We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CitizenM Amsterdam - my first choice ever.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added citizenM Amsterdam to your Saves list
citizenM Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
always our best rate
Ranked #38 of 349 Hotels in Amsterdam
Campinas, SP
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“CitizenM Amsterdam - my first choice ever.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Hello,
CitizenM is not a convencional hotel - it is The Hotel.
I could catch the idea of being a world citizen instead being one number.
The CitizenM Amsterdam Team are just awsome, the atmosphere is something that you cannot see in anyplace.
The Wi-Fi, the accomodations, the meals, the people.
Thanks everyone on CitizinM Amsterdam for make me so welcome and part of na unique world.
Cheers,
Jefte Villar - from Campinas, Brazil

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,745
    1,112
    229
    66
    38
See reviews for
156
1,596
282
668
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

This hotel near ftom tram and metro and wtc building. Its easy to find this hotel.When me, myson and husb arriving this hotel first time in my mind this hotel so cozy and modern. After I see the room im so surprice about why after I open the door I see shower and toilet infront of me. This time I experience hotel like this. Im not comfrt when I must go to shower I scared mylil son will see me. But the staff was nice and cooperative. Maybe I will back to this hotel only when I go alone or just with my husband

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

At first glance I thought the hotel was "very cool" with the futuristic design of the bedroom but as the minutes went by the first impression was replaced by annoyance. Some "cute" touches such as the stuffed toy, funny messages written on walls and toiletries and the light colour selector. Still, not nearly close to offset the list of negatives and motivate me to repeat the stay.

Negatives include:
- having crawl into bed from the bottom of it
- the lack of bedside tables or a convenient plug to charge the phone or other device and still easily reach it from bed (i.e. had to jump up in the morning to switch off alarm clock - not a nice start of the day)
- very poor choice of breakfast - nothing warm or suitable to make a sandwich other than cheese
- no body lotion / hair conditioner

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

I enjoyed this hôtel in the city center of Amsterdam. Staff very sympatic and helpfull. The only critic is about the size of the rooms that are very small, but also modern and design.
Hôtel well situated : 6 min from the AirPort in train and 20 min in tram (Line 5) for the center.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

How I didn't already know about this chain I really don't know. It is SO 21st century; combines fabulous design (by Vitra) with efficient self check-in and out at computers in the lobby (with a human being nearby to help if needed) and 'pod-style' bedrooms.

I say not for everyone because, as other reviewers have said, as the loo and shower are in the middle of the room, pretty exposed, even with the glass screens closed, so unless you are very comfortable with your (travelling) partner, you probably wouldn't like it. But a lovely king size bed, very clean, has everything you need, even a teddy on the bed ... ahhhhh.

Bar, restaurant, lounges all open 24 hours a day, lovely design and lighting. The location of this hotel is great for the business district (banks, investment managers) in South Amsterdam, on a direct train from Schiphol. I will definitely be aiming to stay in others in their chain on other trips.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Initially on arriving we thought the hotel was great, hip, trendy, relaxed, with modern ideas.
Good location with easy access to trains and trams to airport and city.
Practically though, the rooms were too small & quite claustrophobic. And rather impersonal when dealing with the toiletry matters, and we have been together for 12years! Not sure how a new dating couple would get on!
Downstairs in the breakfast/bar/dining area, yes breakfast excellent and a good relaxed atmosphere, although I seem to notice the staff had to be really attentive as it became a bit chaotic serving drinks etc.
Lounging area great to sit back relax with free wifi, though, again I the bathroom entrances were very impersonal and rather confusing to get into!
Overall, not too bad.
Would I stay again? Only if single.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corby
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Have just got back from staying at the citizen m Amsterdam centre. For me it was ideally located, you could get the train to station zuid and from there it was a 5 minute walk to the hotel. The hotel itself is very modern and clean. There is free wifi and the staff are extremely helpful. There is a room to keep luggage if you have a later flight home. I really liked the room, and was ideal for a couple nights stay. The bed is huge and comfy and there were free movies to watch and radio. For getting to dam square and the museums you just have to catch the number 5 tram which is just outside the hotel. Would definitely recommend staying here

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#20 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#24 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#28 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Amsterdam on Prinses Irenestraat just ten minutes from city center, citizenM Amsterdam boasts 215 luxuriously appointed rooms at an affordable rate. A perfect spot for a cultural excursion or quick business trip, enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, 24/7 on-site dining and cocktailing at canteenM, contemporary living rooms decked out in iconic Vitra furniture and a prolific MENDO library collection. Be sure to try out the hi-tech MoodPad tablet to control your room amenities like mood lighting and temperature, power rain shower, or sprawl out on the XL king-size bed with upscale Italian linens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage citizenM Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.