We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good spot Near RAI Centre” 5 of 5 stars
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added citizenM Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
citizenM Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Become a citizen!
Ranked #35 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Orillia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good spot Near RAI Centre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I stayed at the CitizenM Amsterdam to attend a conference at the nearby RAI Center. This hotel was simple to find, a 5 min walk from the ZUID station, just one stop on the train from Schipol. The Hotel is also a 6-8 minute walk from the RAI center, with Buses and trams virtually at the door to easily get you into the center of Amsterdam.

I found the room different with its all-in-one room approach, but everything was comfortable. A few more shelves or drawers would be an improvement, but once I figured out how to stow my gear on arrival, the rest fell into place. The generous seating and lounge areas on entry level were a good off-set for the spartan rooms, and the enthusiastic staff made my stay comfortable and welcoming. I was traveling alone for work, stayed 5 nights, and this worked out very well. I suspect that if i had had a traveling companion for the same length of trip, it may not have worked as well, which is something to consider. I would have worked for a one or two night stay with my spouse, but longer than that might have been a challenge. Overall, this was a good fit, and other TA contributions on Citizen-M provided good insight on what to expect.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,461
    952
    195
    58
    34
See reviews for
125
1,384
240
563
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

From the minute we arrived and were confronted with the self-service check-in, where the reception staff doubled up as the barman, the concierge or the trainee, I felt the hotel was trying a bit too hard to be different. Certainly the staff were friendly and helpful and the cost of the hotel and breakfast was reasonable; however, the rooms are small, cold and there is no where to hang or put clothes away or move suitcases. I think this hotel would be fine for a business stay for one person for one or two nights but if you are a couple or staying longer than that then it is too cramped. I found the loud, obscure jazz music in all parts of the ground floor which played 24 hours a day to be unnecessary and annoying, particularly when I was still trying to wake up at breakfast!
If you are going to Amsterdam as a tourist, be aware that it is at least 20-30 minutes on Tram 5 into the city centre. Tram 5 is very convenient and stops just outside the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Very good service. The room was a bit cold, even with the ac on max, but doubling the blanket worked :-)
The whole concept takes something getting used to, but is efficient and works.
The staff was very helpful checking in and out even though it was a "do it yourself" concept. I'll probably be back some other time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

This hotel is as trendy as advertised. The rooms are as small as advertised. No, it's not for everyone, but it's awesome.

Pros:
Clean, well designed, comfy, good location, great beds, walking distance from RAI, right next to Tram lines and 1 stop by train from Schipol.

The staff is as sweet as apple pie. People tend to you with extreme niceness. It's a great place to come sleep at.

You can buy a daily breakfast for €10.95 a day (pay in advance) and save yourself the hassle of Starbucks that would cost you more either way.


Cons:
Small room, so no good if you have even just 1 large suitcase or more luggage.

No closet. You have 3 hangers to use. That's all. They are by the door, so you might shut the door on your shirts every time.

No privacy with shower and toilet. They are both smack in the middle if the room and only closed in milky glass. Don't bring strangers ;-)

The bed is big and comfy but the AC can make you cold, yet you cannot turn it off and no extra blankets in room...

The sink area is tiny tiny. Everything is. So as a woman, you would have to get super creative with your makeup and your toiletries.

No frills: the room comes with nothing that you might need except for soap and a hair drier. No cotton swabs or cream - nothing.

Breakfast can get quite boring because it's super limited to buns, hardboiled eggs, cold cuts, yogurt with granola and croissants.

There is no real restaurant in the hotel or around it. Get creative ;)

I know I gave more Cons, and yet, I enjoyed my stay at CitizenM and would probably come back if I travel on business or need to frequent the RAI daily.


Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

I didn't pick this hotel, a colleague did for a conference 3 of use were attending and usually I stick to a super chain so i can collect the reward points, i get free upgrades, wifi, drinks etc....

so i raised an eyebrow when i googled this hotel and thought "oh boy, here we go".

Colour me surprised - it was nice.

I don't think my wife would like this hotel, the rooms appear small but thats because right there in the room as you walk in is the toilet and shower, the bed is this huge square under the full width window, raised slightly to accommodate under-bed storage.

there is mood lighting, a TV on the wall, everything is controlled by a remote (which can be frustratingly unresponsive) but on the whole the room was comfortable, quiet (soundproofing?) and practical.

The communal area was welcoming, there were plenty of tech to play with in the lobby area and the price was reasonable.

The only gripe was that its not in the centre, it was ideal as neither was the conference location but for a trip to Amsterdam a taxi is €20+ away or you can try to figure out the public transport as its next to a train station.

Room Tip: ask for a park facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trieste
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I spent 4 days in CitizenM in Amsterdam. We stayed there for the proximity to the fair.
Very particular Hotel, rooms structured like a beehive. Everything is open view: WC, Shower an gel. You can play with the lights, for the chromotherapy..Bed is really comfortable, everything clean, and the stuff is very nice and professional.
Don't take the package breakfast included. It doesn't make sense. There is a self service for breakfast and you pay what you eat/drink.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms with garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

My wife and I spent her anniversary in Amsterdam and we stayed at CitizenM. The room is efficiently designed and very quiet (I love silence). My wife loved the bed and the MoodPad. The room perfectly fitted our needs during our short break in Amsterdam. Sadly we did not enjoy the living rooms (lobby) and I would recommend it to my relatives and friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#23 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#24 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Central Amsterdam on Beethovenstraat this hip Netherlands hotel offers affordable luxury for budget travelers, lodging near museums, free Wi-Fi, movies on demand, and 24/7 on-site dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, HotelsNL, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, EasyToBook and Jetsetter so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage citizenM Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.