We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish and fun hotel next to airport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added citizenM Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Expedia.com
and 7 more sites!
citizenM Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinses Irenestraat 30, Amsterdam 1077WX, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #34 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Stylish and fun hotel next to airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Very cool. Funky rooms. Quirky and interesting. A few very nice little touches around the place to give you a welcoming feel.
Clean, quiet, comfortable. Nice beds.
Smallish rooms but everything you need in a new and fresh style.
Not exactly a bathroom but one of the most memorable hotel showers!
Pretty awesome in every way - give a try, it's an experience.
People on hand to help check you in.
Good food downstairs. Next to tube and airport.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,396 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,295
    842
    175
    51
    33
See reviews for
103
1239
217
502
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights for a quick getaway and absolutely loved it! It is funky and modern and has everything you need. The hotel itself is about 20 minutes from the city centre but the tram stops just across the road, and it is really easy to negotiate the tram system, plus it's cheap. The hotel is very modern when you arrive at the hotel you check in through computer terminals, which is step by step standard, but there is a member of staff on hand if need be. The rooms are fantastic, I really enjoy staying in original unique hotels and this fits the bill. The room is a pod and it has a shower tube and toilet tube, with a massive bed, the room utilises space really well and has a futuristic vibe which is really cool! I would recommend this hotel to anyone and would definitely stay again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Well this place was just fabulous....everything you want from an Amsterdam hotel room....!!! The shower is in the middle of the room, the bed is a big as the room and the TV offers plenty of channels!!! We absolutely loved this place but would change its location if we could. We prefer to be in the city centre but I have to say that this was one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. We stayed in December 2009 and they had the heaviest snowfall they had experienced in years so to see it all lit up with Christmas trees and with the snow it was magical. Love Amsterdam and love this hotel, not too far to walk to the train. It was definitely a first class experience.

PS - I am writing this review a long time after visiting but it will only let me go as far back as Jan 2013 on the drop down. It was Dec 2009 when we visited

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreux, Switzerland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Great Hotel, very modern, and very clean. Staff are friendly and very helpful. I liked the electronic check-in although the fact that they dont accept cash payments for the rooms but only in the restaurant is confusing. It's located around 15-20mins (10mins by car) away from the center by public transportation. However, it is not a deal-breaker as it is located in a very peaceful and calm area. Very recommended unless you want to stay in the center of the city (which is quite noisy)

Room Tip: All rooms are exactly the same. but it's more for either couples, or solo travelers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, UAE
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a few days while on holiday. While the building and the theme are delightful and whimsical, this is not a practical choice, or particularly well-priced.

The rooms are tiny. Although the bed is big enough to fit 4 people, the toilet and shower are in the middle of the room in a tight glass enclosure, which means that there is no privacy or modesty.

Also, the location is on a tramline but is quite a bit outside the center of town, so it's not a good base for people who want to see the sights, go shopping, etc.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

stayed here for 3 days on a business trip. Very lively hotel full of positive energy, exceptionally friendly smiling helpful staff, modernly furnished with a hint of smart home tech. Automated self check-in; was pretty decent and swift; we were done in less than 5 mins.
To sum-up
Hotel atmosphere: lively, friendly and modernly furnished. 8/10
Bar: had several snacks 9/10, some ready made hot/cold meals 6/10.
Room: Very clean, high tech with a new edge of style and design that I was very fond of 9/10
Bed: LOVELY and extremely comfortable 10/10
Staff: Very helpful, friendly, dedicated, prompt, smiling and home welcoming. I had a problem with the telephone and before I have realized it, it was fixed. 10/10
breakfast buffet 6/10. not a diverse menu, only boiled eggs were available, bread quality was a bit unsatisfying, not much options really.
Location: it is a bit out of the city 15-20 mins by taxi and will cost somewhat between 15-28 depending on the traffic to reach Dam square 3 mins walking distance to the nearest tram station. Didn't use the tram, so not sure the time required to reach any of the live areas. Very quite. So grade it depending on your preference.

Trams could be over crowded during weekend's.

Will I return here again: Definitely for business; Maybe for leasure

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights in August 2013, before heading to Brussels for another 3. We really enjoyed the stay - the rooms were trendy, practical but chic, and , as many others have said, perfect for a couple or single traveller. I found that there was plenty of storage space in our room, theres a HUGE drawer under the bed for clothing and bags, as well as some hangers behind the door. The lights in the room were cool - and we were like little kids playing around with it. The living areas were very nice and the staff were friendly.
I think the only thing that would put some people off - and one day completely wore us out, was the location. We ALWAYS walk wherever we go as we think we see more, and rarely take public transport. (We did once and it was really stuffy and uncomfortable due to the time of the year, I'm sure its better in the colder months),but when we walked to the centre and back 3 times in one day we were exhausted by the end! We also found it a little difficult to find places to eat other than Wagamamas nearby, and we would have liked recommendations from the staff, but we were recommended their meals lol, which were convenient and actually quite nice.
We would stay here again, but use public transport! I hope more of these affordable, trendy hotels open up in more locations, we are holding off our New York trip until their 2 hotels are completed so we can stay there!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, Amsterdam 1077WX, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#23 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Central Amsterdam on Beethovenstraat this hip Netherlands hotel offers affordable luxury for budget travelers, lodging near museums, free Wi-Fi, movies on demand, and 24/7 on-site dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, Venere, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Jetsetter so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage citizenM Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.