We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why too much design is bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added citizenM Amsterdam to your Saves list
citizenM Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
always our best rate
Ranked #38 of 349 Hotels in Amsterdam
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Why too much design is bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Positive: walking distance from RAI exhibition center, very friendly staff, good pastries, ok breakfast.
Negative: the design: you love it or you hate it. I hated it: no cupboard to store your stuff, this is ridiculous. The way the bathroom and the toilet are arranged is extremely unpractical.
They don't really offer a proper restaurant, it's part of their concept but it is clearly also to reduce their operating expenses. Same for check-in and check out. It's clearly designed for you to stay one night or two. Not really cheap for the level of comfort.
The breakfast is really minimum and is overpriced for what it is.

Room Tip: Be away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,747
    1,112
    229
    66
    38
See reviews for
156
1,597
282
669
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

This hotel ticked all the boxes for me and my girlfriend this weekend as we enjoyed a city break to Amsterdam. On top of the quirky, amusing lounges on the ground floor that mixes business and pleasure seemlessly, the service from the friendly and cheery staff was second to none. They truly could not do enough to make our stay as perfect as possible (one of the staff even lent me his mobile phone charger for the evening as I had forgotten mine!).

The rooms are an experience in themselves and the rain shower makes you want to stand there for days...stick in the mood lighting and the glass tube you are standing in and it really is like no other bathroom set up you'll ever have seen. The bed is massive and perfect after a long day taking in the wonders of this extraordinary city. The flat screen tv is mounted on the wall directly above the bed, and all movies are free! Each room also has a remote control that controls everything...literally! The tv, lights, blinds, temperature...you name it, its all controlled by a remote control.

Location was superb, with the no5 tram line dropping you off and picking you up just outside the hotel. It takes about 20 minutes by tram from the hotel to Amsterdam Centraal and trams are every 7 minutes or so. If the 20 min tram trip is too long, you can always get off half way at Leidesplein for a drink or a meal, there is even an open air ice rink at this time of year...complete with a hot waffle stand! Simply jump back on the tram for another 10 mins when you have had your fill.

This hotel really did help to make our trip special! As you can probably tell, I would highly recommend! I will certainly be back!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Best hotel for an overnight stay. The experience was amazing.
Easy to check in, friendly staff and perfect location. The room is an experience! One remote controls everything. PPV movies for free!! How great is that.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013



Finally a hotel in amsterdam that understands hospitality and service. With an exceptionally good affordable rates. The rooms are small, but it comes with a rain shower and a really good XL bed. Had some good cocktails and be bar, good bartenders that finds it a joy to severe you in style. The only thing that id love to see be improved is the breakfast. Nothing wrong with it, just lacks the variety. I stayed there and revisited again, and I'll revisit again for sure.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laatzen, Germany
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We have an amazing stay in this hotel.
A Special System , wich i like very much, made our stay very pleasant.
The Team works industries and is very friendly.
The Hotel isn't located very central, but it doesn't matter , cause the Tram Station is directly in front of the Hotel. From this Point to Central Station you only need 15 minutes.
We've enjoyed our stay so much.
Amsterdam is a nice town and always worth a trip.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

While we took a quick weekend break in Amsterdam, we could see why the citizenM works really well for business people, and for us was good value for money without being too far out of town. If you want a place more central as a tourist, you can find lots of other places, but having a place that isn't in the main tourist quarter was great for us.

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same and very efficient. Don't expect loads of space. You get what you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Hotel is conveniently located within a 5min walk from the airport terminal and thus also from the train station in the airport.

Many people complain that the rooms are not very large, but then they are not really designed for stays longer than a couple of nights. The design is clean, modern and an efficient use of space.

I found the staff very friendly and helpful and I'll certainly stay at citizenM Schiphol on my next trip to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#20 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#24 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#28 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Amsterdam on Prinses Irenestraat just ten minutes from city center, citizenM Amsterdam boasts 215 luxuriously appointed rooms at an affordable rate. A perfect spot for a cultural excursion or quick business trip, enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, 24/7 on-site dining and cocktailing at canteenM, contemporary living rooms decked out in iconic Vitra furniture and a prolific MENDO library collection. Be sure to try out the hi-tech MoodPad tablet to control your room amenities like mood lighting and temperature, power rain shower, or sprawl out on the XL king-size bed with upscale Italian linens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage citizenM Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.