We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super cool and great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added citizenM Amsterdam to your Saves list
citizenM Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #37 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Super cool and great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Citizen M is a very interesting concept - very reasonable prices (especially for Amsterdam), an exceptionally cool chill out/common area with minimalist, functional rooms. Everything has been thought through exceptionally well - I was concerned that we would be too cramped in our room but they're actually fine provided you don't have *too* much stuff and aren't claustrophobic.... The room design maximizes utility in a small space - the incorporation of the bathroom and shower pods is very clever. I would probably feel a bit uncomfortable sharing such a small room with a friend but it was fine with my partner. The bed is giant and serves as a lounging/couch area.

I loved experimenting with all of the funky automated controls and giving us mood lighting (everything is literally a press of a button away). The friendly stuffed rabbit on our bed was also a nice touch. I think my favourite part of the hotel is the common areas downstairs - really cool spaces filled with designer furniture to hang out in with the added bonus of the bar/cafe on hand for easy refreshments if needed.

The location is also handy - not right in the middle of Amsterdam but within a stone's throw of the number 5 tram which will take you into the city, passing by various attractions like the Rijksmuseum and the Van Gogh Museum. I believe there is another Citizen M right next to the airport.

This hotel won't be for everyone (my parents would hate this) but is definitely a good value yet funky option for a weekend break in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,833
    1,165
    237
    68
    38
See reviews for
166
1,669
296
699
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (456)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

The room was 'capsule' based, the bed was big enough for two but the space overall would have been a bit cosy, luckily I was on my own and it was perfect! There were interesting features that you could control from your own remote like changing the colour of the lights in the shower, what the blinds were like and there was quite a lot of options on the TV from films to music.The bar area is open 24/7 and you can get coffee and snacks. It was a short tram ride from the city centre.
Overall, if you are looking for somewhere a bit more fun for a short break with someone you are very comfortable with, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

On the 23rd of August 2013 we traveled to Amsterdam for Room Service (a party at club NYX that was hosted by Alaska from rupaul's drag race). We booked 2 rooms in my name and with my credit card for the three of us. The first negative point came through when booking, you can't separately choose how many people are in each room but the price stays the same so there was no real problem in this.

Upon arriving you will be guided to a self check in kiosk. When I tried checking in by using both my booking number and my name I got an error in both cases. Someone of the staff immediately came to help us, they quickly fixed the problem and we could check in. For my room I needed two keys since I was staying with a friend. So I touched two keys on the touchpad so they would be loaded with the info.

I opened the room with my key and since I love a futuristic style I immediately loved the room, it's very modern and has a moodpad to adjust the lighting setting. There's two glass tubes from floor to ceiling, one being the toilet (which has sandbursted glass) and one with normal see through glass which is the shower.... It would be nice if the shower would have none see through glass as I was staying with a normal friend... When we left for dinner my friend brought his key with him and when we closed the door and I forgot something inside I noticed that his key didn't work, we went down to the reception where the first lady wasn't friendly at all and didn't understand how we had two keys and how I locked myself out. The second lady however was very friendly and came up with us to open the room and retrieve the key... However we never got a second key... As we were going out and didn't know if we would return together this was sort of annoying, but in the end we left the club together so again no harm.

When we returned from the club the FREE movies on demand were nice, they have a pretty big selection available of recent movies!

Check out went quick and smoothly, and I will be here again sometime in the future!

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same so not really a big matter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This hotel is perfect for a city break - the modern efficient design worked brilliantly for our needs - very clean and modern, comfy bed, great bar/food open all the time - with great coffee, and incredibly helpful staff.

I don't imagine it would be everyone's cup of tea, make sure you are clear on the location, it is not central but quite far out (we didn't have a problem with this as we hired bikes from Black Bikes just up the road - actually this was a brilliant addition to our holiday), also the small 'pod' style rooms mean showering and going to the loo with screens around you - very little privacy, again which were not too much of an issue for us, but it might be a bit of a passion killer for a first weekend away with someone!!!

The important things are done well, and the communal areas feel fresh and modern, it's the perfect combination of price and modern utility in our eyes - great for a long weekend. Would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

the concept is a really good idea and only a few minor complaints/observations:
toilets have a flushing problem ie they flush for hours unless you whack the flusher in a particular spot (found by trial and error)
shower handles very hard to use
wc and shower pods not very private-the London version is better!
lobby and public spaces are excellent
breakfast overpriced but coffee very good (there are breakfast options near A/Zuid train station)
location is good-beatrix park opposite is a pleasant surprise as is the residential area to the east and north

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rijkevorsel, Belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

While attending IBC I spent a couple of nights at CitizenM just around the corner of the RAI complex. Great bed & pillows, all bare necessities available, this is really a new hotel concept aimed at travelers wishing to pay only for those things an average traveler might need.. No extra fees for yadayadayada - just a good bed, nice breakfast, no fuss. 100% recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This place was so awesome and a killer place to chill after running around the city. I recommend staying here. The #5 Tram is right outside and takes you into the city. If you would rather ride around the city on a bicycle (which is the best way to get around fast) there are places in front and on the side of the hotel to park and lock up your bike.

Room Tip: Book your room(s) online.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hotel Casa 400
#59 of 354 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
#17 of 354 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 651 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 354 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 1,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Amsterdam on Prinses Irenestraat just ten minutes from city center, citizenM Amsterdam boasts 215 luxuriously appointed rooms at an affordable rate. A perfect spot for a cultural excursion or quick business trip, enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, 24/7 on-site dining and cocktailing at canteenM, contemporary living rooms decked out in iconic Vitra furniture and a prolific MENDO library collection. Be sure to try out the hi-tech MoodPad tablet to control your room amenities like mood lighting and temperature, power rain shower, or sprawl out on the XL king-size bed with upscale Italian linens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage citizenM Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.