We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night layover at Shipol Amsterdam Airport” 5 of 5 stars
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added citizenM Amsterdam to your Saves list
citizenM Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Alameda, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One night layover at Shipol Amsterdam Airport”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I had a layover from my flight from Zuerich to San Francisco at Shipol / Amsterdam.
I booked a Hotel (citizenM) online.
I expected not so much, because it was kind of cheap.
Out of the airport I thought I have to take a shuttle to the hotel, but I could not find one ... then I looked around if I could see the hotel and YES in walking distance ... just right of the airport (looking away from the airport).
It is a 4min walk ... a self check-in and when you go to the room, it looks like a Kaserne, room and room ... but great colours. I was super-surprised of the room and the design.
Super compfy, the bed at the end of the room is a platform (a little bit higher then expected) and I think harder to get on, if you have knee problems, or if you can not move that good anymore.
But great room, with unique washroom and shower glassrooms :-)
If I have a layover ever again ... my first choice

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,948 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,605
    1,026
    219
    60
    38
See reviews for
134
1,486
266
625
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

As per the other reviews, great hotel, bit quirky and would definitely go back. Ideally placed for the RAI, only 5 mins walk through the park, but 10 mins from the centre of town by cab. Not sure I'd stay here if you want to be in the centre of town or for a romantic weekend, however if you're there on business it's ideal. Bit pricier than some but much better than the usual set of corporate options!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

A part of the location that is quite good (close to the train and tram station) the rest didn't make me satisfied, everything was self service included the check in, the room was very very small without potable water (usually hotels provide 2 bottles per day) and also hasn't been made up properly during all our stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed in citizenM for 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Situated just a 15min tram ride from Amsterdam city centre, the hotel boasts a clean, modern feel with the friendliest most helpful staff I've encountered in a long time. 24 hour small canteen-style eating area with a bar in the centre, free wifi and use of computers, lounging areas throughout. The rooms are quirky with the shower cubicle in the centre of the room which might be uncomfortable for some but a curtain pulls the whole way around for privacy. Air-con is fantastic and was a god-send in the mid July heat. All in all a great experience, would definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Starting from the automated check in & out screens up to the contemporary designs it deserves my FULL mark, you will have a strange feeling just when you enter your cabin (or as they called -Room-) I was surprised with the art of accommodating the shower and the toilet in glass tubes just in the middle of the cabin, The comfy 2x2 meters bed was always seducing me to have a nap, the remote control manages the lighting, A/C, shades and alarm centrally was so cool.

For 1-2 days (NO more) this airport hotel would be your best deal ever.

Room Tip: Higher floor is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Arrived on a one day business trip, the room is very quirky and spotlessly clean. The bed is spacious and super comfy, every TV channel you need. Fast internet without all the normal hassle you have logging on to the hotel WiFi. 2 mins away is a Tramstop for Tram No.5 which will take you all the way to the central station in approx 15 mins. 5 mins walk away is a little shopping area with some nice boutique shops and restaurants.
Check in is very easy with the friendly receptionists and there are some nice breakfast options. This hotel chain seem to have thought through exactly what the traveller needs for a short break.
I normally go to 2-3 hotels a week and I will definately be returning to this one. The only downside is parking outside the hotel is 18 Euros for the day but free after 1800.

Room Tip: Stayed on the fifth floor backing on to the garden which was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

This is a really nice hotel. The design is excellent. The lobby has a real home from home feel (that's if you lived in a millionaires modern styled super mansion) with loads of books for your perusal. The staff are great (I especially liked the gorgeous Slovakian Maria.) And the rooms are like something out of science fiction. Okay, the rooms are perhaps a little small, but perfectly formed - they have a really satisfyingly cosy feel, you won't be disappointed. The location - just a couple of minutes walk from Schipol - is perfect. I will definitely stay at CitizenM again!

Room Tip: If you want a view on the airport side, needs to be 3rd floor or higher. A city view is possible on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#23 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Central Amsterdam on Beethovenstraat this hip Netherlands hotel offers affordable luxury for budget travelers, lodging near museums, free Wi-Fi, movies on demand, and 24/7 on-site dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage citizenM Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.