We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel for a hub” 4 of 5 stars
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added citizenM Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
citizenM Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinses Irenestraat 30, Amsterdam 1077WX, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #33 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A great hotel for a hub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

While we took a quick weekend break in Amsterdam, we could see why the citizenM works really well for business people, and for us was good value for money without being too far out of town. If you want a place more central as a tourist, you can find lots of other places, but having a place that isn't in the main tourist quarter was great for us.

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same and very efficient. Don't expect loads of space. You get what you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,381 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,287
    838
    173
    50
    33
See reviews for
103
1229
216
500
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Hotel is conveniently located within a 5min walk from the airport terminal and thus also from the train station in the airport.

Many people complain that the rooms are not very large, but then they are not really designed for stays longer than a couple of nights. The design is clean, modern and an efficient use of space.

I found the staff very friendly and helpful and I'll certainly stay at citizenM Schiphol on my next trip to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Very well located midway between the airport and city centre (10 min by tram). Young, friendly and helpful staff. Young clientele too, but calm and quiet anyway. Be prepared for the room 'innovations'-you have to go through the w.c. to get to your bed:2 glass tubes (1 for the shower,1 for the toilet,the washbasin is in the room). Very ´hip´but a bit uncomfortable and unpractical too if you share your room with someone you no intimacy with... You have to crawl on your bed if you want to reach the window to take a view (unpractical too). Also there should be more room for luggage and clothes. Price was quite cheap for a design hotel,though. Overall a nice stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Perfect hotel for young couple visiting Amsterdam. Staff were superb and hotel in good location. Right next to AmsterdamZuid train station which is 1 stop from Schipol airport, and also there is a tram stop right outside the hotel which takes around 15 mins to get to dam square. Also a 10 minute walk from Museumplein where you can get the boat tour into town if you prefer.

Staff went above and beyond to give us a room on top floor on check I and nothing was too much trouble - all very knowledgeable about area and what to do/where to eat.

Room was small but very smart - typical of a CitizenM and we knew this when we booked so no complaints - we were only in the room for sleeping and the bed is amazing!

Didn't bother booking breakfast just bought a croissant and coffee to go for our walk into town each day - coffee was brilliant.

No complaints, nice cheap hotel - affordable luxury as it is advertised - and not too far from city centre or airport. Perfect.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

A very futuristic hotel almost inside the airport. A short 3 min walk along the Schiphol terminal. Check in is something you do yourself, as well as pay with a credit card. The room has two "circles" with doors to shut for toilet and a shower, plus a nice and good bed for two. Very convenient for an extra night in Amsterdam, and fairly reasonable cost!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Main Line area-Philadelphia, PA USA
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Stayed here for a large conference in Amsterdam. The hotel is a short beautiful walk thru a park to the large convention center. You can walk to all attractions in the city but you have to like to walk. About 20-30 mins to major attractions. But there is a tram out front of the hotel which comes frequently. There is not much action right around the hotel.

The rooms are very much like a cruise ship. Small but efficiently planned. Was modern, clean and fun. Nice bar with mostly gold food choices and snacks. No restaurant at the hotel which was disappointing. But plenty to snack on and nice baked goods.

Great friendly staff. Good wifi. Overall I strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We went for a three night trip to Amsterdam, and took a gamble on this hotel. From the moment we arrived we were impressed by the atmosphere and the service in the hotel. We were helped through check in very easily and provided with our room keys (which you can then take away and use as luggage tags afterwards!). The communal areas of the hotel are fantastic with 24hr food and drink service, several lounges to read/ watch television in and access to iMacs throughout the stay (although WiFi is also free for all guests).

We were very impressed with the room set up - pods as wide as the bed (a very good size bed for two!) with areas for the toilet and shower. Mood lighting and electronic controls for the blinds etc added extra novelty. Although it may look small the hotel have utilized the available space amazingly well with storage in many different places. The only issue we had was with hanging space but it was not a big issue. The bed was comfy and the shower was very good, although I found it very difficult to turn off as it was very stiff. We also found that the shower was dripping through the night - my partner went to reception to ask about it in the middle of the night. We were not expecting anyone to deal with it at that point however staff went out of their way to come and sort it out for us.

All staff members were fluent in English and were helpful in every way - offering advice on where to eat, how to get to Amsterdam the easiest way etc. (there is a tram right outside the hotel that goes directly to town in 10 minutes).

Overall a fantastic trip made even better knowing that we were coming home to our pod every evening :)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, Amsterdam 1077WX, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#20 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#34 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Central Amsterdam on Beethovenstraat this hip Netherlands hotel offers affordable luxury for budget travelers, lodging near museums, free Wi-Fi, movies on demand, and 24/7 on-site dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Jetsetter so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage citizenM Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.