We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing concept” 4 of 5 stars
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added citizenM Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
citizenM Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Become a citizen!
Ranked #33 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Sussex
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Amazing concept”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This hotel is pushing away from the standard expectations of an international hotel. It is funky. uber-modern and the staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful.
The custom/designer/boutique bedroom has a huge bed - not good for platonic mates travelling together but great for singles or couples. The shower and toilet give no privacy but the bed is super comfortable and the blackout and mood lighting are great. The TV offers a great choice in many languages. Hanging space is limited and there is nowhere to put your case.
An all day breakfast comes as self-serve with on-tap fresh coffee of your choice. I found the red bar a bit too lively for my morning, but in the evening the same area doubles up as the cocktail area where everyone gathers and the atmosphere is lively.

Room Tip: All rooms are identical.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,659 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,440
    937
    192
    57
    33
See reviews for
123
1368
237
552
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Good value for money overall. Best service- really go the extra mile for an enjoyable, comfortable and relaxing stay. Free and high speed wifi, free printing and very helpful stay when wanting to seek out restaurants and travel efficiently around the city. Great snacks in the bar area and cocktails. Lovely people and service. Rooms are clean and funky. Won't see this contemporary style at this value anywhere else. Not necessarily practical which is the slight down side as limited space to hang or store clothes or flat services to spread your stuff. Bathroom toilet, sink and shower are all in the main room in a cubicle style.again, depending on the person..perhaps not ideal if a couple! Good for business trips for sure. Massive bed and exceptionally comfortable! No tea or coffee in room which was a shame. Flat screen on the wall with lots of different settings for lighting to suit different moods. Very colourful and interesting rooms. Tea/coffee available downstairs with good breakfast snacks to take upstairs. No issues whilst staying here. Service really was exceptional and consistent. Would recommend although slightly out the city - £10 euro to museum plein area and £15 euro to Jordaan bit. Tram stop right outside hotel takes you to central. Not a problem at all to get about.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Null, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Chose to stay in CitizenM as the hotel was within walking distance to the RAI congress centre.
Enjoyed the stay- modern minimalistic decor with creature comforts like soft fluffy towels and large warm blanket. The mood lighting concept was interesting. Breakfast was a steal and definite value for money. The highlight, however, was the staff- always available, helpful and friendly! Location wise, it is a little far from the old center but tram 5, which stops practically outside the hotel, will get to town within 20 mins.
My only qualm was the absence of a closet in the room but that would have been difficult to fit due to the room size.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erlangen, Bayern, Germany
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Everything is different. It's not a hotel - at least not a normal one.
The design of the rooms and the lobby are just exciting. And you find almost everything you need.
Just the space for hanging your suites and shirts, to store your other luggage: very limited.
The team is phenomenal good! They live service.
Will I come again: for a short trip yes - any time. For an entire week like this time probably not.

Room Tip: There is only one choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The location however was perfect for the Exhibition and overall a nice modern and clean hotel. Room were 2 small with no seperate bathroom or privacy. No one at reception to check you in. Not convenient for more then one person.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tbilisi, Georgia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I was in Amsterdam for a few days just before the Gay International Weekend in August, catching a connecting flight to USA. My hotel had cost me those two days about 50 euros/night, on a quiet inner canal downtown. My flight unexpectedly bumped me on departure day, and the Dutch airport official woman, told me that if I walked to the CitizenM airport hotel very nearby, I could use their wifi for free, that they were friendly to everyone there [she had heard], and she advised me that maybe i would have to buy a coffee to stay longer than a few minutes using their wifi in their futuristic lounge. I booked my new flight in the Citizen M hotel lobby, and everyone on the staff was friendly to me for the two hours i was researching better airlines than the one that bumped me. So I inquired about their prices at Citizen M and found out a room cost near 100 euros. As a result, I took the train to central station, and hundreds of thousands of gays were just then flooding into the city. Every hotel i went to was asking a minimum of 235 euros or sold out, completely BOOKED, even trashy dimly lit beer drenched closet sized hotel rooms for druggies and hookers. After three hours searching by foot for a room, and finding other better rooms for 275 and 300 euros, I decided to pay the near 100 at Citizen M, now considering that it was a great bargain, given the situation. I knew they were friendly at Citizen M, already, but I had no idea the rooms were part of an elite artistic very small chain of hotels in elegant venues/cities. At first i did not understand the plexiglass see through tube in the middle of the room, that it was my shower, and the toilet bowl/seat was also like a work of modern sculpture free standing in the center of the room. The bed was very huge and super comfy, a bed could not be better. And the cable TV very generous in its programming and cosmopolitan choices. Lo and behold, i found a remote control device not only for the TV and not only for air conditioning, but a device to remotely open heavy metal shudders that revealed an eagle nest view of the airport runway, letting me observe in bed, taxiing commercial jetliners, protected by soundproofed engineering and tinted triple glass! I had lots of fun watching the jets take off from what appeared to be my feet, and rocketing over my head, in a silent world outside, but in the room the delightful music of a Mozart quintet on TV soothed my formerly frayed nerves.

The food at night was pretty good downstairs, at the buffet also. All in all i was quite gratetful not to be in the crowded and overpriced festive downtown that night, pushing my way through a sardine can of tourists, mostly all guys!

Usually i don't like airport hotels or stay in them, but this one .... only 15 minutes by airport train to the center of Amsterdam, would be a good choice almost for any traveler, who wants modern luxury at a moderate price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

The staff was friendly and very helpful. .You can walk to rai congrees center (approximately 5 min).The room was very modern and interesting.
every type of food possible and loads of bars! It's also right on a tram route taking you to the centraal station. . All in all great value, would definitely recommend to all!
This hotel is perfect for a stay in Amsterdam!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#20 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#24 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#30 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Central Amsterdam on Beethovenstraat this hip Netherlands hotel offers affordable luxury for budget travelers, lodging near museums, free Wi-Fi, movies on demand, and 24/7 on-site dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, HotelsNL, Hotel.de, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage citizenM Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.