We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“interesting concept” 3 of 5 stars
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added citizenM Amsterdam to your Saves list
citizenM Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Ledbury
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“interesting concept”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Superb staff - the friendliness and service was second to none.
Rooms on the small side - the width of the king-sized bed that filled the far end There was no separate bathroom but "pods" for shower and toilet. Inadequate storage but manageable if you travel very light.
We pre-ordered breakfast every day and it was OK. The good thing was that you could eat breakfast at any time of day. The coffee offered at breakfast was too small for us.
A lot of style but there is some substance too. I would consider staying again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,560
    999
    210
    59
    37
See reviews for
131
1,451
257
608
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

staff was friendly and our stay was nice. it's a very modern/sleek hotel with all kinds of bells and whistles. they had a cafe in the lobby and internet access everywhere. I would say it's the most modern hotel i've ever stayed in, they had tubes in the room where you found the shower and toilet. you could also change the color of the lights with a remote. reminded me of the jetsons. it was very clever in the design. the room was quite small and it was fairly expensive. Once arriving in amsterdam it was a little hard to find but was in a nice residential type area close to public transportation. overall we had a nice stay, but def. a once and a while splurge.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new mexico
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We had an 18 hour layover in Amsterdam and wanted to stay near the airport. CitizenM is a very short walk from the airport. This place is perfect if you like modern and chic decor. It begins with the most unique check in process I have experienced. The staff is professional, helpful and friendly. The rooms are on the smaller side but utilitarian. The shower and toilet are in plexiglass enclosures in the middle of the room. Everything is state of the art. The bed is huge. We stayed in 537 which has a "city view" - it looked out over the unremarkable business buildings near the airport. The big plus for me, besides the modern decor, is that all the rooms are sound proofed. After all the noise of airports and transatlantic travel, the relief of a quiet room is incredible. The hotel's public areas are wonderfully modern and welcoming. There is a large table with Mac computers, printers, etc and it invites people to congregate, work and talk. So unlike most hotels' business centers. CitizenM serves food and drink 24 hours per day. I could go on and on about how cool this place is. Because we often fly through Amsterdam, this is going to be our regular stop from now on.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We believe you would be better off staying at a Youth Hostel for 20 euro per night, as opposed to paying 120 euro per night for something so disappointing and of a similar standard.

The Pros
- Big Bed
- Clean Room

The Cons
- Open layout, including toilet and shower with clear glass doors overlooking the bed??
- No Wi-Fi in our rooms (we were on Level 2 & 5)
- Self Check in on a computer
- 20 minutes out of town
- Rooms are next to a noisy freeway
- Staff could not tell us how to get to the Van Gough Museum (take number 5 tram, for 10 minutes or so)

Would expect a few more pros for $180 AUD per night.

Anyway, our mistake...instead we'll be at the backpackers on Dam Square which has honest "cheap and cheerful" accommodation - where we will actually get what we pay for.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

First of all great price, and of course funky modern hotel. Close to tram stop which made it easy to get into town - although this isnt thay cheap if you are wanting to go in every day. $7.5 euro for 24 hour pass.
Room was comfortable for a couple but dont think i would stay with a friend unless you are completely comfortable with them! Bed was huge and very comfortable. Shower was great pressure but found the doors a little hard to shut - maybe off the rails? Staff were friendly. Only small thing which kind of annoyed me was that the night prior to departure we came back late from dinner and got to our room but our room key didnt work. So we went back down to reception and told them. Aparently they had stopped the room key because we had a large tab owing against our room ($80euro) and they had tried to call (i guess to our room) to tell us to pay this but as we were not there they decided to stop the room card. The reason I found this frustrating was because I had specifically asked someone else that day if I should pay the tab the day before and they said it was no problem to just pay when leaving. Just found that a bit of a pain and a strange way to handle it. Felt like we had done something wrong. Other than that we had an excellent stay! Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Pretty funky hotel, staff were really helpful. The small room didn't bother us and the bed is massive! Its a good idea to be fairly comfortable with the person you're sharing a room with because of the layout. Its about a 15minute tram ride to the main "city" area but easy to get there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We absolutely loved staying at Citizen M! Even though is not in the center of town the tram can take you there in less than 15 minutes. Amsterdam is a small city so anywhere you stay won't be far away from the attractions. The overall concept of the hotel is awesome. Extremely trendy! If you check out there site you will get the idea. The rooms are spacious and very thing is controlled by the remote. The bed is a plus. It's a great size and the window is huge. This hotel was the best choice during our 2 week stay in Europe. Hopefully they will open more hotels like Citizen M around the world!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#23 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#24 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#30 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Central Amsterdam on Beethovenstraat this hip Netherlands hotel offers affordable luxury for budget travelers, lodging near museums, free Wi-Fi, movies on demand, and 24/7 on-site dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage citizenM Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.