We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convienent and efficient” 5 of 5 stars
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added citizenM Amsterdam to your Saves list
citizenM Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #38 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
West Palm Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Convienent and efficient”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Hotel is conveniently located within a 5min walk from the airport terminal and thus also from the train station in the airport.

Many people complain that the rooms are not very large, but then they are not really designed for stays longer than a couple of nights. The design is clean, modern and an efficient use of space.

I found the staff very friendly and helpful and I'll certainly stay at citizenM Schiphol on my next trip to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,899
    1,195
    246
    68
    39
See reviews for
178
1,721
305
709
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (466)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Very well located midway between the airport and city centre (10 min by tram). Young, friendly and helpful staff. Young clientele too, but calm and quiet anyway. Be prepared for the room 'innovations'-you have to go through the w.c. to get to your bed:2 glass tubes (1 for the shower,1 for the toilet,the washbasin is in the room). Very ´hip´but a bit uncomfortable and unpractical too if you share your room with someone you no intimacy with... You have to crawl on your bed if you want to reach the window to take a view (unpractical too). Also there should be more room for luggage and clothes. Price was quite cheap for a design hotel,though. Overall a nice stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Perfect hotel for young couple visiting Amsterdam. Staff were superb and hotel in good location. Right next to AmsterdamZuid train station which is 1 stop from Schipol airport, and also there is a tram stop right outside the hotel which takes around 15 mins to get to dam square. Also a 10 minute walk from Museumplein where you can get the boat tour into town if you prefer.

Staff went above and beyond to give us a room on top floor on check I and nothing was too much trouble - all very knowledgeable about area and what to do/where to eat.

Room was small but very smart - typical of a CitizenM and we knew this when we booked so no complaints - we were only in the room for sleeping and the bed is amazing!

Didn't bother booking breakfast just bought a croissant and coffee to go for our walk into town each day - coffee was brilliant.

No complaints, nice cheap hotel - affordable luxury as it is advertised - and not too far from city centre or airport. Perfect.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

A very futuristic hotel almost inside the airport. A short 3 min walk along the Schiphol terminal. Check in is something you do yourself, as well as pay with a credit card. The room has two "circles" with doors to shut for toilet and a shower, plus a nice and good bed for two. Very convenient for an extra night in Amsterdam, and fairly reasonable cost!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Main Line area-Philadelphia, PA USA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Stayed here for a large conference in Amsterdam. The hotel is a short beautiful walk thru a park to the large convention center. You can walk to all attractions in the city but you have to like to walk. About 20-30 mins to major attractions. But there is a tram out front of the hotel which comes frequently. There is not much action right around the hotel.

The rooms are very much like a cruise ship. Small but efficiently planned. Was modern, clean and fun. Nice bar with mostly gold food choices and snacks. No restaurant at the hotel which was disappointing. But plenty to snack on and nice baked goods.

Great friendly staff. Good wifi. Overall I strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We went for a three night trip to Amsterdam, and took a gamble on this hotel. From the moment we arrived we were impressed by the atmosphere and the service in the hotel. We were helped through check in very easily and provided with our room keys (which you can then take away and use as luggage tags afterwards!). The communal areas of the hotel are fantastic with 24hr food and drink service, several lounges to read/ watch television in and access to iMacs throughout the stay (although WiFi is also free for all guests).

We were very impressed with the room set up - pods as wide as the bed (a very good size bed for two!) with areas for the toilet and shower. Mood lighting and electronic controls for the blinds etc added extra novelty. Although it may look small the hotel have utilized the available space amazingly well with storage in many different places. The only issue we had was with hanging space but it was not a big issue. The bed was comfy and the shower was very good, although I found it very difficult to turn off as it was very stiff. We also found that the shower was dripping through the night - my partner went to reception to ask about it in the middle of the night. We were not expecting anyone to deal with it at that point however staff went out of their way to come and sort it out for us.

All staff members were fluent in English and were helpful in every way - offering advice on where to eat, how to get to Amsterdam the easiest way etc. (there is a tram right outside the hotel that goes directly to town in 10 minutes).

Overall a fantastic trip made even better knowing that we were coming home to our pod every evening :)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights in November. We were a group of friends and we all enjoyed the atmosphere of the hotel so much. The hotel has a great lobby- living room to relax read books or watch tv. The breakfast is limited but very good quality. The rooms are compact but you do not feel it because they have everything you need. All movies are free to watch. The lights in the room are very funny, you can adjust the colours and can change the mood light. We stayed at the bar for drinks, all the employees were friendly and had knowledge of everything even cocktails!! Cocktail list is actually really well designed, try the mobile martini which is a Citizenm cocktail or 43 sour! At night Joseph was a very nice guy to chat with and very professional at his work. In the morning a Greek guy Panos the Greek girl were exceptional. All the staff were attentive and always with a smile!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
1.7 mi away
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
3.3 mi away
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
1.9 mi away
Hotel Casa 400
Hotel Casa 400
#62 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
#18 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 688 reviews
3.5 mi away
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Couture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#28 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#28 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Amsterdam on Prinses Irenestraat just ten minutes from city center, citizenM Amsterdam boasts 215 luxuriously appointed rooms at an affordable rate. A perfect spot for a cultural excursion or quick business trip, enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, 24/7 on-site dining and cocktailing at canteenM, contemporary living rooms decked out in iconic Vitra furniture and a prolific MENDO library collection. Be sure to try out the hi-tech MoodPad tablet to control your room amenities like mood lighting and temperature, power rain shower, or sprawl out on the XL king-size bed with upscale Italian linens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage citizenM Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.