We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice concept - cosy high tech rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Hotels.com
and 7 more sites!
citizenM Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinses Irenestraat 30, Amsterdam 1077WX, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #34 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Bruges, Belgium
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice concept - cosy high tech rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I chose this hotel because it doesn't look like any hotel: pictures looked good and so is the hotel in general. It is like a concept hotel, with a lot of tech: iMacs in the lobby, universal remote that does lightning, stores, and TV in your room (free movies to rent are a nice touch).
The toilet and shower are in pods, nice (and probably the only) way to fit this accommodation in the rather small space (the room is a wide as the bed is long). Still, the room feels larger than it actually is.

Everybody speaks English - not completely strange for a business hotel. I was welcomed by a girl at the reception, who immediately announced that her Dutch was very poor, because she came from Spain but her friendliness largely compensated. The staff was very kind (e.g. when they ran through the explanation of how to operate the shower): remember to make sure you really close the doors completely by using some force or nothing happens (so you do not flood the room).

The breakfast is fine but although the web site mentions "grab anything you like", I couldn't get a second fruit juice, which is a bit sad if -as me- you only drink juice in the morning. My neighbor however was offered as many cappuccinos as he liked: in my case a 2 drinks policy would be me more fair than charging extra (above the €10,95 for breakfast) someone who doesn't like coffee/tea.
In general, staying in CitizenM is an other experience than the standard hotel thanks to some nice touches and well worked out ideas, so thumbs up.

Room Tip: Book your breakfast when you check in (€10,95) rather that the day itself (€13,95)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,400 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,296
    843
    176
    52
    33
See reviews for
105
1239
218
503
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Citizen M was a very unique experience that both me and my husband enjoyed. The staff was incredibly friendly. After checking in at a computer kiosk, I forgot my iPad as I was walking to the elevator. One of the staff members flagged me down and brought it to me! Incredibly honest and very well appreciated. Overall a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Stayed here for girls' weekend. Booked a double room for myself and it was very comfortable but I don't think I'd have liked it so much if I was sharing- even with my husband! The shower and toilet are in pods (for want of a better word) in the body of the bedroom and although there was a curtain I don't think I'd have been happy. Toilet privacy is sacred lol. That said the hotel is spotless clean, the bed is very comfortable, the staff are all extremely friendly and helpful and the location is very good too - a quiet residential area but right next to Amsterdam South railway station and right next to the stop for tram 5 straight into the centre. I really liked it and would recommend it - so long as you bear in mind the toilet situation !

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

It was a last minute decision to spend a short break in Amsterdam and I chose the Citizen M because of the great reviews and the price. I didn't regret it. The hotel is easy to find from the station and only 5 minutes walk. I was worried about the check in process being done by me at the computer but there was no need to worry. There is always someone there to guide you through what is a really simple process and quite fun. The screen offered me a garden view room, recommended by my helper from the hotel team. You then activate your room card, found in a tray by the machine and incidentally where you leave your room card when you check out, ready for the next guest. The lifts are easy to find along with the stairs. The stairs are very steep so beware! Make a considered choice when deciding to take breakfast at the hotel. Contrary to the advice give by the hotel, what would you really expect them to say, there are places within a 5 minute walk to grab breakfast. Either go back to the train station and walk through to the other side of the tracks or turn right out of the hotel and walk straight down to the main road, cross over and you will find beans and bagels which receives great reviews on trip advisor. Taking nothing away from the breakfast at the hotel, which is great and the vibe in the communal areas of the hotel is good no matter what time of day, but this gives you a more informed choice from one who only found all of both the breakfast and lunch/ dinner options the day I was leaving! So, to the room, lovely and clean and just as seen on the website. A few things you may find helpful. The remote that controls all the functions in the room doesn't always connect with the charger when in the cradle. When I arrived my remote had a low battery. When you put it in the cradle check that the red light comes on. The shower is great and roomy no bruised elbows and the water was always lovely and hot. The water won't flow unless both doors are shut, so no danger of any floods. Bed was comfy, free wifi worked with no hitches. Good selection of different languages on the tv. About the only improvement for me would be an ipod/ smart phone dock with a clock. The only clock in the room is on the tv and isn't illuminated when the tv is off. The mood lighting was fun but only changes over the shower and toilet not the whole room and you can't isolate those lights from the lights over the bed but you can dim the lights so they don't have to be full on or off. After staying 3 nights, the shower cubicle starts to take up a lot of space within the room, don't think I could have lived with it for more than my 3 nights. There is a mixture of guests both for business and pleasure. In all I would highly recommend. Check out the restaurants the other side of the railway station, which includes a Wagamama amongst many others. The hotel isn't quite as lost in a leafy suburb as you may think.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Although the hotel is slightly further away from the centre than other hotels, its still easily reachable on the tram and I'd thoroughly recommend it. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and they went above and beyond when they found out I was staying for my birthday. Be advised the toilet and shower are in the middle of the room so if you're not too comfortable with the person you're staying with probably not the best choice!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

If you want to stay at the airport Sheraton, you'll need to take out a second mortgage, but if you just need a clean, safe, convenient place to stay near the airport, this will do just fine - just be prepared - it isn't your grandfather's hotel! The concept is good and fun, but I did feel like the hotel room was smarter than me - figuring out the lights, TV, AC, etc was a bit more than I wanted to deal with at the end of the day. I set the alarm on the handset and was shocked the next morning when all the lights went on and a woman's voice started counting. Reminded me of when my mother would do that to get me out of bed when I was a kid. Much less disturbing to have bells and whistles going off. Consider yourself warned. The shower is great, the toilet circle not so much, but you can pull the curtain. The bed was really comfortable - kind of like a crib at the end of the room - and I slept really great, until that woman started counting...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I was first introduced to citizenM staying at their London property. Loved the concept of a spotlessly clean room, huge bed and all the modern technology a traveler could want/need. The size of the room and the way it is arranged is perfect for a single traveler -- more difficult if you're with a friend or someone you're not particularly intimate with.

I just finished a stay at the Amsterdam City property and was equally impressed. The location makes it very easy to both get to the hotel from the airport and to get into the city via tram. The staff was super friendly and helpful.

Definitely would stay again at this property or any of their others.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, Amsterdam 1077WX, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#23 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Central Amsterdam on Beethovenstraat this hip Netherlands hotel offers affordable luxury for budget travelers, lodging near museums, free Wi-Fi, movies on demand, and 24/7 on-site dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Jetsetter so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage citizenM Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added citizenM Amsterdam to your Saves list