We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely Comfortable Bed--Fabulous Cocktails” 4 of 5 stars
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added citizenM Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
citizenM Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Become a citizen!
Ranked #33 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Extremely Comfortable Bed--Fabulous Cocktails”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I had the best margarita--ever--at the bar. Well worth the cost. The big kingsize bed was so inviting I almost didn't want to see Amsterdam--instead I took advantage of the late-check-out offered. The best 20 euros I've ever spent.

The shower did feel great, but it did leak out the side and I had to use several towels to sop up all the water that filled the room. I think the shower/toilet set-up is just a little over the top trendiness that doesn't really add to the room.

The black out blinds were a blessing. I travel with only carry-on luggage, I didn't have any space issues, but I could see how others would.

All the staff were incredibly friendly and professional.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,639 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,431
    927
    191
    57
    33
See reviews for
124
1354
234
550
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Modern Hip motel-walk to the airport. Business trip, 4 of us stayed and flew out the next day. Great lobby with services, food, beer, expresso. Lots of gathering places on the first floor for lounging.

Hotel rooms have king size beds.. which is exactly how wide the room is. Great flat screen tv above the bed. small desk area. Circle pods for Shower area and toilet. These have sliding circle doors-Not much privacy, so I was glad I was the only one in the room!

Lights, window shades can be set for color themes. The remote controller runs everything!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The hotel is easy to get to from the Schiphol airport, just one train stop away. It's only 10 mins walking from the train station and the directions on the website are quite helpful.
Easy to get to the city centre by tram, takes about 20mins approximately. Tram stop is just outside the hotel.
Internet was available for free and was really fast. Staff was really helpful as well and did their best. The lobby area downstairs is really funky.

The hotel room however was just too small and we were not happy with it at all. I just felt depressed for the first few hours. We had 2 big suitcases and there was hardly any room for them. We could only open 1 suitcase at a time. Everything like the toilet, shower and wash-basin is in your face. It feels claustrophobic at times, would have been good if at least the windows could be opened (they are fixed). While using the toilet you really have to close the door to stop the odor from going out but it gets stuffy inside with the doors closed.
The other thing that let us down was the lift not working over the weekend. It was very inconvenient, although the staff did carry our luggage down 5 floors.
The room was OVER PRICED and is not value for money at all. I really had high expectations from this hotel after reading the other reviews on TA and paying that huge amount, but was very disappointed.

We would not stay at the hotel if we ever visit Amsterdam again. Only good thing about the hotel was its location and helpful staff.

DO NOT STAY THERE if you are a couple travelling with lots of luggage. The rooms are just not comfortable at all. Even the bed didn't feel like it was king size as mentioned on the website.

VERY DISAPPOINTED - NOT A HAPPY CUSTOMER

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed here for my Husbands 50th Birthday celebrations with 3 other couples and hotel staff could not have done more to ensure that everything went smoothly they decorated our room, helped us find a cake shop and provided candels and other party props. Although this hotel is out of the city centre it is right beside the tram line and we found the tram journey part of the weekend experience. highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

CitizenM was a pleasant, unexpected and surprising experience. Offers an innovative, creative, contemporary and functional way of hosting. Dedicated to light travelers and trendy people, offers impeccable service.
The team is dynamic, cheerful, formed by young people of different nationalities, very well trained and they have clearly the concept of what is to serve and please a guest means.
The rooms are small but ultramodern, acutely functional and pleasant. In the ground floor there is a bar / restaurant open 24 hours where the guests can take their breakfast, lunch or dinner at any time of day.
The food is healthy, fresh, natural and it is a "grap and go" type but you can enjoy it in hotel bar/restaurant.
On the ground floor there are several modern environments, beautifully decorated and with several living and work rooms for those who prefer to work at the hotel.
The check in system is made through a series of computer stations where there are staff members to guide you to make your self in check.
Important: the WiFi is free and none pass code is required ... just plug in and use it.
Would not recommend for travelers traveling long tours with several suitcases or children.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We looked at other tripadvisor reviews before booking our stay here. We arrived late evening on Wednesday and were showed the self service computer check in which was actually quite fun. We got our room - small but functional. Lacks storage space so if you want to hang items up don't be expecting to here! The downstairs bar and cafe area is great - lively area and lots of "living room" areas where you can sit and chill. We struggled to find somewhere to eat on the Wed evening as there isn't much at the hotel to eat either! Anyhow had a good night wed and Thursday started to explore. We got good directions to Van Gosh museum from Hotel staff and managed to walk there - not bad for us but was around 40 mins. You are definitely a good 45-60 min walk from the main parts of Amsterdam so we actually resorted to taxis which were well priced. We would definitely recommend drinks at the skylounge - hilton hotel beside central station. Hotel staff were pleasant and helpful and very friendly. I can't say the place was luxurious but definitely fun and functional. If you are looking a clean place and a decent bed this is it. It definitely was quiet here as well which is an added benefit as if we were staying more in the centre it would have been quite noisy. We will return to Amsterdam but get a hotel closer to the centre next time. MUST DO - Van Gogh, Canal cruise, Anne Frank House, Canal street walks, Red Light District

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This hotel is modern and a fun place to stay. It is for the young at heart but probably not for young children. The rooms are small. The shower and toilet are in a round sliding glass enclosure. You almost feel as if you are being beamed somewhere in a star trek movie.
One controller controls mood lights, TV, window shade and more.
It has a small bar and a limited but adequate breakfast assortment.
The staff speak excellent engilsh and are very friendly. Several of the staff are from the US.
About 100 yds away you can catch the bus and go just about anywhere in a few minutes.
A King room for two was $129 euros.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Central Amsterdam on Beethovenstraat this hip Netherlands hotel offers affordable luxury for budget travelers, lodging near museums, free Wi-Fi, movies on demand, and 24/7 on-site dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotel.de, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage citizenM Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.