We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“spartan in a good way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added citizenM Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
citizenM Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Become a citizen!
Ranked #34 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Cork, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“spartan in a good way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

the concept is a really good idea and only a few minor complaints/observations:
toilets have a flushing problem ie they flush for hours unless you whack the flusher in a particular spot (found by trial and error)
shower handles very hard to use
wc and shower pods not very private-the London version is better!
lobby and public spaces are excellent
breakfast overpriced but coffee very good (there are breakfast options near A/Zuid train station)
location is good-beatrix park opposite is a pleasant surprise as is the residential area to the east and north

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,652 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,438
    932
    192
    57
    33
See reviews for
123
1363
236
551
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rijkevorsel, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

While attending IBC I spent a couple of nights at CitizenM just around the corner of the RAI complex. Great bed & pillows, all bare necessities available, this is really a new hotel concept aimed at travelers wishing to pay only for those things an average traveler might need.. No extra fees for yadayadayada - just a good bed, nice breakfast, no fuss. 100% recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This place was so awesome and a killer place to chill after running around the city. I recommend staying here. The #5 Tram is right outside and takes you into the city. If you would rather ride around the city on a bicycle (which is the best way to get around fast) there are places in front and on the side of the hotel to park and lock up your bike.

Room Tip: Book your room(s) online.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Where to start? If you are seeking elegance and snooty...this is not the place. If you want cool, chic, modern, great service then book this place. It is not in the downtown area but a short ride on tram 5 will get you there in no time. The modern black red quirky is a fun welcome. The bar never closes and the convenience store type food is there if you need. The rooms are not large. They are as wide as your bed, which occupies the entire far end of the room. The ultra cool mood pod toilet and shower add fun. There is even a stuffed animal on the bed. If you want a place to host meetings, this isn't it. If you want a fun place for two friends, a couple, then then this is great. I would not stay here with kids as it isn't really a kid friendly place. The shower and toilet have frosted glass and there is a sheer curtain to help separate but unless you are comfortable with your roomie....you might want to book another place as its alllll in the room with no doors. This was almost like an ultra chic backpack hostel...for those of us that backpacked Europe once upon a time and now want an eclectic fun reasonable place to lay our heads on another journey. They even have two different shower gels for you to choose from. Oh and the breakfast they offer is worth the 11 euros as there is nothing else around the place really...you can eat it ANY' time during the day you wish and the breads are to die for good and fresh. Not only will we return to this property but we cannot wait for the Paris and NY properties to open as it will be our choice bar none...we are even swinging by the London one just in case we want to stay in town or have too many guests to house at our place. Five stars, two thumbs up...readers choice....I understand why....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

So we rock up to CitizenM and like how close and easy it was to get there. You walk in and WoW... It looks modern and contemporary. But then the novelty wears off.
In basic terms, rooms are too small, rooms have little privacy, rooms have no storage. Oh yeah, the toilet doesn't stop flushing itself and kept us up a few nights.
Amsterdam is a very special city with lots to see. As usual, I did my research on trip advisor for excellent places to stay. I feel I should have researched a bit better because I could have got better value elsewhere. For the sake of a bit of extra euro, I could have stayed at a 5 star.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

You'll get the message from all the reviews here that the rooms are small but that was fine for a couple travelling light on a city break. The location is great for Amsterdam Zuid station which means you're only a few minutes by train from the airport (note: the airport train ticket machine only accepts coins). At Zuid, you can buy passes for the trams, buses and metro from the GVB ticket office (not the train ticket windows) on the stations's concourse: probably a must given the hotel's location. The area is quiet and there's nothing to pass the time there.

So why the five stars? I was won over by the ridiculously cool vibe and wit of the place- even the "Do not disturb" signs made me smile. Usually this means aloof staff but here everyone was attentive and friendly. The focus is on meeting the basic needs of modern travellers so there's free wi-fi, a powerful shower, a huge comfy bed and quality bedding. Free on-demand films too for when you might want to fill a couple of hours before going out again (including movies for which you might want to set parental controls in the kids' room...).

So if you can put up with the small rooms (no chairs, films are watched from bed), give it a whirl.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

They tell you to travel light and they mean it! Very little space for hanging clothes, storing luggage,and putting your amenities. Also you should be with someone your very comfortable with because there is little privacy for showering or using the toilet ( both are enclosed in glass). The really good news is that it is located in a lovely quiet neighborhood with a tram station right around the corner. We were able to go everywhere we wanted to on a 24hr pass for the tram. The staff were friendly, helpful and professional . They have a 24hr snack bar that's very well stocked with all kinds of food and drink. I would recommend the hotel to anyone traveling to Amsterdam. Ignore the swimming pool and fitness center rating, I couldn't delete it after ticking the rating.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#20 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#23 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#30 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Central Amsterdam on Beethovenstraat this hip Netherlands hotel offers affordable luxury for budget travelers, lodging near museums, free Wi-Fi, movies on demand, and 24/7 on-site dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HotelsNL, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage citizenM Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.