and i will definately stay there again. The location, although not central, is on the tram route (tram 5) and is within walking distance to station Zuid. Donrxpect to buy traintivkets

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

boyfriend and I have enjoyed a post crimbo break here as a treat. well what a welcome you get. each and every staff member treated us like family and can't do enough for you. you can truly act as you would at home here. im writing this from a sofa with my feet up. the rooms are a decent size so the moaners should quit it as I don't travel light even with just hand luggage. the bed has a pull out drawer about three foot deep and there's hangers too. shower AMAZING. the loo is frosted glass but just log on to the wifi and text your other half when you're done and let them back in;-) bed is heaven. all films are free. the lobby has food both hot and cold. the bar is lively and we spent three nights down there with the boys until five am and they honestly cant do enough for you. sending big love to our new friends Joseph, jacub, raymond, paul, dominic and everyone we met. we will definitely return later this year. the hotel truly made our stay perfect. have acquired new friends from many places that we'll keep in touch with. a million stars to these guys, they couldn't be nicer, so relaxed, up for a laugh and easily the best short stay we've ever had. keep it up people! and save us a seat at the bar.
while you're in town take bus 15 to zeitstraat (five stops) and find mangetsu on amstellveenweg which is the nicest japanese restaurant we've ever been to. food is so arty you don't want to ruin it.
cant stress enough what a fab time we've had here. this is definitely a community rather than your standard hoity surly staffed place. we just love it. well done boys and girls. be seeing you. (he won't be there for long but if you meet Joseph ask if he's got any milky bars on him)
all the best people.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

This has been my second stay the a citizenM, and I thoroughly enjoyed it. My wife and I spent an evening there, and will definitely visit it again. The hotel is perfectly located close to the Amsterdam WTC and the Amsterdam Zuid train station. Tram #5 takes you along the lovely Beethovenstraat all the way up to the Museumplein and beyond.
The staff was helpful, professional, fresh and sharp.
The only thing that's missing is an expanded breakfast service. The current breakfast is great, but a few hot dishes would really be welcome.
All in all, it was a great visit and I look forward to staying there again soon.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

I will keep it short.
Me and hubby stayed there 29.12-2.01.2014 and we loved everything about it. They have the most comfy bed we ever slept in,great access to new DVDs and WIFI, all free. I loved their light options in room, staff very friendly. About 5min to city centre via Tram, walk about 30min (we walked after NYE).
Hotel is very modern and might be not everyone cup of tea, so please read and look at pictures before you book, as this place deserve for excellent opinions only!!!!
Will be back def!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

What a great hotel to stay at for a couple. Are the rooms small....absolutely, but the are definitely livable as they layouts are very efficient. We are in our hotel room to sleep and that's about it. The moodlighting is great and we never had any problems at all. Would highly recommend staying here. It's a short commute on the tram into the City Centre and the trams can be busy, but staying in the city centre is very expensive, especially if you want a king size bed. Staff was always willing to help.

If we ever visit another city with a Citizen M, we'll be booking there!

Room Tip: All rooms are identical, only difference is garden view or street view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

What an excellent place to stay especially if you are going to the cruise port as i am. The staff is excellent ! Great staff for information and places to visit. It seems the staff is trained and were very helpful with computer assistance. Actually i would have come a day or two earlier if i knew about this hotel. Chris is excellent on the night shift and Malou on the day shift!

Room Tip: It was all good! Very quiet and comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#23 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Central Amsterdam on Beethovenstraat this hip Netherlands hotel offers affordable luxury for budget travelers, lodging near museums, free Wi-Fi, movies on demand, and 24/7 on-site dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsNL, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage citizenM Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.