We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience, First class service and a Hotel with personality!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added citizenM Amsterdam to your Saves list
citizenM Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing experience, First class service and a Hotel with personality!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

This hotel ticked all the boxes for me and my girlfriend this weekend as we enjoyed a city break to Amsterdam. On top of the quirky, amusing lounges on the ground floor that mixes business and pleasure seemlessly, the service from the friendly and cheery staff was second to none. They truly could not do enough to make our stay as perfect as possible (one of the staff even lent me his mobile phone charger for the evening as I had forgotten mine!).

The rooms are an experience in themselves and the rain shower makes you want to stand there for days...stick in the mood lighting and the glass tube you are standing in and it really is like no other bathroom set up you'll ever have seen. The bed is massive and perfect after a long day taking in the wonders of this extraordinary city. The flat screen tv is mounted on the wall directly above the bed, and all movies are free! Each room also has a remote control that controls everything...literally! The tv, lights, blinds, temperature...you name it, its all controlled by a remote control.

Location was superb, with the no5 tram line dropping you off and picking you up just outside the hotel. It takes about 20 minutes by tram from the hotel to Amsterdam Centraal and trams are every 7 minutes or so. If the 20 min tram trip is too long, you can always get off half way at Leidesplein for a drink or a meal, there is even an open air ice rink at this time of year...complete with a hot waffle stand! Simply jump back on the tram for another 10 mins when you have had your fill.

This hotel really did help to make our trip special! As you can probably tell, I would highly recommend! I will certainly be back!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,875 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,563
    1,002
    212
    60
    38
See reviews for
131
1,455
258
609
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Best hotel for an overnight stay. The experience was amazing.
Easy to check in, friendly staff and perfect location. The room is an experience! One remote controls everything. PPV movies for free!! How great is that.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013



Finally a hotel in amsterdam that understands hospitality and service. With an exceptionally good affordable rates. The rooms are small, but it comes with a rain shower and a really good XL bed. Had some good cocktails and be bar, good bartenders that finds it a joy to severe you in style. The only thing that id love to see be improved is the breakfast. Nothing wrong with it, just lacks the variety. I stayed there and revisited again, and I'll revisit again for sure.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laatzen, Germany
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

We have an amazing stay in this hotel.
A Special System , wich i like very much, made our stay very pleasant.
The Team works industries and is very friendly.
The Hotel isn't located very central, but it doesn't matter , cause the Tram Station is directly in front of the Hotel. From this Point to Central Station you only need 15 minutes.
We've enjoyed our stay so much.
Amsterdam is a nice town and always worth a trip.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

While we took a quick weekend break in Amsterdam, we could see why the citizenM works really well for business people, and for us was good value for money without being too far out of town. If you want a place more central as a tourist, you can find lots of other places, but having a place that isn't in the main tourist quarter was great for us.

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same and very efficient. Don't expect loads of space. You get what you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Hotel is conveniently located within a 5min walk from the airport terminal and thus also from the train station in the airport.

Many people complain that the rooms are not very large, but then they are not really designed for stays longer than a couple of nights. The design is clean, modern and an efficient use of space.

I found the staff very friendly and helpful and I'll certainly stay at citizenM Schiphol on my next trip to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Very well located midway between the airport and city centre (10 min by tram). Young, friendly and helpful staff. Young clientele too, but calm and quiet anyway. Be prepared for the room 'innovations'-you have to go through the w.c. to get to your bed:2 glass tubes (1 for the shower,1 for the toilet,the washbasin is in the room). Very ´hip´but a bit uncomfortable and unpractical too if you share your room with someone you no intimacy with... You have to crawl on your bed if you want to reach the window to take a view (unpractical too). Also there should be more room for luggage and clothes. Price was quite cheap for a design hotel,though. Overall a nice stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#23 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#24 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#24 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#30 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Central Amsterdam on Beethovenstraat this hip Netherlands hotel offers affordable luxury for budget travelers, lodging near museums, free Wi-Fi, movies on demand, and 24/7 on-site dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage citizenM Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.