We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CitizenM Amsterdam - my first choice ever.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added citizenM Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
citizenM Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Become a citizen!
Ranked #34 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Campinas, SP
1 review
“CitizenM Amsterdam - my first choice ever.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Hello,
CitizenM is not a convencional hotel - it is The Hotel.
I could catch the idea of being a world citizen instead being one number.
The CitizenM Amsterdam Team are just awsome, the atmosphere is something that you cannot see in anyplace.
The Wi-Fi, the accomodations, the meals, the people.
Thanks everyone on CitizinM Amsterdam for make me so welcome and part of na unique world.
Cheers,
Jefte Villar - from Campinas, Brazil

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,458
    951
    195
    58
    34
See reviews for
126
1382
240
562
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

This hotel near ftom tram and metro and wtc building. Its easy to find this hotel.When me, myson and husb arriving this hotel first time in my mind this hotel so cozy and modern. After I see the room im so surprice about why after I open the door I see shower and toilet infront of me. This time I experience hotel like this. Im not comfrt when I must go to shower I scared mylil son will see me. But the staff was nice and cooperative. Maybe I will back to this hotel only when I go alone or just with my husband

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

At first glance I thought the hotel was "very cool" with the futuristic design of the bedroom but as the minutes went by the first impression was replaced by annoyance. Some "cute" touches such as the stuffed toy, funny messages written on walls and toiletries and the light colour selector. Still, not nearly close to offset the list of negatives and motivate me to repeat the stay.

Negatives include:
- having crawl into bed from the bottom of it
- the lack of bedside tables or a convenient plug to charge the phone or other device and still easily reach it from bed (i.e. had to jump up in the morning to switch off alarm clock - not a nice start of the day)
- very poor choice of breakfast - nothing warm or suitable to make a sandwich other than cheese
- no body lotion / hair conditioner

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

I enjoyed this hôtel in the city center of Amsterdam. Staff very sympatic and helpfull. The only critic is about the size of the rooms that are very small, but also modern and design.
Hôtel well situated : 6 min from the AirPort in train and 20 min in tram (Line 5) for the center.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

How I didn't already know about this chain I really don't know. It is SO 21st century; combines fabulous design (by Vitra) with efficient self check-in and out at computers in the lobby (with a human being nearby to help if needed) and 'pod-style' bedrooms.

I say not for everyone because, as other reviewers have said, as the loo and shower are in the middle of the room, pretty exposed, even with the glass screens closed, so unless you are very comfortable with your (travelling) partner, you probably wouldn't like it. But a lovely king size bed, very clean, has everything you need, even a teddy on the bed ... ahhhhh.

Bar, restaurant, lounges all open 24 hours a day, lovely design and lighting. The location of this hotel is great for the business district (banks, investment managers) in South Amsterdam, on a direct train from Schiphol. I will definitely be aiming to stay in others in their chain on other trips.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Initially on arriving we thought the hotel was great, hip, trendy, relaxed, with modern ideas.
Good location with easy access to trains and trams to airport and city.
Practically though, the rooms were too small & quite claustrophobic. And rather impersonal when dealing with the toiletry matters, and we have been together for 12years! Not sure how a new dating couple would get on!
Downstairs in the breakfast/bar/dining area, yes breakfast excellent and a good relaxed atmosphere, although I seem to notice the staff had to be really attentive as it became a bit chaotic serving drinks etc.
Lounging area great to sit back relax with free wifi, though, again I the bathroom entrances were very impersonal and rather confusing to get into!
Overall, not too bad.
Would I stay again? Only if single.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corby
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

Have just got back from staying at the citizen m Amsterdam centre. For me it was ideally located, you could get the train to station zuid and from there it was a 5 minute walk to the hotel. The hotel itself is very modern and clean. There is free wifi and the staff are extremely helpful. There is a room to keep luggage if you have a later flight home. I really liked the room, and was ideal for a couple nights stay. The bed is huge and comfy and there were free movies to watch and radio. For getting to dam square and the museums you just have to catch the number 5 tram which is just outside the hotel. Would definitely recommend staying here

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#23 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#23 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Central Amsterdam on Beethovenstraat this hip Netherlands hotel offers affordable luxury for budget travelers, lodging near museums, free Wi-Fi, movies on demand, and 24/7 on-site dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HotelsNL, EasyToBook and Jetsetter so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage citizenM Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.