We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun, smart, clean....awesome!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added citizenM Amsterdam to your Saves list
citizenM Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fun, smart, clean....awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

This hotel room looked extremely interesting to my wife and I. We had 1 night to spend in Amsterdam and found it online and decided to take a look. It is a bit far from the downtown attractions but easy to get to (I would recommend the Tram Line 5 - drops you off less than 1 block away) and so much fun. You are immediately greeted by a hotel staff member who allows you to self check-in and directs you to your room. The rooms are cozy, very cool and operated entirely from the remote for the TV. The shower has neon lights and is much more spacious than it looks and the bathroom (has frosted glass around it) is similarly spacious though it is a bit weird to use the bathroom and have the other person see your silouette while doing so. The bed is large and extremely comfortable and is like the hotel, fantastic! I would recommend that you stay here as long as you are not claustrophobic as it is a bit like a pod room but we loved it.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are the same, no differences.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,881 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,566
    1,003
    214
    60
    38
See reviews for
131
1,457
259
611
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cascais, Lisboa, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Went there to run the Amsterdam marathon. It was perfect. We where there for 4 days.
Very good location, very modern and trendy. Nice staff.
Just would like to have a little more space to keep the clothes :-) and warm eggs for breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Just stayed for one night but I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone who loves a a change from the norm.
The rooms are amazing they fitted with mood lighting and the design of the room is so funky.
Give it a go! You won't be disappointed. We will be going back for sure.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here last week for one night and I thought the room was modern, stylish and different. I was a little surprised at first with the toilet and shower in the same room as the bed.

Only negative was that the hotel does not have a restuarant as such, basically you order something from one of the fridges and it gets warmed up in the microwave... disappointing.

Overall the hotel is convenient for the airport and a good place to stay for one night. I would stay here again when I am next in Holland.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Praha
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Very interesting container hotel room. Excellent new concept. Fantastic high quality large bed. maybe for 2 persons the room is a bit small. For one person the room has all you need. Best part of the hotel is the ground floor lobby with very nice seating and lounge areas. Nice bar. Hotel with very relaxed atmosphere, friendly, very helpful, young and hip hotel staff. Perfect connected to Schiphol airport by train and by tram to city centre of Amsterdam. Great hotel for business travellers.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Stayed here in February. Loved the hotel the bed is amazing so sleep quality is good. The mood pad and shower is really funky.

The only tiny negative was it was a bit further out the city than we originally thought but tram service was good just out the hotel.

Would definitely try and stay at a citizen M again in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

This would be the only hotel I stay in when traveling to Amsterdam. It has a great environment and a 10 minute tram from the heart of the city. They also offer breakfast and free movies when you stay in the hotel.

Trust me. You won't go wrong with staying here.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#23 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#24 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#24 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#30 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Central Amsterdam on Beethovenstraat this hip Netherlands hotel offers affordable luxury for budget travelers, lodging near museums, free Wi-Fi, movies on demand, and 24/7 on-site dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage citizenM Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.